Posting your rating...
La Favorite La Flibuste rum

Rate La Favorite La Flibuste

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


66 La Favorite La Flibuste ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Eric from Thailand with 13 ratings

A great rum, smooth and complex with a long finish, a bit overpriced but you forget it after the first sip ...

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

First of all, I need to post a disclaimer/qualifier that I'm NOT a big fan of agricole rhums. I thought at best I'd rate this rhum a high '8'. But this is truly a fabulous agricole. To me, it's right on the border of a high '9' and a low '10', and since I'm not a fan of agricole, I'll call it a '10'. Date on the cork says 1985 (is it really that old?)

Tastes like an agricole, but sweeter than most. Smells and tastes like it was aged in fine wine (though it says it was aged in cognac, which of course is also grape based). Also has notes of licorice, spice, sugar cane, oak, and prunes. I really enjoy this, and finally found a truly great agricole!

Posted about 4 years ago by Jeff from Canada with 10 ratings

Wow wow wow, le bonheur est dans la bouteille quelque une de prise au passage des années, un goût improbable, une balance entre le rhum sucre les tannins les épices, une puissance en bouche et une souplesse en arrière goût, c'est la boisson des anges...

Posted about 3 years ago by eulalio torices from Spain with 23 ratings

Me arriesgué mucho al comprarlo pues no había tenido la oportunidad de probarlo y el precio es bastante alto pero la verdad es que ha merecido la pena. Muchas notas a frutas tropicales y sabor potente para un agrícola de los mejores del planeta.

Posted over 3 years ago by Gregory Anderson from United States with 3 ratings

Tried the 1987 at the Distillery and I'm so thankful I was able to bring home 2 bottles. I'm an avid bourbon drinker and this is still maybe the best old aged liquor I've ever tasted.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

Wouaw , this one is clearly on my short list ! I have discovered this one last week end and I can not stop thinking about buying one since then. What a thing ! Sweet and fruity, this rhum is really amazing.
The only problem is the limited production but when you love something .... ;-)
From my pov, this one is really a high end rhum !!!

Posted over 4 years ago by Bob from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Just opened a bottle of the 1985. Dark, almost viscous but with a great aroma and wonderful from the first sip.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Visited the La Favorite distillery while vacationing in Martinique. Open tasting bar. Sturdy box surrounding an old school bottle and label design. It took me a good 20 minutes to crack the wax seal open after buying a bottle from the distillery at EUR 127, and let me tell you, its worth every penny and then some! Super deep mahogany color very rarely seen in Rhum Agricole. Prunes, grapes, liquorice and oak all well balanced with Rhum Agricole grassy notes to the nose and palate. No burn at all. Surprisingly sweet for a Rhum Agricole. Simply spectacular! Additional experience with 1985 edition is even smoother than 1991-1993 editions I have tried before.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 8
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 14
20/100 Palate test 19
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 14
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 3
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 83

Posted almost 2 years ago by Juan from Peru with 12 ratings

This rum is the best of the best, I have tried several rums but this is wonderful during the smell and in the mouse it gives soft flavor but richer test, it is wonderful.

Posted about 2 years ago by Peter from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Once you're looking for the best rum, La favor is the right choice. Even after visiting the factory and verifying the storage I have only to recommend its excellent taste. Taste matured many years for jewel of rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thierry from France with 63 ratings

Cuvée 1991 pour moi mais j'ai l'impression que c'est pareil pour toutes les versions. Ce que j'ai bu de plus incroyable jusqu'à présent. Fort et doux, intense et subtil, un concentré d’arômes. La boisson des grands soirs.

Posted about 2 years ago by Marco Forlani from Italy with 20 ratings

Just came back from a trip to Martinique, where I’ve got the chance to visit all the distilleries. There’s no rhum like this. The flavour is rich and complex like all the agricole rhum but the taste is surprisingly sweet and delicate. The best rhum in the world.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I tasted the 1986 version of this beautiful rum coming from Martinique. Very pronounced notes of candied fruit. With grapes and prunes. Very sweet with lots of character and a nice complexity. This rum emerges in the final notes of licorice and vanilla. Great work. A great value. You absolutely must have a bottle of this brand in your bar !

Posted over 4 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Cette cuvée 2015 est un mélange de rhums de 30 ans d'âge.
Bouteille : design très classique, col cacheté à la cire, dommage qu'on ne puisse voir la couleur du rhum.
Odeur : très douce, dominante de fruits confits.
Goût : un vrai nectar, fruité (pruneau), boisé, un bel équilibre entre la puissance du rhum agricole et la douceur des épices.
Finale, très longue, avec un petit goût de réglisse.
Un rhum exceptionnel à un tarif prohibitif.
A essayer si vous en avez l'occasion.

