Posting your rating...
Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10 (164 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
6
19
18
43
46
14
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

164 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is what the old rummies in Jamaica drink. Many a time I bought an old guy at the rum shack a shot of this vile stuff. Brought a bottle home one time and could not drink it! If you want to know what the aficionados refer to as the funky flavor in Jamaican rum this is the worst example.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

I'll never recommend drinking this on it's own. But, if you need to light something on fire...

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by clochardo from Belgium with 64 ratings

Il s'agit du blanc overproof de la maison Appleton. C'est un blanc typique jamaïcain avec cette note métallique typique de la maison (probablement trop de rhum de colonne). Pas un mauvais produit mais pas assez riche en esters pour vraiment mettre le coup de pied au fesse que peut mettre un rum bar ou encore un fire velvet.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Original review 4/17:

You should know what you're getting into if you ask/reach for this rum. This ain't no Bacardi. You're going to get lots of funk, rotten bananas, rubber, and ethanol on the nose. Loads of fruit. The flavor... I can't really describe. There's so much going on! I love the concentrated flavor.

If this is an example of raw Jamaican distillate, it's easy to see why Jamaican rums (of any age) are so popular among rum aficionados. Like IPAs, they're a bit of an acquired taste, but they are almost unfailingly interesting, and more often than not, delicious.

I only had it neat, but I look forward to trying it in a Wray & Ting and other cocktails someday soon.

7+

Update 11/17: Screw it. This rum is so straightforward, tasty, and versatile, I'm giving it an 8. Not only does a little bit jazz up any cocktail, it does wonders when added to any 80-proof sleeper rums you have lying around gathering dust. I also vastly prefer the flavor profile (not the strength—the profile) of this to Rum Fire, though I'm still looking forward to trying Hampden Rum Bar Overproof sometime. (Update, I prefer this to RBO, but only just.)

8-

Update 12/19 - Rum Fire has grown on me quite a bit. The particular fruits it leans it leans toward in its profile are still not my favorite, but there's just something magic about it. It's taken the top spot for Jamaican white overproof in my book. I love Worthy Park but Rum-Bar Overproof just felt very lackluster in terms of funk, leaning more toward grassy. But they're all delicious :)

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by J. E. Clapham from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

This is an utterly unique rum. Came across it on the Turtle Bay cocktail list. A Ting Ray perhaps isn't for everyone, but the strength of the rum means that its character doesn't get lost or seem diluted in combination with the other ingredients. Great way to start an evening.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Terencio from United States with 21 ratings

The dunder pit was working in overdrive when they got this one going... botanicals and flavor for days... but heavy duty. This is the estranged crazy Uncle of rum that has lots of good stories! Only good if you are ready for it.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

It is rare to find something that hasn't been tinkered with these days. In my opinion this is what rum is supposed to be. It doesn't necessarily lend itself to drinking neat, although personally I like it like that. Clearly not for everyone. I appreciate the smoother more sugary rums as well, but this one is special.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by elizebeth from United States with 2 ratings

This could go with anything and more or you could rub it on you the best rum ever

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by KristofB from Belgium with 28 ratings

It is not normal i guess to give a kind of cheap rum such a high rating, but i think it is truly delicious! It has a very unique taste, you can tell the moment you open the bottle, a fantastic smell is released that makes you want to drink the entire bottle, but beware at 63 % , that most likely is not the best idea :)

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Aubreywan from United States with 20 ratings

... but not bad to mix with. Another review mentioned 'green bananas'. I agree.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by ThisLilyPetal from Canada with 11 ratings

This was my staple rum for a long time, being a rum from my mother's country of birth. I would use this in any baking that called for rum. Not having much of a flavour to it, it is quite versatile in that regard. However, it is VERY harsh to drink on its own and I would only mix with it if I didn't have anything more palatable to drink. It will always be my white rum, but for now, I will continue to flirt about other rums to experience what is out there.