Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10 (164 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
18
43
46
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

164 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

Astringent, yes, but lovely and flavorful. Giant, yet subtle. This can raise you up, but also rase you to the ground in no time at all. One of the great overproofs, and a quintessential pairing with Ting, Wray & Nephew is a must for any rum lovers shelving unit. Try a Hemingway Daiquiri with Wray & Neph, and it will change your life. I mentioned the term "astringent" - a very unaffectionate word, but descriptor for a category, not necessarily a put down (sometimes it is). This is the only astringent tasting rum I genuinely respect and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I don't get why people don't appreciate this rum more. For being the hands-down biggest seller in Jamaica, you'd think it'd get more respect abroad. Thick, funky, pungent, and of course, strong. It's a punch rum, but it has its place in cocktails as well.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

Wow, if I have a large double, will I go blind?
An interesting taste and aroma.
This was a gift, not sure if I would purchase another when finished with this one...if I ever do

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

I don't understand this....rum, or whatever it is. I don't get how it's getting high ratings when, after I poured it, got a terrible smell as I floated it on my tiki drink that called for an over proof. I figured I had bought a cleaner or something. I by a rum, good or bad, it should taste like rum, not arse.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Even without lime (which is preferable) this gives a great citrusy taste when mixed with coke, pleasant burn and a gentle warming feeling.

I don't think you need another white rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

I have been trying to finish this bottle for 2 years, I gave it away twice, and it came back, like a bad penny. If I had known it was so bad, I would have bought 151. At least it tastes like rum. I thought it was a spoiled batch, until I read some other reviews. I can't even describe the taste. To call it gasoline, would be bad for the hydrocarbon.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Classic over proof with one hell of a bite. Unique flavor that is not meant for everyone, this rum is great for mixed tropical drinks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Lars P. Skaarup from United States with 5 ratings

There's only one way truly enjoy this rum, Jamaican style - straight up with a tiny splash of water. Tastes just like how it smells at the Appleton Estate. Fantastic!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 47 ratings

Not much to add that hasn’t already been said. On the nose I get bananas mixed with cinnamon but with a little water, those super funky esters go pungent, like a mix of swamp water, soy sauce, and sesame seeds. It’s pretty fascinating! The palate is different than the nose: floral, something like Juicy Fruit gum, and and a faint spearmint note - lovely! This is always going to be a polarizing rum - the amount of funk will attract or repel, depending on the person. It’s never gone to be a typical sipper for me but it has great character. A classic.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

Aye, it took a few whiffs to get past the overwhelming smell alcohol, but once I got there, I found a bit of fruit, a bit of oak, a bit of sweet, and a bit of spice. Powerful smell. Avast! I can smell colors now! She smells like she be sweet on the tongue, but no. Not at first. This wench be complex when it comes to taste, and it takes more than one sip to find anythin'. Spices first, then burned sugar, then banana and fruits, then just as she starts getting sweet and friendly, she leaves with all your loot and nothin' but the taste of iodine in your mouth and an burn that never lets go. Just like me ex-wife. Aye, you could spend time sippin' this, and after a few, you probably wouldn't care, but I wouldn't recommend it. Nobody has that much loot. arrgh!!!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 33 ratings

Let's be honest, nobody drinks it for the taste. It does its job