Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10
171 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
19
45
49
15
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

171 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Haemonculi from United States with 48 ratings

If one wants to live the pirate life this is fire in a glass. Not for sipping but hey that's not the point here. Feel the burn.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by maxamillion99 from Canada with 6 ratings

Even when heavily diluted it still tastes good. Using various levels of dilution seems to reveal different aspects of the potent flavour. The taste is definitely not for everyone -- it's difficult to describe. It feels great in the stomach like something organic. This one seems more like a cocktail rum than a sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

This is powerful stuff, but also VERY tasty, I sip it neat with a couple of teaspoons of water, it is strong, but the alcohol does not overpower the distinctive Jamaican taste. A little goes a long way, so good value for money.

Update.

I initially gave this Rum 6/10, I was very new to the world of Rum, and the 2 years or so I have indulging in my new hobby my tastes and likes have changed considerably.. I love Appleton 12 year Rare Blend, and was quite pleasantly surprised that after tasting the Wray and Nephew again after some considerable time, it shares many of the 12 year olds tasty characteristics, namely that Jamaican "Funk" that so many of the more experienced sippers talk about. Water it down ever so slightly and this stuff is a joy to sip neat, and not many other White Rums can boast that. Awesome stuff, full of natural sweetness, character and flavour. Go easy on it though.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by JBD from United States with 10 ratings

This is horrible. Might be ok to use in place of gasoline...nope, I take that back, gas would actually taste better.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rei from Germany with 106 ratings

very delicious nose of tropical fruits, dominated by ripe banana and mango. These notes are also present at the first sip, however there is some little burn which I had expected to be much stronger given 63% alcohol. Extremly long finish. So here you have a very interesting price/value relationship. The rum is dominant but still fine at this alcohol degree. This rum certainly also makes a very good figure when used in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is what the old rummies in Jamaica drink. Many a time I bought an old guy at the rum shack a shot of this vile stuff. Brought a bottle home one time and could not drink it! If you want to know what the aficionados refer to as the funky flavor in Jamaican rum this is the worst example.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 68 ratings

Nose: Very strong esters, fermented tropical fruit, raw banana, a lot of sour tropical citrus fruits, vanilla and faint toffee. Alcoholic for sure.
Taste: Very alcoholic, a lot of esters, citrus, fermented tropical fruit. Has some nice natural sweetness in it.
Finish: Harsh and burns for eternity if ingested neat.
Overall: I actually really like this rum, it has a ton of unapologetic character that might not be for average rum drinker but i think it really kicks ass.
Only reason i dont rate it very high is because it is very alcoholic and it pierces through the tiki cocktails very easily if you are not being very careful.
But an honest jamaican firewarer that is made in traditional jamaican style, high in funk and esters and is not trying to please the generic dessert rum drinker.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by True2Rum from United States with 22 ratings

If one is avoiding the stout 151's this one fits in nicely as a 126 proof. Try mixing it, and it shines through. Not many mid range proofs out there to give heavily flavored cocktails a pleasing ethanol balance. Jasper's Punch recipe below is a good start:
JASPER"S RUM PUNCH ***** (32% ABV before ice shaking)
1½ J Wray & Nephew White rum (126 proof)
1½ Jasper’s Secret Mix (so he could pour 200 a day)
or (if no mix handy)
1¼ lime juice
1/8 strong demerara syrup (2:1)
1/8 Angostura
dash grated nutmeg
Shake cracked ice, pour all into mai tai glass.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

So much flavour, it's bold and round with strong taste of Jamaica.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Sean from United States with 1 rating

Funky and direct rum. Great as a base to build home made liquors and punches.