Posting your rating...
Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Rate Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


37 Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Sweet aroma. The taste, not so much but with a fruity flavor at the start. Ends dry with a good amount of oak present. Enjoyable but very short finish and dryer than I usually like. I prefer sipping rums, and this isn't a bad one. Just doesn't stand out at all. Would drink again if offered to me but not one I will be purchasing for my shelf.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not bad but... Nice fruity first nose, more oaky afterwards. The mouth is a bit disappointing though it has a long warm finish. Vanilla and baked apple flavours, oaky. I would recommend the 10yrs anniversary edition of in Colombia. Same price but much better thanks to a nice blend of 10, 20 and 30 yrs reserve rums.

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

This is a rough-tasting aged industrial rum, it does not really stand up to its Venezuelan or Panamanian counterparts. Nothing special, it may remind you of a another anejo, similar to Havana 7 or Abuelo. Not a lot of flavor on the palate, the caramel is there (likely added) and the alcohol burns off high in the sinuses. Dare I say it almost has a burned cane aftertaste.

I have had this neat, on the rocks and mixed, and if you give it enough time on ice it will be fine.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Will McQ from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Light golden, nice initial spicy taste, lack complexity of some other rums but an enjoyable drink

Posted about 6 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Really an enjoyable rum. Smooth but still interesting with a little spice. Short finish and not too oily. Probably good for rum rookies but maybe not complex enough for experienced rum drinkers

Posted 5 months ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

This is one of my faves. Definitely a strong butterscotch flavor profile and it is also incredibly smooth. My favorite way to enjoy this is to put it in the freezer for an hour, then sipping neat. This is also a dangerous way to consume this as it is a very smooth rum with a short finish. This, I find myself sipping incredibly frequently, which leads to...well...we know what it leads to. For the price, this is an excellent rum which is one of my standard go to's.

Posted 9 months ago by manoelmano from Poland with 3 ratings

Nose is rather sweet with some vanilla but nothing special, taste is also little bit fruity and oaky, good blender, not bad sipper

Posted 10 months ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Very nice natural ron from Colombia. No added sugar, no added flavor, no added colour. If you are fan of natural rums without added sugar, this one is deffinitely for you. I really enjoy it and only explonation I have for these bad reviews is that crybabies wants their sugarbombs. Only thing I dont like is the paper box, which is really badly designed and ron is hard to close inside it.

Nose: A bit of wood, a bit of tobacco, and a bit of chocolate. Nothing extremely intense.

Taste: Natural smooth taste of rum, without sweetness, without any aditions. Wood and a bit of spiciness, also almost no burn in the end. Not the best rum from Colombia, but worth of trying for sure. Really hard to get in my country.

Posted 11 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This is a decent rum, unique flavors but still tastes like rum. Has a hint of lighter fruits, no sweetness what so ever and leaves your mouth enjoying the flavors. 12 year at a decent level of complexity.

Posted about 1 year ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

This rum goes against a lot of rums in the 12 year old class. Dry. Oak. Spice. More heat than most. Some leathery quality to it. This goes well with a cigar as it doesn't linger on the palate & isn't that usually sweet rum you get from companies that add sugar.

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

Nothing special, but a decent rum. Key West 2019..

Posted over 1 year ago by Haemonculi from United States with 46 ratings

Obviously leaps and bounds over the 3 year this is a nice glass of rum to be enjoyed more than once.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Pulák from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Vybral jsem si ho v baru kvuli mestu od kud pochazi. To je vsechno co je na nem zajimave. Vubec me neoslovil

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tim from United States with 3 ratings

My first ever rum, or at least sipping rum. It's a good choice for beginners and I enjoyed it but I would be interested to go back and try it now I have other points of comparison.

Posted over 2 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

A friend of mine brought this bottle from over there, nice rum. Very tasty, little burn. not that long lasting.

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un ron que mantiene los sabores característicos de un buen ron colombiano.
Ron Medellin siempre demuestra su elevada categoría con rones de esta gran calidad.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ivan R. Lopez from United States with 19 ratings

Lucky for me, my dad married a Colombian woman and goes to Columbia to see your family each year. He always bring me back a bottle or two so it's a staple in my house. Definitely a good option when I don't know what to drink.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

So many good rums hailing from Colombia and Ron Medellin Gran Reserva 12 year is not one of them. Surprisingly strong alcohol flavor and a very strong burn for a 12 year old rum. Only very marginally better than the 8 year old Ron Medellin.

Posted almost 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

Honestly took me by surprise. Not a bad drop. The flavor is not amazing and the flavor is good. Most importantly it is not overwhelming sweet.
For a beginner to Rum tastings it's perfect.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I tried this neat and quickly added ice. It might be better with soda water (not coke). The rum has a nice flavor and aroma and it would be lost in coke.

Posted about 3 years ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

Tenhle me musel ale zklamat, jemny bez chute, neco jako duff beer.

Posted about 3 years ago by TARIL from France with 25 ratings

Bon rhum fruité limite florale avec un final marquant mais court, rapport qualité/prix trop élevé en France.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

Sin querer me tope con este clásico de costo medio ofrece equilibrio en calidad precio

Posted over 3 years ago by Venelin Gochkov from Bulgaria with 1 rating

This is the most wonderful rum which I drank. Unfortunately I of Bulgaria will not be able to buy it.




#