Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 7 days ago by Jozef from Slovakia with 14 ratings

its a great rum but very strong.not for everybody.
it has a great smell.funky tones that want you to do more.
its best selling jamaican rum.so i am glad that i bought it.
awesome punchy rum for real men.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dunderful from United States with 5 ratings

This is delicious. Imagine a very sweaty person standing in overripe and rotten tropical fruit while frying bananas, papayas and pineapple on a grill which is occasionally doused in gasoline and you'll be somewhere in this rum's fun park of flavour. It is packed with that distinct Jamaican estery funkiness. Bacardi white this ain't.

I believe it is a mix of pot and column still distillate (I'd love to see a pot still only expression, btw). Although it is intended as a mixer--it's pretty much an essential white OP for many cocktails--I actually quite enjoy this neat, albeit with a few drops of water to bring it down to a more manageable 45-50%.

It is truly bold, singular stuff! This IS rum! If you like flavourless white rums may I suggest you check out a little drink known as vodka. And just as an aside, many of the people who gave this a negative review apparently rate stuff like Zacapa and Diplomatico Reserva very highly, which, in my opinion, are more like rum liqueurs. These "rums", although popular, are invariably overly sweet, characterless and inoffensive spirits that have had whatever soul they may have possessed blended, sugar'd, glycerol'd, vanilla'd, prune'd and mystery-ingredient'd out of them. This, on the other hand, is simply rum, as all rum should be. Anyway... just something to keep in mind when reading the negative reviews.

Recommended for:

People who like real, characterful rum.

Fans of flavour.

Folk who enjoy the peculiar funkiness typically found in Jamaican rum and many unaged agricoles, cachacas, clairins, etc.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Yeah I know, mix it with Ting. Look, Ting will mask the taste of anything. Cat urine mixes well with Ting. The more useful question is, how does this stuff taste on the rocks or even neat? Well, I'd rather attempt to eat a live porcupine before I drink it again. Its distinctive flavor (wet dog fur) overpowered (ruined) my tiki drinks. Also, I had no luck drinking it on the rocks, even with lime and sugar. And straight up? The unmistakable aroma of hospital emergency room made my eyes water, even before sipping it. Years later, I still have half a bottle of this stuff and I avoid it every chance I get.

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Many a distiller has envied for the secrets of Jamaican rum. To create an immensely flavorful "arome" rum distillate is no simple task; in Jamaica, they've had several hundred years to practice and develop their technique.
You can buy dirt-cheap and near-flavorless white rums just about anywhere: Bacardi and Don Q are easy examples. To solve the problem of "lack of flavor", many distilleries turn to barrel aging or sugaring (or even adding artificial flavors) to give their rum more interesting qualities. The incredible thing about this bottle is - all the flavoring was created in the fermentation and distillation. There has been NO conditioning of the distillate at all. No added flavors, no barrel aging, NOTHING... and it is one of the most flavorful rums I have ever tasted.

When the funk can be so hard to find these days, old 'Wray and Nephew' in its seemingly cheap bottle is found just about everywhere. The quality of the distillate is what many would consider the holy grail of rum - ultra flavorful and complex, with an uncompromising pungency and brooding raw power. The complex acidity and sheer variety of flavor is enough to drive you crazy... That unforgettable fruity aroma even lingers in the glass after it has been drunk.

It is the rum of so many forgotten punches and mixed drinks, lending an incredible character of overripe fruits that integrates and evolves with equally flavorful syrups, juices, and spices. This is one of my favorite tiki rums, used often in a plantation punch. The contents of the bottle disappear quickly, but alas - Its $18 at Woodman's in WI, so my wallet is smiling too. A benchmark.

Posted about 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

This rum has the most amazing intoxicating aroma I have smelled. Tons of overripe banana and esters going on. Super unique. Strong on the tongue but honestly is okay to be sipped. Super super aromatic, reminiscent of Italian aromatized wines.
Of course, since it's overproof you should add some water or ice if you want to sip. With water or ice the nose rounds out a bit giving way to more subtle and round sugar and caramel scents as opposed to the initial fruitiness. Palate, again, super unique, banana, cherry, coconut, I want to say some subtle cheesy notes in there.

It seems most people who bought and used this rum didn't do much research or don't know much about styles and regional differences in rum because I honestly think this is a shining star in terms of funky Jamaican rums in its bracket.

Just know that when you buy this rum you're buying an alcohol and flavor bomb. This isn't a simple rum which can be used as a substitution or be substituted for.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATTGY3MyBWo

Posted over 1 year ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

The first overproof rum I tried, and the one I always keep on the shelf. It's aroma and flavor are unmistakable, perhaps a bit "headsy" but pungent and bright. Compared to it's brethren Rum Fire, this is far more versatile, a bit smoother, and also less costly. It packs a wallop of flavor that doesn't overpower the drink.

Don't waste your time drinking it neat. This is a solid base for anything calling for a white spirit or tequila. And for that, there is no better white rum than the W&N Overproof.

