Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10 (164 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
18
43
46
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

164 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is what the old rummies in Jamaica drink. Many a time I bought an old guy at the rum shack a shot of this vile stuff. Brought a bottle home one time and could not drink it! If you want to know what the aficionados refer to as the funky flavor in Jamaican rum this is the worst example.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Papa Bear from Canada with 15 ratings

this stuff is used all over Jamaica for everything from cleaners to mixed drink, even as a headache remedy ( just rub it on your head.).

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 16 days ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

This is arguably the best rum for the price. A lovely funky rum with pineapple and rotting fruit notes that taste like nothing other than a rum from jamaica. With water or ice, it’s an awesome sipper, and does exceptionally well in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Figgs from United States with 5 ratings

A Sommelier recommended this rum to my daughter to give me for a stocking stuffer this Christmas and I enjoyed it, which at the end of the day, is all that matters.

It’s a 126 proof rum that’s surprisingly smooth. And it doesn’t have an overpowering taste which is great if you want to mix it with expensive ruhms.

It has a place in my bar.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Awesomedon from United States with 26 ratings

If you wanna drink like the local Jamaican people well then you have to add this to your collection. Super funky Overproof at a massive bargain. Love this stuff

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by eadrn from United States with 49 ratings

I use this as the rum ingredient in my homemade falernum. It is adequate, as it doesn't contribute much for flavor, so my recipe shines through.

Small stevesspirits v4

Posted 1 month ago by StevesSpirits from Canada with 17 ratings

The first couple times having this rum, I had great difficulty getting past a strong banana note; however, once acclimated to the intense flavour profile, I'm really enjoying this. A note of caution: if you are starting into these funky rums, do not prime the palate with aged rum such as Foursquare - I find the shift over to wray & nephew as a sipper requires a fresh palate, an open mind, and perhaps a little water.

On the nose I get fried ripe plantain, olives, funk, white wine, vanilla, cinnamon and floral notes. Water brings out some more floral character. The palate is caramel, pepper, vanilla, is oily and again fried plantain. The finish is walnut and slightly drying; medium length (but the funkiness lingers).

The more I try this rum the more I'm finding it interesting. The rum category is a truly diverse and interesting one, perhaps the most of any spirit. I do agree with another reviewer that says it can be polarizing; I use to dislike it and now I quite enjoy it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 21 ratings

This was my introduction to "funk" taste in rum and is my go-to for any drinks I want to add that flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Uvbntangoed from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Blows your head off, but that’s what it’s supposed to do!
Good stuff

Small img 20201110 140451

Posted 1 month ago by knie88 from Germany with 5 ratings

...der ist wirklich funky.
Man muss es schon mögen.
Oder lassen. Hier scheiden sich die Geister.

Small inigo

Posted 1 month ago by OdysseusUnbound from Canada with 11 ratings

This is awesome stuff. TONS of overripe bananas, pineapple, and plenty of nutmeg and spice. I bought this for mixing, but the cocktails don't need to be super-complicated to let this rum shine. In fact, it even works on the rocks or with a little splash of water. I also really enjoyed it in my Canadian, bastardized version of a "Ti-Punch". I hope I'm never without a bottle of this stuff.