Posting your rating...

7.8/10 (32 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
16
6
1

Rate HSE XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 HSE XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by fifonlaideur from France with 25 ratings

On est rarement déçu chez HSE et ce XO le confirme

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 57 ratings

Der H.S.E. (Habitation Saint Etienne) Extra View XO ist ein Agricole Blend aus Martinique. Die genutzten Destillate durften zwischen 10 - 50 Jahre in Eichenholz Fässern lagern. Anschließend wurde er mit 43% Trink Stärke abgefüllt. Der Agricole Rhum hat natürlich keine Zusatzstoffe. Der dunkle Rhum kommt in einer schlichten aber sehr hochwertigen Flasche. Der Korken sitzt mal so richtig fest.

Im Glas macht der Rhum einen absolut hochwertigen Eindruck. Schwer läuft er am Glas entlang und zieht schöne Schlieren. In der Nase ist er einer der besten Rhums die ich bisher hatte. Leicht und frisch gibt er fruchtige Noten wieder. Grasig mit süßer Mokka Note und etwas Würze kommen mit der Zeit mehr Holz Noten durch. Auch etwas Nuss und Rauch schwingen mit. Einfach toll und vielschichtig. Am Gaumen ist der Rhum sehr intensiv. Trocken entfalten sich starke Eichen, Tabak und Rauch Noten. Hier kommt Bourbon Feeling auf. Eingefangen wird es durch eine sehr angenehme leichte blumige Süße. Vanille und Würze wie Muskat und Pfeffer sind dabei. Absolut vollmundig kommt der Abgang mit einer leichten warmen Schärfe und hinterlässt eine angenehme Fassnote im Mund. Rauch und Holz mit einem leichten Vanille Aroma bleiben lange bestehen. Absolut geil. Einfach lecker.

Für mich einer der besten Rhums die ich bisher getrunken habe. Und mit 65 Euro durchaus bezahlbar. Der H.S.E. zeigt wie viel Power und Potential im Agricole liegt. Für mich eine absolute Bereicherung und die perfekte Abwechselung zum Melasse Rum. Sollte jeder mal probieren der es trocken und komplex mag. Die Süßrum Trinker sollten vielleicht erst einmal probieren. Für Bourbon Trinker die perfekte Abwechslung. Absolut Top.

The H.S.E. (Habitation Saint Etienne) Extra View XO is an Agricole Blend from Martinique. The used distillates are stored in oak barrels for between 10 - 50 years. It is bottled with 43% drinking strength. The Agricole Rhum, of course, has no additives. The dark rhum comes in a simple but very high-quality bottle. The cork is really stuck.

In the glass, the Rhum makes an absolutely high-quality impression. He walks heavy along the glass and pulls beautiful streaks. In the nose he is one of the best Rhums I have had so far. Light and fresh, it reproduces fruity notes. Grassy with sweet mocca note and some spice come through. Over time he evolves more wood notes. Also some nut and smoke resonate. Simply great and multi-layered. On the palate, the Rhum is very intense. Dry, strong oak, tobacco and smoke notes unfold. This is where Bourbon Feeling comes in. It is captured by a very pleasant light floral sweetness. Vanilla and seasoning such as nutmeg and pepper are included. Absolutely full-bodied, the finish comes with a slight warm sharpness and leaves a pleasant barrel note in the mouth. Smoke and wood with a slight vanilla aroma persist for a long time. Absolutely awesome. Simply delicious.

For me, one of the best rhums I've drunk so far. And at 65 euros quite affordable. The H.S.E. shows how much power and potential lies in the Agricole. For me an absolute enrichment and the perfect change to the molasses rum. Should everyone try who likes it dry and complex. The sweet rum drinkers should perhaps try a sample first. For bourbon drinkers the perfect variety. Absolutely top.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Francois from France with 83 ratings

Well I would have like to give 8,5, and I should probably lower my other aged agricole accordingly for not giving a 9.

Anyway about tasting, the nose is perfect, very balanced between the grass of the rum and the vanilla+smoke from the barrel.

Instead In the mouth I feel the smoke to be overpowering. I think I just prefer white agricole than aged one, cast and grass don’t match for me but that is very personal. And actually I’m at my second tasting and already like it more so I may revise my note later.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 164 ratings

This one smells like bad cognac (VS or VSOP) but explodes with fantastic flavours in your mouth and there is the anis the most significant. Undoubtedly a real good Agricole and one of my favourites.
Picture: My shelf of single bottles from Martinique distilleries & My opened bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by laurent from France with 42 ratings

Je ne suis pas fan de rhum agricole en général mais celui-là m'a bien plu. Assez boisé au nez comme en bouche, puissance aromatique intéressante malgré ses petits 43°. En plus le prix est correct pour ce type de rhum.
Du coup je serais curieux d'essayer un brut de fût de chez eux...

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Marco from Belgium with 22 ratings

Strong rhum with dense taste, fire in your mouth at first then some sweet vanilla taste, along wit caramel and wood.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by cesar from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Agressif odeur de dissolvant, en bouche ces Sec, piquant, poivree, un rhum fort a boire qui demande conaissance, dans la pure lignee des rhums martiniquais.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Jerry Gitany from France with 22 ratings

Nice amber color, very smooth with some notes of tobacco and spices like nutmeg and black pepper.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by PineWood from Belgium with 14 ratings

Nose of oak and rancio, reminding of old cognac. Strong taste, very dry, a bit oaky. This will appeal to cognac drinkers, if you like your rum a bit sweet this will taste too harsh. I did not detect vegetal agricole notes. I liked it.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Sousou85 from France with 40 ratings

Bon rhum avec arome caramel belle longueur en bouche. Assez graz et petite acidité en bouche.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Michelud972 from Martinique with 4 ratings

Magnifique xo de chez HSE. Proche du vsop qui est sublime également. Ces rhums sont l'oeuvre d'un magnifique travail. Il est complexe, sans être désagréable à la première gorgée (bouchée). Une valeur sûre avec un bon rapport qualité prix