Posting your rating...
Novo Fogo Silver rum

Novo Fogo Silver

Brazil | Light

5.9/10 (15 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
2
3
4
1

Rate Novo Fogo Silver

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Novo Fogo Silver ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rick from United States with 23 ratings

The nose is very difficult to identify, but the resemblance to agave spirits is there. Very smooth mouthfeel with banana, cotton candy and again tequila. Best Cachaça I’ve tried.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

From the excellent fruity cane nose to the flavorful spicy clean smooth taste an all around champ. Easily the best Cachaca that was never aged in wood just rested 1 year in stainless steel. This beats out most aged Cachaca actually with it's inability to burn the throat. The only complaint I have is the short finish. Overall a great clean choice you get up after a night drinking this ready to go with no ill effect.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by kai from Germany with 9 ratings

you can't go wrong with this one for cocktails. There will be no hangover nor sharp alkoholic taste. It lacks a bit on distinct floral aroma tough there are subtle ones. I would totally buy it again if I couldn't get my favourits.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 73 ratings

Absolutely transparent in the glass. Easy on nose. For young rum it is amazingly smooth, warm. Rich and complex taste.
But, Not to Cachaça for me for the sipping. Will try in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Something completely different. Fruity nose, good mixed

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

fairly thin on the palate obviously at 40%. it's not super punchy but im getting mandarin orange, a bit of grapefruit sourness. The nose is really nice, kinda briny but it doesn't translate to the palate like a clarin or paranubes. Its a 5 but it makes me interested to try something higher strength from them or on of their unique wood agings.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Cocktails, cocktails, that's all it's good for...barely.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by HercuePoirot from United States with 4 ratings

Great in a caipirinha, plays well with others in a caipifruta, respectable neat. Decent value. A proper introduction to unaged cachaça, enough to lead you down the rabbit hole.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Novo Fogo Silver Cachaça bottle and label design looks boring and dull. Strong alcohol and artificial flavors abound coming through to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end, so better to mix it up with plenty of lime and Demerara sugar.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

This artisan cachaca has been available on the shelves of my favorite liquor store for some time, but I saw several bottles of Avua on the top shelf. Rather than buy the Avua, I went home to research them. I returned to buy some Avua and they were all gone, so I bought this Novo Fogo Silver. I also picked up a bottle of La Favorite Coeur Canne from Martinique to compare. Smart move!

This cachaca is one step up from Leblon Light since this one can indeed be sipped neat. All of the industrial cachacas that have been available for many years in the USA definitely cannot be sipped neat. Leblon Light also cannot be sipped neat. When compared side by side to La Favorite rhum agricole, this Novo Fogo Silver has the more pronounced aroma of molasses, albeit faint. This had puzzled me on a recent rhum agricole from Louisiana, but evidently the smell of molasses can be a side effect of the distillation process in cachacas and rhum agricoles. However, the taste on both has no trace of molasses. Both are floral and vegetal, but this Novo Fogo does not have the bitter after taste of the rhum agricole. It is super smooth and I am glad that I finally bought a bottle. Using it to make a caipirinha, the lime flavor dominates this cachaca as opposed to being the other way around when using industrial cachacas.

So in the end, artisan cachacas can only be distinguished from rhum agricoles by very subtle differences. The USA has termed cachacas as Brazilian Rum and I will have to agree with them. However, Brazil wants the USA to classify cachacas as their own unique spirit.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 59 ratings

Not just for the inevitable caipirinhas. Heavy cane and grass notes and a pretty thick taste. Will stand out in any mixed drink!