Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10 (164 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
18
43
46
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

164 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is what the old rummies in Jamaica drink. Many a time I bought an old guy at the rum shack a shot of this vile stuff. Brought a bottle home one time and could not drink it! If you want to know what the aficionados refer to as the funky flavor in Jamaican rum this is the worst example.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rumpelstiltskin from United States with 33 ratings

I had this on spring break in Jamaica a number of years ago. This was practically all they mixed in our drinks along with Cruzan and it did its duty well. It has a distinct island perfume and taste that is distinct and different from anything you will have in the states. "Respect Maan!"

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

It's no wonder Jamaicans love it so much. The fruity scent and strong finish are enough to keep me making more mai tai's. Not to drink on its own, but in a fruity mix it earns the throne. If any cocktail calls for an overproof white ru, then this is the one. Two to thumbs up.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 456 ratings

This stuff really kicks and burns a incredible sensation when straight up... Not great stuff but certainly amazing for knocking you out. A cocktail rum that packs a punch in a zombie

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

Classic over-proof rum. Good for mixing - strong!

Small img 3915

Posted 5 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Quintessential Jamaican flavour bomb, although one dimensional

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by thearn3 from Canada with 14 ratings

i initially used this to make some homemade Falurnum. It did not turn out as planned, but I then tried it with Cola, but was not that enamoured with it! It is definitely over proof, but the taste was hard to get past! May try this again, but I have too many good dark rums to sample!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

Astringent, yes, but lovely and flavorful. Giant, yet subtle. This can raise you up, but also rase you to the ground in no time at all. One of the great overproofs, and a quintessential pairing with Ting, Wray & Nephew is a must for any rum lovers shelving unit. Try a Hemingway Daiquiri with Wray & Neph, and it will change your life. I mentioned the term "astringent" - a very unaffectionate word, but descriptor for a category, not necessarily a put down (sometimes it is). This is the only astringent tasting rum I genuinely respect and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Richard from Canada with 9 ratings

I'm not crazy about it, and would probably have to dilute it to unrecognisable in order to enjoy it. Gave it a 6 out of respect for the alcohol content though.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 66 ratings

I first tasted this in Jamaica and the locals we quite proud of it and even more so the reaction we had after the first sip or two. Out of kindness they soon served it in a fruit mix which made a most delightful drink. This is the real deal!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 26 ratings

...and will taste (relatively) good while doing so.

I've use the 151 proof version (unfortunately, they only make 120 proof now) of this white lightning for everything from spiking a punch to cleaning a road rash wound (from an inexperienced rider using a scooter on the Negril cliff "road").

I've never been sure if you should keep the this one in your bar or your 1st aid kit.
It makes for both, a perfect "Flambé" rum OR a great tasting emergency anesthetic. lol

All kidding aside, I wished they'd bring back the 151...