Posting your rating...
Cacique 500 Gran Reserva rum

Rate Cacique 500 Gran Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


64 Cacique 500 Gran Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Surprised me at the first sip. Gives the impression of being much stronger than it is. The first impression is quite raw, but mellows afterwards. Nice sweet taste, but not on a par with many other superb Venezuelan rums. The price however is quite good for the quality.

Posted about 4 years ago by Carlos from United States with 24 ratings

Had tasted much more better rums from Venezuela, is not mild enough / too strict and rather sprittig .

Posted about 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

This venezuelian rum is to me, like all the venezuelian rums I tasted until now (Diplomatico or Santa Teresa) a very smooth and sweet rum! Excellent!

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 37 ratings

Very smooth, caramel taste, excellent for your “every day rum”... the only problem is you cannot see when you are running out as the bottle is too dark!!!

Posted at Restaurante El Velero 4 months ago by Pacorro from Spain with 40 ratings

En boca se nota esa fuerza del ron y las notas dulces y melosas, pero persiste el alcohol haciendo que aunque no disgusta tampoco me ageade tanto, no lo usaría para combinar y por los 14'50 € me parece buena opción.

Posted 4 months ago by Rob from Netherlands with 19 ratings

Nice dark color, light smell, first taste is a bit harsh but after a smooth sweet taste and a strong alcohol aftertaste. Over all nothing special.

Posted 6 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Despues de probarlo, pensaba que era una version mejorada del matarratas añejo.
Como una muerte dulce y placida.

Nada mas lejos de la realidad... fruta y jerez con tonos a frutos secos muy bien estructurado y equilibrado.

Sorpredente.

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

What a terrible Rum! The first sip made me spit it out immediately. Even the smell was terrible for me. It made me think of the days when I was sick and my mother gave me that horrible medicine! This one is not for me!!

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

It is a Venezuelan, fairly cheap and made with sweeteners and essences, I'd guess.

Posted 9 months ago by Pacorro from Spain with 27 ratings

Yo encuentro que le falta algo de maduración para que sea algo más suave y meloso, pero me gusta

Posted 9 months ago by VascoF from Portugal with 5 ratings

Good taste, not to sweet, a bit spicy. I want more

Posted 12 months ago by marcdeerenberg from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Unfortunately this brand only has 2 rums for sale in Europe.
Love this Venezuelan deliciousness.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rei from Germany with 98 ratings

Tried this molasse based rum in Spain. Nice presence of toffee, vanilla and caramel aroma in the nose. Palate builds up on this with only minor burn. Fruity notes of overripe banana and walnuts. Good and lasting finish. In my opinion quite fair price-value level.

Posted over 1 year ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Toffee, coffee, dark brown sugar.
-
At the same level as Havana 7,
a pleasant taste of coffee,
is not ideal to drink smooth, good for cocktails.

Posted over 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

Me recuerda un poco al Cartavio 12, aunque con menos aroma y sabor. Es un ron para tomarlo acompañado. Personalmente no me gustó mucho.

Posted over 1 year ago by Berger from France with 28 ratings

beaucoup trop sucré a mon gout, facile a boire mais pas complexe

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dries from Belgium with 15 ratings

A friend bought this in a supermarket in Spain during our vacation there.
There was not much rum to choose from, but it was meant to be empty after one night anyway...
Like someone here said: "The 500 Gran Reserva has a strong burn and not a whole lot of distinct flavors."
I agree... and on top of that I have to say the bottle is really boring and ugly.
It was quite cheap, so I guess that's something.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

Nice spiciness and very smooth in my opinion. No alcoholic smell.
But >30€ are too expensive. If you get it cheaper and like spicy rums I would recommend it.
The bottle has an integrated measure pourer.

Posted about 2 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Zum Mischen kann man ihn nehmen, pure eher nicht. nicht mein Fall

Posted about 2 years ago by Carles Latorre from United States with 15 ratings

Used to drink it when I was young mixed with anything I could get my hands on. good memories, regular taste

Posted over 2 years ago by Nelson Echeverry from Colombia with 5 ratings

I liked this rum, the balance cost/quality is very good. The bottle has a mate looking that I liked. the bad part is that you can't see the rum through the bottle.

Posted over 2 years ago by Alejandro from Spain with 22 ratings

High sugar content, very sweet then, and notes of pastry, chocolate and caramel.

Posted over 2 years ago by Alejo from Argentina with 29 ratings

the hint of honey/measels made me love this rum. Excelent on the rocks, no complaints. Great Venezuelian spririt.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas Br. from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Feel chocolate, firstly stronger then it is. For this price good rum.




#