Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10 (145 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
17
17
35
39
13
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


145 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

I use this rum to soak my rum spices with. I have a rum spice bottle that is for medicinal use. This is the rum to use when making your own spice bottle. Very strong, but always taste better as the night goes on!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by True2Rum from United States with 21 ratings

If one is avoiding the stout 151's this one fits in nicely as a 126 proof. Try mixing it, and it shines through. Not many mid range proofs out there to give heavily flavored cocktails a pleasing ethanol balance. Jasper's Punch recipe below is a good start:
JASPER"S RUM PUNCH ***** (32% ABV before ice shaking)
1½ J Wray & Nephew White rum (126 proof)
1½ Jasper’s Secret Mix (so he could pour 200 a day)
or (if no mix handy)
1¼ lime juice
1/8 strong demerara syrup (2:1)
1/8 Angostura
dash grated nutmeg
Shake cracked ice, pour all into mai tai glass.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

So much flavour, it's bold and round with strong taste of Jamaica.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Sean from United States with 1 rating

Funky and direct rum. Great as a base to build home made liquors and punches.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 69 ratings

I don't tend to be a fan of white rum, but this overproof version, direct from Jamaica (63%) is packed with rummy flavour. There is a slight hint of fruity sweetness to it, along with a well rounded rummy yummy flavour. If i drank it blind, I wouldn't have thought it was a white rum.

For those that don't like this rum, I did let the drink air for a few minutes (might have made the difference), and secondly, I'm a rum lover and will happily admit when a drink tastes bad, or like paint stripper, and this isn't either of those things.

Brilliant straight, great in a Cuba libre with lime.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Hmmm, unsweetened Aloe Vera, weird isn't it? Grassy plant extract with solvent floral. Pungently raw with spicy camphor, some exhaust. Get more waxy and drawn out more nutmeg with water, remains stiff and fiery. Would be great if it is less 'industrial'. (19/25)

P- Punchy lemon peel sourish burnt caramel, antiseptic, extra spicy mouthwash. Sulphur raw cocoa. Albeit burn like hell, the tantalizing solid citrus notes are addictive. Cut the zest down to 55%-ish with water or ice are recommended, just made it slightly buttery and rounder. (19/25)

F- Long, saving grace with juicy lemon and pomerol peel with leafy tobacco scents. Sweet orange come thru after dilution. (21/25)

Balanced:- A blazing 63% moonshine that need to drink with care. Rough with some hidden quality. (19/25)

Weighted Rate:- 78pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

Err...people giving this high marks? Really? OK, so it's great in a cocktail, especially a zombie...but hang on, almost any rum here is ok if you mix it with something so you can't taste it, and the best bstuff you wouldn't want to do that to anyway. So you want to get off-your-head-drunk...fine, just drink twice as much good stuff!

It smells like gasoline, it tastes like bad absinthe or something gone off. The only overpowered alcohol I thought was even vaguely interesting was greek Raki...and this is nowhere near as good....save your money.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

When I first started off on rum, this was one that I came across purely because the market at that stage was quite limited, unlike today. It was horrid, and years down the line, I find it no better.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pedro Pires from Portugal with 6 ratings

This Rum is just an classic! Recommend everybody to have it even in your home bar. The best overproof rum i tried so far, at least that i remember! ahahah
Grassy, green bananas on the nose.
Uncle Wray is always there for you when you need a strong hug and when you need a punch to feel alive again!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from Canada with 17 ratings

Got this as a gift. Horrendous. CANNOT believe people have rated this so high. Smells like banana bread. Tastes... I'm not sure... Couldn't finish my drink. Gross.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nathan from Canada with 8 ratings

Too strong aroma of pure alchol and it burns the throat goin down