Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10 (164 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
18
43
46
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

164 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is what the old rummies in Jamaica drink. Many a time I bought an old guy at the rum shack a shot of this vile stuff. Brought a bottle home one time and could not drink it! If you want to know what the aficionados refer to as the funky flavor in Jamaican rum this is the worst example.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 69 ratings

Drink with plenty of mix and hold your nose. Also works as a disenfectant.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by FURBZ from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Had a lot of overproof rum in my life. This one was undrinkable though. May as well have been drinking White spirits or lighter fluid. Avoid.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Greendanasaur from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Knock ya socks off, but a staple of any rum bartenders arsenal. Taste is rather unique with a bit of banana flavour in there somewhere

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by jancewicz from Poland with 33 ratings

First sip was like WTF? Very odd but some force makes you want more. The most funkiest rum I have ever tried. Too strong to sip straight but excellenet with a bit of water. Funky, fruity, grassy but funk is definitely on the top. It's not for all but I'll try to have it always present in my cabinet. Recommended.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by thechosen21 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

I was expecting so much more from this famous rum. I must say, I prefer dark or spiced rum, and the Wray & Nephew does not change my mind. A bit to harsh!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

This rum is not to drink straight, but mixed or in a daiquiri it’s phenomenal. Archetypical Jamaican rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DinoTiki from United States with 3 ratings

I was introduced to this by making my own Falernum using Beach Bum Barry recipe and the 15 lime zested needs a high proof spirit to extract the flavors with almonds, cloves and ginger to make. I also have used this to add a kick to Tiki Cocktails occasionally which it does well because it has good dimensional qualities with its high proof. Astringent nose (thats good for a white mixer) mild candy and burnt banana leaf smells, but tastes of... can't put my finger on it...mild candy cane with a burn and bite? I don't know, but its still complex, unique and quite useful in my home bar for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lisa from Sweden with 7 ratings

Wow, i tried this one in Jamaica the first time and it knocked me, literally. Super super aromatic and it feels like drinking a flower bomb in a nice way.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

THIS IS NOT A SIPPER. But it is a terrific mixer in small amounts when you want to bring those classically Jamaican funky notes into a cocktail, and add a little bit of heat.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Deezl from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

It's really easy to see why this is Jamaica's best selling rum. Lots of that great funk going on, great aromas of bananas and tropical fruit with a slight petroly smell. As it's overproof and bottled at 63%ABV the flavours hold up really well when mixed - I wouldn't dare try to sip this one.

Essential for Jamaican style rum punches but works equally great in some orange juice or something similar. For something different try it with coke or ginger beer. Not the best rum going but it's incredible value for money.