Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10 (352 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
7
7
44
79
119
81
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


352 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

I purchased this for only $33.99 (K&L Wines 2015), so based on the price my expectations weren't that high. But this rum greatly exceeded my expectations!

It tastes like an agricole, albeit an exceptional one, and tastes at least as good as the far more expensive Clement XO (imho). It smells and tastes of sugar cane, caramel, vanilla, cookie dough, oak, honey, and molasses.

One of the best rum values in my opinion, this is a must try!

Edit: I've since tried the 18 and 23year Kirk & Sweeney, which are considerably better!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Phil from Réunion with 152 ratings

Rhum de mélasse de République Dominicaine, vieilli 12 ans selon la méthode solera. Titre 40°
Design : gros effort sur le packaging, superbe bouteille, le rhum a une belle couleur ambrée.
Nez : épices, alcool, caramel.
Dégustation : l'attaque est douce, attaque de l'alcool puis dominante épice, boisé léger et caramel..
Finale : courte, avec une légère amertume.
Le ramage plutôt que le plumage, ce rhum reste très correct bien que trop sirupeux à mon goût.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by peter_g from United States with 5 ratings

unabashedly sweet, but stops short of being overpowering. loads of full desserty flavors like vanilla, orange, and toasted almond, with a gentle balancing note of toasted oak. not quite as complex as the very best, but a fine sipping rum nonetheless.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

Aye, say what you want about 12 year-olds, there be a maturity to this rum. She has a bit of a sweet smell about her, but not syrupy sweet, with caramel, some vanilla, and a touch of oak. As taste goes, she be even less sweet, but not dry! There be a decent amount of sweet in this one, and the caramel, vanilla, and oak come along on board as well. There be a healthy amount of spice in this one, and t'would seem some manner of sweet fruit. This be a smooth and flavorable sippin' rum, me hardies. Be sure to hide THIS one from the crew...

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 123 ratings

Really solid aged rum. I had low expectations because I can find this in most grocery stores, but wow it is good. Priced right, easy to sip. This is a great starter for novice rum sippers. Lots of flavorful notes that are easy to recognize.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mjayne from United States with 12 ratings

Sweet and smooth. Pairs very well with muddled espresso and chocolate bitters

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Definitely on the sweeter side, but it does not suffer a great deal for it.
A great mixer for any drink you want to add very few ingredients to.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) from United States with 32 ratings

A nice 12 year with a great bottle.

Wonderful with MX cola. Pleanty of vanilla, caramel, with a nice aftertaste.
.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I was not blown away by this rum. A bit harsher than the 23, but still an ok rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Very nice package, great taste and smell, could be longer aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Drewbacca from United States with 15 ratings

Title says it all. This is a good rum. I prefer the vanilla, sweeter rums so this is right up my alley. But for five bucks more you can get the 18 year which is way better. I don't think moving up to the 23 is really worth it and doesn't add much value.