Posting your rating...
Siesta Key Spiced rum

Siesta Key Spiced

United States | Spiced

Siesta Key Spiced rum, a version of their Silver Rum that’s infused with natural spices and added honey for sweetness and flavor. Bottled at 70 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.7/10 (29 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
4
6
6
5

Rate Siesta Key Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


29 Siesta Key Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

Tasty spiced rum from Florida. Very good choice especially for low $$ . Strong pumpkin spices along with cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and allspice. Finished with some vanilla and honey. Sweet but not overly sweet and still maintains a natural taste unlike some spiced rums. I still prefer Brinley Shipwreck Gold but this is most definitely worth keeping on hand .

In the Mouth 50/60

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

While I'm not a big fan of spiced rums, this one is the best I've tried. It's made with all natural spices, not as sweet as other spiced rums and the flavor reminded me a little of ginger bread. I've rated this among all the rums I've tried but if I were to rate spiced rums on their own, I'd give this a solid 10. My friend who shared it with me said he made egg nog with it that turned out great.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

... and I've done a lot of "research". For that guy who started on Captain Morgan in college, then grew to enjoy some of the finer things in life, this is a great way to go back to my roots. A local rum made in Florida that is hands-down my favorite spiced rum. For those critical of the sweeter rums, this one isn't for you. They don't hide the fact that they add honey with the spices before aging, but the final result is worth it. You can pick out the honey, clove, and nutmeg, and at 70% abv, it's pretty smooth. Use in anything you would have used the Cap'n to kick it up a notch. I like it with Coke and lime.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Superbly drinkable, like a gingerbread cookie in a glass. One of the best spiced rums I have had. You don't even have to drink it, just smell it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Wow. It's not often that you find a spiced rum that hasn't been sugared beyond reason. This one is definitely not too sweet. That's the good news.

The less-good news is that it has more nutmeg than a spice hut in the Banda Islands. In other words, too much. Nevertheless, it has garnered some great reviews here. Maybe it's me. Actually, with all the extra nutmeg, this rum might shine in a Painkiller. Definitely worth a try.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

All of the fall spices are present, with cinnamon and nutmeg up front. Eggnog and coffee based drinks should work well, probably works well in food recipes too.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

Smelling this instantly reminded me of pumpkin pie! It's actually ok for a flavored rum, and I think pumpkin pie goes a lot better with rum than some of the other flavors I've tried (grape, lemon, etc). Still, I'm not as big a fan of the flavored rums as I am the traditional aged rums.

Smells and tastes of pumpkin pie, with nutmeg, cinnamon, brown sugar, and vanilla, this is definitely a decent rum. But I'm rating it against all rums, not just flavored rums (this is currently categorized as a 'spiced rum', but I believe it should be a 'flavored rum', though that doesn't effect my rating.)

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Kind of ironic that I try this spiced rum less than a week before Thanksgiving. It definitely smells and tastes of pumpkin spice (nice nutmeg). Very smooth rum with good after-warmth. Never a harsh burn. Thanksgiving is the perfect time to use this as a sipping rum and in Thanksgiving-themed mixers. Pumpkin punch anyone? Doesn't work as well in colas IMHO but does make for a unique combination. Siesta Key rum is made in small batches at a family-run distillery in Sarasota, Florida which happens to be about 12 miles from Siesta Key, Florida (initially I erroneously thought Siesta Key was somewhere between Miami and Key West). This rum has won awards and I understand why. Very good stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

good mixed with coke although does have a strong honey and spice aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted about 6 years ago by lmolinajr from United States with 17 ratings

If there's a rum to have in your collection,this is one of them.made in copper pot still.You can really taste the molasses made from florida sugarcane.Excellent for sipping or with cola.They now offer tours of the distillary.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

I think clove, all spice and just a touch of cinnamon as I smell and start to taste this wonderful rum. Last night I thought I had found a top spiced rum in the Brinley Shipwrecked and now this; it is truly better, more spice less sweet. Only negative is that as a sipper it has a a bit more alcohol burn on the tongue than I like.

A very unique rum that rises to a level of greatness...