Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.5/10 (151 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
18
17
38
41
13
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


151 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by jbuckhead from United States with 8 ratings

I can’t believe this has so little aging to it. Lots of funky, banana-y aroma and flavor. A hint of liquid smoke aroma. I also taste something like those salty burnt pieces you find in a bag of sunflower seeds. When the rum hits front of your tongue, you get a creamy vanilla flavor. Overall a really nice rum with lots of character.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dunderful from United States with 5 ratings

This is delicious. Imagine a very sweaty person standing in overripe and rotten tropical fruit while frying bananas, papayas and pineapple on a grill which is occasionally doused in gasoline and you'll be somewhere in this rum's fun park of flavour. It is packed with that distinct Jamaican estery funkiness. Bacardi white this ain't.

I believe it is a mix of pot and column still distillate (I'd love to see a pot still only expression, btw). Although it is intended as a mixer--it's pretty much an essential white OP for many cocktails--I actually quite enjoy this neat, albeit with a few drops of water to bring it down to a more manageable 45-50%.

It is truly bold, singular stuff! This IS rum! If you like flavourless white rums may I suggest you check out a little drink known as vodka. And just as an aside, many of the people who gave this a negative review apparently rate stuff like Zacapa and Diplomatico Reserva very highly, which, in my opinion, are more like rum liqueurs. These "rums", although popular, are invariably overly sweet, characterless and inoffensive spirits that have had whatever soul they may have possessed blended, sugar'd, glycerol'd, vanilla'd, prune'd and mystery-ingredient'd out of them. This, on the other hand, is simply rum, as all rum should be. Anyway... just something to keep in mind when reading the negative reviews.

Recommended for:

People who like real, characterful rum.

Fans of flavour.

Folk who enjoy the peculiar funkiness typically found in Jamaican rum and many unaged agricoles, cachacas, clairins, etc.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Many a distiller has envied for the secrets of Jamaican rum. To create an immensely flavorful "arome" rum distillate is no simple task; in Jamaica, they've had several hundred years to practice and develop their technique.
You can buy dirt-cheap and near-flavorless white rums just about anywhere: Bacardi and Don Q are easy examples. To solve the problem of "lack of flavor", many distilleries turn to barrel aging or sugaring (or even adding artificial flavors) to give their rum more interesting qualities. The incredible thing about this bottle is - all the flavoring was created in the fermentation and distillation. There has been NO conditioning of the distillate at all. No added flavors, no barrel aging, NOTHING... and it is one of the most flavorful rums I have ever tasted.

When the funk can be so hard to find these days, old 'Wray and Nephew' in its seemingly cheap bottle is found just about everywhere. The quality of the distillate is what many would consider the holy grail of rum - ultra flavorful and complex, with an uncompromising pungency and brooding raw power. The complex acidity and sheer variety of flavor is enough to drive you crazy... That unforgettable fruity aroma even lingers in the glass after it has been drunk.

It is the rum of so many forgotten punches and mixed drinks, lending an incredible character of overripe fruits that integrates and evolves with equally flavorful syrups, juices, and spices. This is one of my favorite tiki rums, used often in a plantation punch. The contents of the bottle disappear quickly, but alas - Its $18 at Woodman's in WI, so my wallet is smiling too. A benchmark.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Yeah I know, mix it with Ting. Look, Ting will mask the taste of anything. Cat urine mixes well with Ting. The more useful question is, how does this stuff taste on the rocks or even neat? Well, I'd rather attempt to eat a live porcupine before I drink it again. Its distinctive flavor (wet dog fur) overpowered (ruined) my tiki drinks. Also, I had no luck drinking it on the rocks, even with lime and sugar. And straight up? The unmistakable aroma of hospital emergency room made my eyes water, even before sipping it. Years later, I still have half a bottle of this stuff and I avoid it every chance I get.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

This rum has the most amazing intoxicating aroma I have smelled. Tons of overripe banana and esters going on. Super unique. Strong on the tongue but honestly is okay to be sipped. Super super aromatic, reminiscent of Italian aromatized wines.
Of course, since it's overproof you should add some water or ice if you want to sip. With water or ice the nose rounds out a bit giving way to more subtle and round sugar and caramel scents as opposed to the initial fruitiness. Palate, again, super unique, banana, cherry, coconut, I want to say some subtle cheesy notes in there.

It seems most people who bought and used this rum didn't do much research or don't know much about styles and regional differences in rum because I honestly think this is a shining star in terms of funky Jamaican rums in its bracket.

Just know that when you buy this rum you're buying an alcohol and flavor bomb. This isn't a simple rum which can be used as a substitution or be substituted for.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATTGY3MyBWo

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

If you love rum, or just tasting drinks or even cooking then you really need a bottle of this. Its really unique and great fun.

The cheap looking bottle that this arrives in is perfect in the same way that some girls look perfect when they wear their old track pants and a dirty dancing t-shirt.

It pours thickly from the very handy slow pouring cap and once released into your glass you’ll smell it....that unmistakable Jamaican pong that nothing else quite has.

I like it with lime and sugar but the real jam with this juice is how it saves any drink that you’ve put Bacardi Carta Blanca into from boring you to death.

I really love this one.

P.s. to anyone who compares this drink to that aged rum you like to sip while discussing what colour would be best for when you reupholster your yacht then stop. Your doing it wrong.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

On the nose it's a little sharp as you would expect form an overproof Rum. It smacks you in the face a little like Animal going off on a belligerent drum solo delaying the coda as Dr. Teeth grows wary of certain destruction. However, there is an ensemble of fine instrumentalists waiting their chance to solo in the background. A little pineapple, papaya, grass and sweet mustiness along with buckwheat honey and toffee brittle showcase the supporting orchestra. This isn't meant to sip but feel free if you can dial down your intake to keep your throat from whimpering in fear. Yes, its hot but not a hellhound by any measure. This is a constant staple in my bar to brighten up and add depth to many cocktails. My favorite is substituting in a 1/2 ounce for cachaca and making knock-out Caipirinhas.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

The first overproof rum I tried, and the one I always keep on the shelf. It's aroma and flavor are unmistakable, perhaps a bit "headsy" but pungent and bright. Compared to it's brethren Rum Fire, this is far more versatile, a bit smoother, and also less costly. It packs a wallop of flavor that doesn't overpower the drink.

Don't waste your time drinking it neat. This is a solid base for anything calling for a white spirit or tequila. And for that, there is no better white rum than the W&N Overproof.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I don't get why people don't appreciate this rum more. For being the hands-down biggest seller in Jamaica, you'd think it'd get more respect abroad. Thick, funky, pungent, and of course, strong. It's a punch rum, but it has its place in cocktails as well.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by dl3000 from United States with 7 ratings

They say Jamaicans drink it straight, no chaser.. Green Bananas, rotten vegetation and alcohol on the nose. For me it's only tolerable in Jamaican style punches.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

Wow, if I have a large double, will I go blind?
An interesting taste and aroma.
This was a gift, not sure if I would purchase another when finished with this one...if I ever do