Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10 (164 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
18
43
46
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

164 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is what the old rummies in Jamaica drink. Many a time I bought an old guy at the rum shack a shot of this vile stuff. Brought a bottle home one time and could not drink it! If you want to know what the aficionados refer to as the funky flavor in Jamaican rum this is the worst example.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

If you want to stay warm or to clear a cold drink this!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Goed voor als je snel dronken wil worden
Een heldere, witte rum die gedistilleerd is van gegiste melasse met een redelijk sterke ‘body’, Wray & Nephew White is met afstand de meest populaire rum in Jamaica met zijn typische smaak en aroma. Zo populair dat de laatste peilingen stellen dat meer dan 90% van alle verkochte rum in Jamaica van Wray & Nephew is.

Smaakt puur of ‘on the rocks’ super maar doet het ook geweldig in allerlei cocktails of bij het koken & bakken.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

I use this rum to soak my rum spices with. I have a rum spice bottle that is for medicinal use. This is the rum to use when making your own spice bottle. Very strong, but always taste better as the night goes on!!!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This rum is serious stuff. When you start to pour your wonder why the bottle has the annoying stopper on it. Have a taste of the rum and yo will realise why. This stuff is strong, its perfect in cocktails of your making vast amounts. Has to be mixed as drinking straight your only trying to do one thing

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Barry from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Wow strong hit

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

For a true experience of Jamaica, try this rum. It's not for everyone but this rum is special for its flavor profile and its history with the island.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gentle Mr Helman from United States with 3 ratings

I really love this rum. It has exceptional flavor, almost fruity but oh so sugary at the same time. Folks I know hate it, but it just does something for me - from the smell to my favorite drink - this and diet coke, it is very enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

I keep on hearing how Jamaican rums have a funk (In a good way). I could never really describe them as funky even though it was always in the background. This rum is different in that's because it hits you in the face with a wall of funk you don't expect from a white rum.

Don't get me wrong, I don't mind 'funk' (some of my favourite brandies could be called funky), but I find this to be just a little bit over the top for me.

Still this is an excellent mixing rum for when an over-proof is called for.

Nose: Hold it closed (Very pungent).
Body: A little oily.
Taste: A little sweet but not much. Your not using this for the taste anyway.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

Wray & Nephew is a quality overproof white rum with almost a sipping quality. Not at all harsh, sweet complexity (sounded good here) and mixes well with others. I recommend this rum as a very good option for other overproof rum or just as a white rum in a mixed cocktail; makes a great Rum and Coke.

This one rates a spot on my mixing shelf.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Too be taken with care. A very pleasant white mixing rum but approach with caution

Full review at

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate