Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.5/10 (147 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
17
18
36
39
13
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


147 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 84 ratings

...the "terrible" smell leaves you shocked,...I waited 15 minutes before I had the balls to sip on it...amazing, how can something that basically stinks taste that good.

I have not tried it yet mixed, but I am sure it does the magic as well.

A keeper in my bar shelf...solid 7.5

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jonathan from Puerto Rico with 13 ratings

This is a classic over-proof rum. It is great to mix.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by El Cap from United States with 60 ratings

Pour a nice jigger of this on ice,
Top with a few ounces of Ting.

That’s a recipe for nice vibes.

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Had a little sip neat. Mentale!!

However put in a daiquri with another rum as a base. Very nice daiquri. It’s definitely one for mixing and finishing off tiki cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

This is by far my favorite overproof rum. It has loads of funk, it’s a beautiful images rum full of flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Djgross144 from United States with 36 ratings

Has great banana smell. Excellent for tiki drinks needing an Overproof rum. Good price.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 47 ratings

Aye, it took a few whiffs to get past the overwhelming smell alcohol, but once I got there, I found a bit of fruit, a bit of oak, a bit of sweet, and a bit of spice. Powerful smell. Avast! I can smell colors now! She smells like she be sweet on the tongue, but no. Not at first. This wench be complex when it comes to taste, and it takes more than one sip to find anythin'. Spices first, then burned sugar, then banana and fruits, then just as she starts getting sweet and friendly, she leaves with all your loot and nothin' but the taste of iodine in your mouth and an burn that never lets go. Just like me ex-wife. Aye, you could spend time sippin' this, and after a few, you probably wouldn't care, but I wouldn't recommend it. Nobody has that much loot. arrgh!!!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by jfmactive (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

Definitely not your usual rum with a heavy dose of funk. After reading article on how they make Jamaican rums I decided this was the right one to start with. As a homebrewer I am very familiar with the odd things that yeast and bacteria can do with beer so I was curious what it would do when concentrated by distilling. I love the results although it begs to be mixed with something in small doses. This one does not work on the rocks with some water (my opinion) like the Plantation O.F.T.D. but it's got it's uses in cocktails where you want them to be a little different. I can understand some of the low rankings because if you don't like the funk or were expecting a "traditional" rum taste then you will be disappointed, it is not that.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Spud from Canada with 8 ratings

Fuckn mint. This epic overproof has a real identity as opposed to many other bland, flavour less white rums out there. My favourite mixer for summer drinks

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Mujuru from United States with 51 ratings

This rum is legendary, literally. If you don't know the mythic status of this rum go read up on it. In fact, before you even try this at all go read up on it. I will wait.
...
And we're back...

OK So first things first: this is an overproof, clocking in at 63% ABV (126 proof), so treat it with respect. If you treat this like you would a 40% ABV rum its going to absolutely eat you alive and it will be no one's fault but your own. But even knowing that...grab your helmet, firemans axe, and plenty of water because this rum brings the heat. If you going to try to sip this, bring a bucket of water.

The nose is pleasantly pungent and it expresses two things loud and clear: caramelized bananas and alcohol. Its caramelized bananas that makes your nose tingle. This is a gentle reminder that only the strong survive. The strength of the nose of this rum is almost up there with Smith & Cross. It's not quite as complex as S&C, but this goes all in on caramelized bananas and it is quite nice if you waft it gently towards your nose like you learned in high school chemistry. The only problem is that due to the strength of this rum you can't camp your nose out in the glass for very long before burning your nostrils.

Taking a sip of this, even over an ice ball, is damn intense and not for the faint of heart. I mean, this is white hot Carribean fire. Even knowing it is an overproof, this packs a wallop. Take baby sips and stay alive though, because if you can make it through the blazing inferno there are some really nice tropical flavors waiting for you. Surviving the heat of the bonfire, on the palate I get light oak (that's a surprise), grilled pineapple, mango, lemon zest, and creamy key lime pie. The finish is a little disappointingly short but I get ripe mango, marsala wine, brine, and a faint aftertaste of apple pie that builds up with each sip you dare to take.

I was kind of hoping that after the intensity up front I would get to enjoy those delightful fruit notes a little more on the back end, but alas, no, you have to run the gauntlet each time to taste the forbidden fruits. That said the aftertaste slowly builds up with each sip and becomes quite nice after a while - especially when cut with water.

When sipped straight, which I can't recommend except for the most hardened of sailors, this rum is an inviting banana, pineapple, mango, key lime desert that eats you alive as you eat it. Delightful mutual destruction, lol.

That said, this makes for one hell of a mixing rum. I mean up there with the greatest mixing rums of all time.

Nose: 8
Palate: 8
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 4
Versatility: 9
Price: 10

Total: 7.8

Final note: anyone shooting this deserves what they get. But if you treat this rum with the respect it deserves its actually kind of nice. For $19 this is a superb quality rum.

*Tip* This makes a unbelievable Rum & Tonic, better than any Gin & Tonic I have ever had. That bumps this up to an 8 for me

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Supreme from Canada with 33 ratings

Bring on the island vibes this over-proofed rum is one of my favourites when on the beach visiting Jamaica! Even tasting it back home brings me back to the island!