Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10 (164 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
18
43
46
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

164 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

Astringent, yes, but lovely and flavorful. Giant, yet subtle. This can raise you up, but also rase you to the ground in no time at all. One of the great overproofs, and a quintessential pairing with Ting, Wray & Nephew is a must for any rum lovers shelving unit. Try a Hemingway Daiquiri with Wray & Neph, and it will change your life. I mentioned the term "astringent" - a very unaffectionate word, but descriptor for a category, not necessarily a put down (sometimes it is). This is the only astringent tasting rum I genuinely respect and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by The Hovis from United States with 12 ratings

Working from a leftover bottle brought to a party by a guest who presumably dumped the W&N and drank something else, I constructed a batch of passion fruit daiquiris for a family gathering. I was, however, the only person able and willing to get past the first sip as the predominant taste and spiky nature of the drink was all about the overproof rum. When passion fruit liqueur can be obliterated you know the other component is industrial strength fluid.
Not to be daunted I tried again with Coke as a mixer. Simpler and better but only consumable in a bind.

Small 26820

Posted almost 3 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

I don't tend to be a fan of white rum, but this overproof version, direct from Jamaica (63%) is packed with rummy flavour. There is a slight hint of fruity sweetness to it, along with a well rounded rummy yummy flavour. If i drank it blind, I wouldn't have thought it was a white rum.

For those that don't like this rum, I did let the drink air for a few minutes (might have made the difference), and secondly, I'm a rum lover and will happily admit when a drink tastes bad, or like paint stripper, and this isn't either of those things.

Brilliant straight, great in a Cuba libre with lime.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Hmmm, unsweetened Aloe Vera, weird isn't it? Grassy plant extract with solvent floral. Pungently raw with spicy camphor, some exhaust. Get more waxy and drawn out more nutmeg with water, remains stiff and fiery. Would be great if it is less 'industrial'. (19/25)

P- Punchy lemon peel sourish burnt caramel, antiseptic, extra spicy mouthwash. Sulphur raw cocoa. Albeit burn like hell, the tantalizing solid citrus notes are addictive. Cut the zest down to 55%-ish with water or ice are recommended, just made it slightly buttery and rounder. (19/25)

F- Long, saving grace with juicy lemon and pomerol peel with leafy tobacco scents. Sweet orange come thru after dilution. (21/25)

Balanced:- A blazing 63% moonshine that need to drink with care. Rough with some hidden quality. (19/25)

Weighted Rate:- 78pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

Err...people giving this high marks? Really? OK, so it's great in a cocktail, especially a zombie...but hang on, almost any rum here is ok if you mix it with something so you can't taste it, and the best bstuff you wouldn't want to do that to anyway. So you want to get off-your-head-drunk...fine, just drink twice as much good stuff!

It smells like gasoline, it tastes like bad absinthe or something gone off. The only overpowered alcohol I thought was even vaguely interesting was greek Raki...and this is nowhere near as good....save your money.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

When I first started off on rum, this was one that I came across purely because the market at that stage was quite limited, unlike today. It was horrid, and years down the line, I find it no better.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pedro Pires from Portugal with 6 ratings

This Rum is just an classic! Recommend everybody to have it even in your home bar. The best overproof rum i tried so far, at least that i remember! ahahah
Grassy, green bananas on the nose.
Uncle Wray is always there for you when you need a strong hug and when you need a punch to feel alive again!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris Garrahan from United States with 4 ratings

Cant believe they drink this straight and neat in Jamaica but thry do! Slip it into punch if you want everyone to pass out otherwise Im pretty sure its good for a Molotov cocktail. PS dont drink this and smoke

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rob from Canada with 17 ratings

Got this as a gift. Horrendous. CANNOT believe people have rated this so high. Smells like banana bread. Tastes... I'm not sure... Couldn't finish my drink. Gross.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Nathan from Canada with 8 ratings

Too strong aroma of pure alchol and it burns the throat goin down

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jonathan from Puerto Rico with 13 ratings

This is a classic over-proof rum. It is great to mix.