Posting your rating...
Shellback Spiced rum

Shellback Spiced

United States | Spiced

6.1/10 (26 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
1
7
6
3
1
2

Rate Shellback Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


26 Shellback Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Aab16856793a160c514d3c8b9d2e6d29.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Alden Mosher from United States with 16 ratings

Unfortunately I bought a bottle ( still have, minus one drink)- tried a taste straight, was very harsh and not enjoyable in any way... That is okay with me since I do not drink spiced rum straight a whole bunch. I mixed with my usual stand by ( coke ) and still was very harsh, did not taste like a "true" spice to me. This may be my virgin palette, but I would not Ever drink again.

10216e45f799c3c4a0e02b6ec79be025.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Ryan from United States with 1 rating

Distributors of Minnesota have stopped getting it but I will tell you there is no other comparison . Sad to see it go and when they still sell Ron Diaz crap

7b8d1d7620a763e6a2f0cf1423eb18b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Thomas McClure from United States with 16 ratings

Do you enjoy Captain Morgan, Sailor Jerry, or any other sweet, spiced rum out there? If so, this rum is going to be for you! It is cheaper ($15 or less for a 5th, depending on the liquor store, I pay $12 for mine). It is very smooth when mixed. I cannot drink many things straight anymore, thanks to a several year binge... This rum mixes well with Sprite Zero and a splash of sour mix. I find it comparable in taste (when mixed) to Captain Private Stock, but this is much cheaper. Captain also gives me heart burn after a few drinks, and this does not. It isn't overly strong on the "alcohol" smell, and does well to keep you buzzed. Be careful though, because it mixes so well, you can drink your share very quickly, and it will sneak up on you. Happened to a friend of mine during poker night. One moment, he was tipsy (like the rest of us), the next, he passed out while he was talking. Kind of funny looking back.

C3abaccd6aa534da6d84010317410f46.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Was surprised at the quality, expected less actually. Pretty smooth with lots of molasses and the spices hinting at the end. Easily replaces Captain Morgan spiced.

Ac7ce484a2d53bd1f8b1bad1588d87a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 21 days ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

Tonight’s Rum, Shellback Caribbean Spiced Rum from the wonderful Modesto California. I know, a US Rum? Well it’s reported to be made from the finest Caribbean sugar cane. This light colored Rum is soft on the nose, no strong overpowering Rum scent. It’s primarily vanilla, caramel and hint of orange. It’s mild on the tongue but a little hot on the roof of the month. The orange and caramel notes come through a bit more after as it makes it into your tummy. The finish returns to vanilla and has a little burn. It’s quite pleasant and a fair Rum to serve neat. It would also be a good addition to a tart fruit juice. 7 out of 10

2b8c49e3b8fbe8740365dbbb4b3beb35.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by wolfpack21643 from United States with 16 ratings

Its a tasty rum that has a strong vanilla finish. It is great as a mixer with Coke Zero. Seems to be hard to find. I am a Shellback (US Navy equatorial crossing 1992 Pacific Ocean) and bought this as a bar display rum. It was better than expected.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Had a bottle of Shellback Spiced Rum on a very cloudy afternoon. Unique but a bit dull bottle and label design. Golden color. Alcohol, vanilla and artificial flavors to your nose and palate. Strong kick at the end. Better mixed that neat sipped.

4889e8d235de614abac629e5c707e0e7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 66 ratings

It just had such a harsh taste that I missed they enjoyment of its flavor. On the other hand if its cheap enough its viable mixer.

0c75984127c1ef90e82d74721a17bd5c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

It smells more fruity than spicy, which was surprising, but not a lot of flavor. A little vanilla, a little rum, and a bit of alcohol. Not for drinking straight, but could easily go in a coke or ginger ale.

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Low end spiced rum that is better than some more expensive ones out there. $15 gets you a nice tasting rum with the flavors you'd expect such as vanilla, caramel, baking spices, butterscotch and some oakiness. Dried fruits and nuts also unveil themselves to the palate.

6f356b40c3ac39f80cfcac87e60999e2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

Meh, it's a spiced rum, just like a lot of them. Nothing special here. Probably mix with coke fine. Wouldn't go out of my way for this by any means.