Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.5/10 (155 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
18
18
39
42
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


155 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

Astringent, yes, but lovely and flavorful. Giant, yet subtle. This can raise you up, but also rase you to the ground in no time at all. One of the great overproofs, and a quintessential pairing with Ting, Wray & Nephew is a must for any rum lovers shelving unit. Try a Hemingway Daiquiri with Wray & Neph, and it will change your life. I mentioned the term "astringent" - a very unaffectionate word, but descriptor for a category, not necessarily a put down (sometimes it is). This is the only astringent tasting rum I genuinely respect and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

This rum is not to drink straight, but mixed or in a daiquiri it’s phenomenal. Archetypical Jamaican rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DinoTiki from United States with 3 ratings

I was introduced to this by making my own Falernum using Beach Bum Barry recipe and the 15 lime zested needs a high proof spirit to extract the flavors with almonds, cloves and ginger to make. I also have used this to add a kick to Tiki Cocktails occasionally which it does well because it has good dimensional qualities with its high proof. Astringent nose (thats good for a white mixer) mild candy and burnt banana leaf smells, but tastes of... can't put my finger on it...mild candy cane with a burn and bite? I don't know, but its still complex, unique and quite useful in my home bar for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Lisa from Sweden with 7 ratings

Wow, i tried this one in Jamaica the first time and it knocked me, literally. Super super aromatic and it feels like drinking a flower bomb in a nice way.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

THIS IS NOT A SIPPER. But it is a terrific mixer in small amounts when you want to bring those classically Jamaican funky notes into a cocktail, and add a little bit of heat.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Deezl from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

It's really easy to see why this is Jamaica's best selling rum. Lots of that great funk going on, great aromas of bananas and tropical fruit with a slight petroly smell. As it's overproof and bottled at 63%ABV the flavours hold up really well when mixed - I wouldn't dare try to sip this one.

Essential for Jamaican style rum punches but works equally great in some orange juice or something similar. For something different try it with coke or ginger beer. Not the best rum going but it's incredible value for money.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by maxamillion99 from Canada with 6 ratings

Even when heavily diluted it still tastes good. Using various levels of dilution seems to reveal different aspects of the potent flavour. The taste is definitely not for everyone -- it's difficult to describe. It feels great in the stomach like something organic. This one seems more like a cocktail rum than a sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

This is powerful stuff, but also VERY tasty, I sip it neat with a couple of teaspoons of water, it is strong, but the alcohol does not overpower the distinctive Jamaican taste. A little goes a long way, so good value for money.

Update.

I initially gave this Rum 6/10, I was very new to the world of Rum, and the 2 years or so I have indulging in my new hobby my tastes and likes have changed considerably.. I love Appleton 12 year Rare Blend, and was quite pleasantly surprised that after tasting the Wray and Nephew again after some considerable time, it shares many of the 12 year olds tasty characteristics, namely that Jamaican "Funk" that so many of the more experienced sippers talk about. Water it down ever so slightly and this stuff is a joy to sip neat, and not many other White Rums can boast that. Awesome stuff, full of natural sweetness, character and flavour. Go easy on it though.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by JBD from United States with 10 ratings

This is horrible. Might be ok to use in place of gasoline...nope, I take that back, gas would actually taste better.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rei from Germany with 101 ratings

very delicious nose of tropical fruits, dominated by ripe banana and mango. These notes are also present at the first sip, however there is some little burn which I had expected to be much stronger given 63% alcohol. Extremly long finish. So here you have a very interesting price/value relationship. The rum is dominant but still fine at this alcohol degree. This rum certainly also makes a very good figure when used in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is what the old rummies in Jamaica drink. Many a time I bought an old guy at the rum shack a shot of this vile stuff. Brought a bottle home one time and could not drink it! If you want to know what the aficionados refer to as the funky flavor in Jamaican rum this is the worst example.