Posted about 3 years ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

On the nose it's a little sharp as you would expect form an overproof Rum. It smacks you in the face a little like Animal going off on a belligerent drum solo delaying the coda as Dr. Teeth grows wary of certain destruction. However, there is an ensemble of fine instrumentalists waiting their chance to solo in the background. A little pineapple, papaya, grass and sweet mustiness along with buckwheat honey and toffee brittle showcase the supporting orchestra. This isn't meant to sip but feel free if you can dial down your intake to keep your throat from whimpering in fear. Yes, its hot but not a hellhound by any measure. This is a constant staple in my bar to brighten up and add depth to many cocktails. My favorite is substituting in a 1/2 ounce for cachaca and making knock-out Caipirinhas.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I don't get why people don't appreciate this rum more. For being the hands-down biggest seller in Jamaica, you'd think it'd get more respect abroad. Thick, funky, pungent, and of course, strong. It's a punch rum, but it has its place in cocktails as well.

Posted almost 4 years ago by dl3000 from United States with 7 ratings

They say Jamaicans drink it straight, no chaser.. Green Bananas, rotten vegetation and alcohol on the nose. For me it's only tolerable in Jamaican style punches.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

Wow, if I have a large double, will I go blind?
An interesting taste and aroma.
This was a gift, not sure if I would purchase another when finished with this one...if I ever do

Posted about 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

I don't understand this....rum, or whatever it is. I don't get how it's getting high ratings when, after I poured it, got a terrible smell as I floated it on my tiki drink that called for an over proof. I figured I had bought a cleaner or something. I by a rum, good or bad, it should taste like rum, not arse.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Even without lime (which is preferable) this gives a great citrusy taste when mixed with coke, pleasant burn and a gentle warming feeling.

I don't think you need another white rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

I have been trying to finish this bottle for 2 years, I gave it away twice, and it came back, like a bad penny. If I had known it was so bad, I would have bought 151. At least it tastes like rum. I thought it was a spoiled batch, until I read some other reviews. I can't even describe the taste. To call it gasoline, would be bad for the hydrocarbon.

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Classic over proof with one hell of a bite. Unique flavor that is not meant for everyone, this rum is great for mixed tropical drinks.

Posted about 5 years ago by Lars P. Skaarup from United States with 5 ratings

There's only one way truly enjoy this rum, Jamaican style - straight up with a tiny splash of water. Tastes just like how it smells at the Appleton Estate. Fantastic!

Posted 5 months ago by Greendanasaur from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Knock ya socks off, but a staple of any rum bartenders arsenal. Taste is rather unique with a bit of banana flavour in there somewhere

Posted 6 months ago by jancewicz from Poland with 27 ratings

First sip was like WTF? Very odd but some force makes you want more. The most funkiest rum I have ever tried. Too strong to sip straight but excellenet with a bit of water. Funky, fruity, grassy but funk is definitely on the top. It's not for all but I'll try to have it always present in my cabinet. Recommended.

Posted 9 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

This rum is not to drink straight, but mixed or in a daiquiri it’s phenomenal. Archetypical Jamaican rum

Posted about 1 year ago by DinoTiki from United States with 3 ratings

I was introduced to this by making my own Falernum using Beach Bum Barry recipe and the 15 lime zested needs a high proof spirit to extract the flavors with almonds, cloves and ginger to make. I also have used this to add a kick to Tiki Cocktails occasionally which it does well because it has good dimensional qualities with its high proof. Astringent nose (thats good for a white mixer) mild candy and burnt banana leaf smells, but tastes of... can't put my finger on it...mild candy cane with a burn and bite? I don't know, but its still complex, unique and quite useful in my home bar for cocktails.

Posted about 1 year ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

If you love rum, or just tasting drinks or even cooking then you really need a bottle of this. Its really unique and great fun.

The cheap looking bottle that this arrives in is perfect in the same way that some girls look perfect when they wear their old track pants and a dirty dancing t-shirt.

It pours thickly from the very handy slow pouring cap and once released into your glass you’ll smell it....that unmistakable Jamaican pong that nothing else quite has.

I like it with lime and sugar but the real jam with this juice is how it saves any drink that you’ve put Bacardi Carta Blanca into from boring you to death.

I really love this one.

P.s. to anyone who compares this drink to that aged rum you like to sip while discussing what colour would be best for when you reupholster your yacht then stop. Your doing it wrong.

Posted about 1 year ago by Lisa from Sweden with 7 ratings

Wow, i tried this one in Jamaica the first time and it knocked me, literally. Super super aromatic and it feels like drinking a flower bomb in a nice way.

Posted over 1 year ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

THIS IS NOT A SIPPER. But it is a terrific mixer in small amounts when you want to bring those classically Jamaican funky notes into a cocktail, and add a little bit of heat.

Posted over 1 year ago by Deezl from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

It's really easy to see why this is Jamaica's best selling rum. Lots of that great funk going on, great aromas of bananas and tropical fruit with a slight petroly smell. As it's overproof and bottled at 63%ABV the flavours hold up really well when mixed - I wouldn't dare try to sip this one.

Essential for Jamaican style rum punches but works equally great in some orange juice or something similar. For something different try it with coke or ginger beer. Not the best rum going but it's incredible value for money.

Posted over 1 year ago by maxamillion99 from Canada with 6 ratings

Even when heavily diluted it still tastes good. Using various levels of dilution seems to reveal different aspects of the potent flavour. The taste is definitely not for everyone -- it's difficult to describe. It feels great in the stomach like something organic. This one seems more like a cocktail rum than a sipping rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

This is powerful stuff, but also VERY tasty, I sip it neat with a couple of teaspoons of water, it is strong, but the alcohol does not overpower the distinctive Jamaican taste. A little goes a long way, so good value for money.