Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10 (351 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
7
7
44
78
119
81
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


351 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert from United States with 59 ratings

I bought a bottle for $28 and would be willing to spend more after tasting this. Caramel, vanilla, and oak flavors with no burn. Good looking bottle also.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by peter_g from United States with 5 ratings

unabashedly sweet, but stops short of being overpowering. loads of full desserty flavors like vanilla, orange, and toasted almond, with a gentle balancing note of toasted oak. not quite as complex as the very best, but a fine sipping rum nonetheless.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

Aye, say what you want about 12 year-olds, there be a maturity to this rum. She has a bit of a sweet smell about her, but not syrupy sweet, with caramel, some vanilla, and a touch of oak. As taste goes, she be even less sweet, but not dry! There be a decent amount of sweet in this one, and the caramel, vanilla, and oak come along on board as well. There be a healthy amount of spice in this one, and t'would seem some manner of sweet fruit. This be a smooth and flavorable sippin' rum, me hardies. Be sure to hide THIS one from the crew...

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 123 ratings

Really solid aged rum. I had low expectations because I can find this in most grocery stores, but wow it is good. Priced right, easy to sip. This is a great starter for novice rum sippers. Lots of flavorful notes that are easy to recognize.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mjayne from United States with 12 ratings

Sweet and smooth. Pairs very well with muddled espresso and chocolate bitters

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Definitely on the sweeter side, but it does not suffer a great deal for it.
A great mixer for any drink you want to add very few ingredients to.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) from United States with 32 ratings

A nice 12 year with a great bottle.

Wonderful with MX cola. Pleanty of vanilla, caramel, with a nice aftertaste.
.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I was not blown away by this rum. A bit harsher than the 23, but still an ok rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Very nice package, great taste and smell, could be longer aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Drewbacca from United States with 15 ratings

Title says it all. This is a good rum. I prefer the vanilla, sweeter rums so this is right up my alley. But for five bucks more you can get the 18 year which is way better. I don't think moving up to the 23 is really worth it and doesn't add much value.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jamiet from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Bought this to try as my usual 12 year Flor de Cana was out of stock.
I'm far from being an expert, but I don't really think it's that good at all, even as a mixer. It tastes like so many other bog standard rums from the local off-licence and isn't very smooth. All the fake tat on the bottle trying to make it look like something that fell off the back of a salvaged schooner is just naff. I can only think that many of the reviews on here are possibly fake.