Posting your rating...
Blue Chair Bay Coconut rum

The Coconut variety of Blue Chair Bay rum is produced in Barbados. The distillery is located just yards from the beach, while the rum is aged nearby in white oak casks.

Well known country singer Kenny Chesney created the The Blue Chair Bay rum brand, which is named after his ballad "Old Blue Chair."

Rate Blue Chair Bay Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


46 Blue Chair Bay Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

So, this is coconut rum - of course it's sweet. Love the bottle, the less filtered look and the island flavour. What else is there to say? It beats Malibu and is great in tiki drinks.

Posted about 6 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

This is by far my favorite flavored rum. The coconut isnt over powering, and the taste is amazing. i like the white version also , but the coconut truly stands out in its class. Awesome rum.

Posted over 6 years ago by MaximumRUM from United States with 5 ratings

This is the smoothest and most natural tasting coconut rum I have ever tried, and I've tried more than my fair share of coconut rums. This rum can be sipped straight up, or on the rocks without any need of fillers. If Pina Colada is your thing, it is the perfect compliment to it.

It is not a standard 80 proof so it goes down very easy and because of that it is dangerously easy to loose count of how many you are drinking. I like my mixed drinks with a little bite so I would recommend added some BLUE CHAIR BAY WHITE RUM in addition to this coconut version if you are like me. This rum is great with Pineapple juice or an upgrade to any Malibu based drinks. I gave this a 9 instead of a 10 only because If BLUE CHAIR BAY ever makes an 80 Proof version of this COCONUT Rum it would surely be a 10.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Casperino from United States with 2 ratings

And I was not disappointed. I debated over which brand to buy and settled on Blue Chair and was not disappointed. Smooth taste and not a too-overpowering coconut flavor. Enjoyed it immensely. I live in a state-controlled state so the only two offerings are Coconut and Banana ,which I'll have to try.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 50 to 60 gpl. Great coconut aroma and taste. No chemical taste or smell as with some other coconut rums that I have tried. The coconut and the rum are well balanced. It is very sweet and is definitely for mixing in Tiki style drinks. I give this a 7 as that is as high a ranking a flavoured rum should ever get. I would not drink this neat or on the rocks.

Posted about 5 years ago by Superman from United States with 4 ratings

This maybe the best rum I have ever tasted!! And I have tasted a lot. Mixed or straight, this Coconut Rum should be a cornerstone liquor in your home bar.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 27 ratings

Tried this one in place of Blue Chair White for my favorite cocktail mix (pineapple, orange juice and grenadine) and I was surprised that it added what I didn't know that my drink was missing.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I really like the taste of this rum, though I found the 26.5%abv a bit weak for my liking.

Taste is pretty much a sweet coconut flavor; not much else to describe it. But it's quite good.

Posted over 4 years ago by Eric from United States with 10 ratings

This is really good coconut rum... I debated actually giving it an 8 (was considering a 7), just because it's a flavored rum... but then I thought... Well, that's what I'm rating it on now isn't it... Very smooth, perfect amount of coconut flavor, not too sweet or overpowering... very balanced.

Posted over 4 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

A little on the sweet side but good coconut flavor. Very smooth. No alcohol burn.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

mixed with the real sugar Mexican Coca-Cola from Costco. This is really tasty, just enough coconut flavor but not overpowering. I'd like to try the Blue Chair Spiced Rum but minimum order in Pennsylvania is 3 bottles.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I believe this might be the best coconut rum I've tasted so far, not counting it's spiced sibling of course. I'm not crazy about coconut rums, but this is not overpowered by coconut flavors.

Posted 5 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

This is a better coconut rum for mixing than the usual suspects.

Posted about 1 month ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

Great aroma and flavor. Very sweet too. Probably my favorite coconut flavored rum so far.

Posted 3 months ago by Rummy Martin from United States with 6 ratings

Just the right amount of sweetness, just the right amount of coconut, just the right amount of rum spice. This is the perfect mixing coconut rum. Fantastic!

Posted 5 months ago by Ifontaine from United States with 5 ratings

I’m not a terribly big fan of
Coconut but I needed some for a party. Well, my taste buds must have changed. It’s so smooth going doing. Mixed with pineapple juice over ice and I find it so damn smooth.

I love the aroma and the flavor now. One of my two favorite flavored rums.

Posted 7 months ago by Ifitsbrokenfixit from United States with 12 ratings

Let me tell you, I love rum. Rum is life. Started with Malibu and am now at real rums (Diplomatico, Plantation XO etc.) Those rums are perfection. I am shocked and in awe that this rum is as cheap as a 750ml Malibu (California). Thank you Kenny Cheney for this fabulous concoction.

Let me tell you guys, this stuff is amazing mixed, neat or on the rocks. Its smooth like water with zero burn, Tastes like coconut and rum without being overly sweet. I bought it to up my Rum and Coke game but I now feel bad every time I destroy this beauty with coke.

I have one regret about this drink..... That I didnt find it earlier. Absolutely sublime

Posted 9 months ago by Fwittmeyer from United States with 11 ratings

Very sweet and delicious. The coconut is not overwhelming. A great shot !!!

Posted 10 months ago by jamesshaffer (PREMIUM) from United States with 24 ratings

I truly regret purchasing this rum. I only picked it up at the suggestion of a liquor store employee. I'm sure it's fine when used in some fancy mixed drink. But, I think I'll stick with my faves. As always, I prefer my rum over ice with a healthy splash of Coke.

Posted 11 months ago by wolfpack21643 from United States with 16 ratings

This is my new go to coconut rum. It taste like the Caribbean. I give it a 10 on the flavored rum spectrum.

Posted about 1 year ago by Vhambright from United States with 1 rating

I have sampled lots of coconut rum and this is hands down the best on the market. Would love to visit the distillery.

Posted over 1 year ago by Hawkeye821 from United States with 17 ratings

No shoes no shirt no problems, the most beautiful woman in the world next to me in a blue chair on a beach, glass of good rum, Tommy Bahamas shorts, a Cuban cigar and a beautiful sunset with some country music playing in the background.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Blue Chair Coconut rum with my friend at the conclusion of a 5,000 mile road trip across 18 States. Unique bottle and label design for sure. Decent coconut smell is relatively pleasant. Unfortunately the taste test reveals way too sweet profile, and no burn at the end at all. This is marginally better than Malibu, but nowhere as good as the Florida based Siesta Key Toasted Coconut.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Virago from United States with 3 ratings

Although my all time favorite is Calypso Coconut Rum, which is impossible to find anymore. I tried Blue Chair because it was on the top ten list of many different lists on various websites. I decided to purchase a bottle along with several other brands to taste test and this is by far by favorite. It is very smooth, with a hint of spice. It has a taste that you can use for shots, or mixed drinks.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steve Jones from Canada with 1 rating

Came back from the Caribbean looking for coconut rum and found Blue Chair Bay Coconut Rum at the local liquor store in Edmonton. Have been enjoying it ever since. Reminds me of the beach. Very smooth on ice with a hint of Coke for colour. Has tiny pieces of coconut in it that gives it more flavour. Last summer we couldn’t find it in all of Alberta and British Columbia. I was tempted to call Kenny himself. When I finally found it I bought a case. It was like finding an old friend. You can’t go wrong with Blue Chair Bay!