Posting your rating...
Owney's Original rum

Owney's Original

United States | Light

Owney’s Original rum, a blend of their Distiller’s Reserve Rum and an imported Dominican rum that’s been aged two years. The two rums are blended at still proof and cask strength, respectively, and then diluted to 80 proof with filtered New York City tap water.

via American Rum Report

6.1/10
14 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
2
4
1
1

Rate Owney's Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Owney's Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Started off with usual layers of vegetal notes, spirit-y and raw oiliness from new distillates. Some sweet cane notes and vanilla but override by huge scents of ammonia, linen soaked with spoil milk (a much polite expression from my original note of this particular odor, which would be disrespect to the distiller), egg-y with hue of yeasty, off putting, unpleasant to the nose. (10/25)

P- Suplury and chemical, stiff cedar with scents of tobacco. Smooth but emotionless, thought there are some hints of estery notes with peppery coming thru as it sits on palate. (14/25)

F- Short, burning spirits kicks in. Much needed and desired young mango, sour milk and nutty notes appeared just to pleased a little. (15/25)

Balanced:- Raw with some quality notes, but vastly masked by impurities and flaws. A young crafted distillery, patient may be needed for further perfection. (14/25)

Weighted Rate:- 53pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by dml247 from United States with 5 ratings

Vanilla finish. Would be good for a cocktail or shooter.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by eadrn from United States with 49 ratings

Another of the would-try-a-new-one-before-buying-ag8n.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 30 ratings

Overall not bad for the price. Pretty decent for a white rum

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

For Cuba libre ok. .

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

5-5.5 on my scale. Sweeter and less strong of an after burn than I would have thought for an American light rum. Still better mixed though. Despite the RR Bottle Image, the one I have is purple- bonus!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

It's a really surprising experience, not too bad actually. sweet smell, very soft.

Small img 5797

Posted over 1 year ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 192 ratings

ochutnáno v sérii celkově průměrných rumů kde mohl vyniknout...
čirá barva určitě překvapí. rád jsem ochutnal
méně výrazná vůně, sladší chut...nedokázal jsem rozpoznat po jednom panáku
7,5/10

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

This is super good. I am a dark rum guy and maybe i just like their marketing but dis shit tastes delicious. I kind of want to put this in a waterbottle and take it to.. everywhere

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by ReclaimedCedar from United States with 10 ratings

The bottle design and label are extremely clever and the way that it’s marketed definitely caught my interest. But it was extremely expensive and had a truly terrible smell that overwhelmed the flavor itself. Overall, disappointing.