Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10
168 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
19
44
48
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

168 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

For a true experience of Jamaica, try this rum. It's not for everyone but this rum is special for its flavor profile and its history with the island.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

The first overproof rum I tried, and the one I always keep on the shelf. It's aroma and flavor are unmistakable, perhaps a bit "headsy" but pungent and bright. Compared to it's brethren Rum Fire, this is far more versatile, a bit smoother, and also less costly. It packs a wallop of flavor that doesn't overpower the drink.

Don't waste your time drinking it neat. This is a solid base for anything calling for a white spirit or tequila. And for that, there is no better white rum than the W&N Overproof.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I don't get why people don't appreciate this rum more. For being the hands-down biggest seller in Jamaica, you'd think it'd get more respect abroad. Thick, funky, pungent, and of course, strong. It's a punch rum, but it has its place in cocktails as well.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Wow, if I have a large double, will I go blind?
An interesting taste and aroma.
This was a gift, not sure if I would purchase another when finished with this one...if I ever do

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

I don't understand this....rum, or whatever it is. I don't get how it's getting high ratings when, after I poured it, got a terrible smell as I floated it on my tiki drink that called for an over proof. I figured I had bought a cleaner or something. I by a rum, good or bad, it should taste like rum, not arse.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Even without lime (which is preferable) this gives a great citrusy taste when mixed with coke, pleasant burn and a gentle warming feeling.

I don't think you need another white rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

I have been trying to finish this bottle for 2 years, I gave it away twice, and it came back, like a bad penny. If I had known it was so bad, I would have bought 151. At least it tastes like rum. I thought it was a spoiled batch, until I read some other reviews. I can't even describe the taste. To call it gasoline, would be bad for the hydrocarbon.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Classic over proof with one hell of a bite. Unique flavor that is not meant for everyone, this rum is great for mixed tropical drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 50 ratings

Not much to add that hasn’t already been said. On the nose I get bananas mixed with cinnamon but with a little water, those super funky esters go pungent, like a mix of swamp water, soy sauce, and sesame seeds. It’s pretty fascinating! The palate is different than the nose: floral, something like Juicy Fruit gum, and and a faint spearmint note - lovely! This is always going to be a polarizing rum - the amount of funk will attract or repel, depending on the person. It’s never gone to be a typical sipper for me but it has great character. A classic.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 59 ratings

Aye, it took a few whiffs to get past the overwhelming smell alcohol, but once I got there, I found a bit of fruit, a bit of oak, a bit of sweet, and a bit of spice. Powerful smell. Avast! I can smell colors now! She smells like she be sweet on the tongue, but no. Not at first. This wench be complex when it comes to taste, and it takes more than one sip to find anythin'. Spices first, then burned sugar, then banana and fruits, then just as she starts getting sweet and friendly, she leaves with all your loot and nothin' but the taste of iodine in your mouth and an burn that never lets go. Just like me ex-wife. Aye, you could spend time sippin' this, and after a few, you probably wouldn't care, but I wouldn't recommend it. Nobody has that much loot. arrgh!!!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 33 ratings

Let's be honest, nobody drinks it for the taste. It does its job