Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10
168 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
19
44
48
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

168 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

For a true experience of Jamaica, try this rum. It's not for everyone but this rum is special for its flavor profile and its history with the island.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gentle Mr Helman from United States with 3 ratings

I really love this rum. It has exceptional flavor, almost fruity but oh so sugary at the same time. Folks I know hate it, but it just does something for me - from the smell to my favorite drink - this and diet coke, it is very enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

I keep on hearing how Jamaican rums have a funk (In a good way). I could never really describe them as funky even though it was always in the background. This rum is different in that's because it hits you in the face with a wall of funk you don't expect from a white rum.

Don't get me wrong, I don't mind 'funk' (some of my favourite brandies could be called funky), but I find this to be just a little bit over the top for me.

Still this is an excellent mixing rum for when an over-proof is called for.

Nose: Hold it closed (Very pungent).
Body: A little oily.
Taste: A little sweet but not much. Your not using this for the taste anyway.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

Wray & Nephew is a quality overproof white rum with almost a sipping quality. Not at all harsh, sweet complexity (sounded good here) and mixes well with others. I recommend this rum as a very good option for other overproof rum or just as a white rum in a mixed cocktail; makes a great Rum and Coke.

This one rates a spot on my mixing shelf.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Too be taken with care. A very pleasant white mixing rum but approach with caution

Full review at

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

Perfekt for Cocktails. Pure and diluted it is fresh fruity banana & pineapple with a little blow. Awesome stuff.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

probably my favourite overproof rum, not quite as strong as the the majority of overproof's but makes it an easier drink to mix that is more versatile than its competitors.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

One of the best overproof rums out there! despite it´s "kerosene" flavor....this is good stuff! it`s incredibly versatile too, if you google on use in Jamaica you`ll find all kinds of things.I love it with Ting (a Jamaican grapefruit beverage), "JWray and Ting" one of the best cocktails! also it`s a great float in tiki drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

An excellent overproof rum. These are the folks that make Appleton but put their names on it instead. Challenging to talk about the taste etc of something that is so strong. For sure a mixer.