Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


315 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I've tried the 18 year also, which I also rate a 9, but I prefer the 12 by just a little. It's really tasty and a true pleasure to drink neat.

I like a good sipping rum that tastes like rum. Smooth, flavorful, with a modest bite to it. It's got to have a hint of sweetness to it, as that's what rum is all about. This one fits perfectly.

Posted over 2 years ago by Frank from United States with 18 ratings

I my rum a little sweeter though. But worth the price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Lloyd from Australia with 30 ratings

Very nice sipping rum. It has what tastes to me like maple syrup flavour within it. Very little burn. Overall very nice 8/10

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Stunning cool bottle. But when you put your nose to it there is a not much aroma. A hint of brown sugar in a oaky note. Palate is a thin taste of lemon and exotic fruits. An ok rum but not much more. You can find better rums for the price of this one.

Posted over 2 years ago by Keane1 from United States with 10 ratings

Had this for the first time just a coupe of years ago and it is just really nice. This is another rum that won't break the bank. Great color and taste.

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Decent enough rum with a good round flavour but for the price it's not too smooth and is fairly harsh on the nose.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jörgen from Sweden with 24 ratings

Big body, still smooth, with a long vanilla finish Not bad but not on my top shelf

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

Took a chance on this one as I had never heard of it, and I am glad I did. A bit dry at first, but the oak notes mellow into a cocoa finish that lingers on the tongue. A really great overall drink and a smooth sipper,over an ice ball.

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

This is an excellent rum. When I was given a bottle of this I was skeptical but it blew my socks off. It has character and complexity, is a great sipper and a great cocktail component (I'd save it for the former). The best thing about it though is that it's unique. It has it's own taste and it does it well. It's not interested in the race to the sugary bottom that diplomatico, el dorado etc are doing. Get some! You won't regret it. (UNLESS, you love sugar beyond all other things in rum)

Posted over 2 years ago by Le Belge from Canada with 1 rating

Classified as a spiced rum, but it is barely sweet. One of the best rum I tasted so far! Found it for 34$ so it definitely is the best one by far for the price.

Posted almost 3 years ago by mdk from Puerto Rico with 11 ratings

Kirk and Sweeney was a real surprise. It is a very smooth and light sipping rum. Excellent starter for someone inexperienced in pure rum tasting.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Adam Arbus from Canada with 17 ratings

Great rum for a great price. Love the bottle and the rum is very smooth. Too bad it's gone already!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 8 ratings

Either my palate needs work (which definitely could be the case) or there's something else going on, but i found this one unremarkable. It wasn't bad, it wasn't great, just middle of the road. I want my rum to bring back the old seafaring days and be memorable. This one missed.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Leon from United States with 3 ratings

This Rum was recommended by the manager of one of our stores and it was on sale. Very satisfied with the taste, one of my favorite sipping rums.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jimmie from United States with 18 ratings

Very impressed with one. Smooth drinking and I really enjoyed this one.

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

A solid, if run-of-the-mill sipping rum. Typical flavors of caramel and vanilla. Balanced sweetness. A solid, if run-of-the-mill sipping rum. Typical flavors of caramel and vanilla. Balanced sweetness. Will update if I get another chance to try it.

7

Update 11/17: This was one of the first aged rums I tried. Since then I've tried well over a hundred other rums, and I re-tried this one. It's fine, but after a few minutes of breathing it releases very strong vanilla notes. It's not bad, but it does seem artificial and a little unbalanced. I'm wary.

Good for beginners, less so for aficionados. Nice presentation, but difficult to pour. Great for mixing!

6

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Aged marvelously to bring out all the various flavors that make this rum such an enjoyable rum to sip. Don't mix it unless you don't have any lesser quality rums in your home.
Very smooth and tasty with little bite.
Way to go Dominican Republic and I look forward to trying your older siblings!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Cliff from United States with 8 ratings

Smooth taste in an oh so smooth bottle. Great rum for sipping and will not break the bank.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dan G from United States with 10 ratings

Better then I expected. Smooth and good tasting. No sting. Might have to get a second bottle.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

This is a rum I could drink every day, if not for the price (other reviews make me think this is cheaper in the US, but it's about $70 CDN where I live).
Very smooth very little bite on the finish. Such an easy drinking rum. I've only ever drank this neat, so I cannot compare it as a mixer. But, it's so good in its own, I wouldn't even dream of mixing it.
Easily a go-to rum.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jim Wood from United States with 3 ratings

And that is not just the glass. This is a well aged rum that is almost too easy to drink. Not too sweet but still has some of the sweetness of rum compared to an aged whiskey.

Posted at Paradise Biryani Pointe about 3 years ago by Alex v from United States with 1 rating

One of the best looking bottles on my shelf
Love the feeling as it as it travels tru your whole body

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

what I like about the 18 and 23 are the amazing nose and great flavor and mouth feel. This one is not as strong but still very enjoyable.

Posted about 3 years ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

For me, this is a pretty smooth and satisfying sipper for a relatively low price of $33. I also tease this into killer mai tais once in a while. I always sip it neat and never felt the need for ice or dilution. A bottle usually doesn't last long around here. Its crisp with a little sweet oaky-vanilla and toffee, maybe some citrus and breath tobacco/leather/earthiness. Get some, and if you don't like, someone will gladly take it off your hands. The local spirits shop around here tends to got through several bottles a week.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rod from United States with 16 ratings

As my title says, this is an exceptionally smooth and mellow rum. Has a mild vanilla flavor and a beautiful amber color. Absolutely delicious.