Posted about 2 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 250 ratings

Aroma is nice and warm with anise and gingerbread. Taste is warm pleasant wirh same anise, plum and honey and many other tones. You can identify also typical agricole tones, but here are nicely rounded and not annoiyng. Definitely the BEST agricole I have tasted! I was so lucky to get the testing sample - very rare bottle.

Posted 12 months ago by jomalu from Australia with 3 ratings

Agricoles are usually not high up on my list. But this one is spectacular. Dripping with complexity, almost chewy. I’d go as far as saying it has rancio-like qualities. If you get a chance just try it. It’s worth it.

Posted about 1 year ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 33 ratings

This rare bottle contains some of the sweetest, smoothest Rhum known to man. Amazing mahogany coloring!!Think Diplomatic Ambassador kicked up a notch but less thick and even smoother. It has a unique taste of prunes,apple and mango with a variety of spices a smooth taste combined with an ultra long finish that blows your mouth away. Totally awesome. I’d probably give this an 11 on a scale of 1 to 10.

Posted about 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

I tried this amazing rhum at the famous Rum Bar in the beautiful Whitsunday Isles in North Queensland. Wow , where do I start ? A 1982 bottle according to the cork. Dark stone fruit colour on pouring with the aroma filling the air..
So many things going on in there.. love the cognac taste , soft , fills your mouth with rich fruits , beautiful.. theres no hurry to swallow at all.
No burn , just a velvety exit.
A rare joy to taste.. my first agricole that was amazing.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 63 ratings

Crazy charater rhum. So complex, yet punchy at the same time. Figs, vanilla, chocolate, mousse, orange, tiramisu, coco etc.

Have visited the habitation twice - bought a 1991 blend in 2013, and a current one in 2019.

1991 one is sweeter, more calm, while the current blend is more spicy, puncy yet having all the complexity and sweetness the 1991 has. It’s rather difficult to justify buying other vieux rhums when you know that this is available. In fact I’m gonna pour a glass of 1991 now!

Absolute goodness!

Posted over 1 year ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

As a present of my wife for Christmas 2017, I opened it after 12 month of waiting Christmas 2018

What a Great Rum!

It is the best I ever tasted!!!!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cuisine from France with 20 ratings

Dégustation de la cuvée 1992 à la distillerie
Très agréable nez qui promet des agréables arômes de fruits confits etune certaine douceur.
En bouche, une belle rondeur et des parfums boisés, de vanille
Un peu sucré même, voire trop sucré pour un rhum français.
Je suis preneur d'avis sur la question suivante : sur la bouteille n'apparaît pas la notion d'AOC. Cela permet t'il d'ajouter un sirop pour transformer ce rhum en liqueur à la manière des Zacapa ou Don papa ?
Ce qui irait dans le sens d'une certaine ressemblance selon les millésimes ?

Suite :
En fait le rhum existe avant les décrets et autres AOC
La favorite et un produit datant d'avant l'obtention de l'AOC.
Apparemment et c'est tout à l'honneur des propriétaires sans trahir leur secret il semblerait que des pruneaux soient macérés. Ce qui apporte toute la rondeur.
L'obtention de l'aoc par la Martinique les a obligés à se débarrasser de l'AOC sur la bouteille.
Cela n'enlève rien à la qualité de ce rhum.

Si par hasard vous allez en Martinique allez visiter cette distillerie : elle vaut le détour pour qui est en quête d'authenticité.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas from France with 1 rating

Un produit magnifique jusqu’en 1988. Date charnière dans la qualité de ce rhum 30 ans

Posted about 3 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Il n y a rien a dire...quand je l ai gouté pour la premiere dois j ai etais surpris.c est le seul rhum agricole qui a cette sucrosité tout en gardant une complexite et une longueur en bouche incroyable.on se rapproche un peu d un opthimus 25 ans mais avec la richesse aromatique d un rhum agricole.genial que du plaisir.a 115 e en 2017 , c est un produit d exception qui vaut son prix.en metropole il est toutefois trop cher .il y a une vraie demande sur place et a l internationnnal.ils sont un peu depasses en terme de quantité.si vs pouvez achetez en une, c est mon deuxime rhum prefere derriere leur cuvee 1995.que du plaisir en bouche......

Posted 12 days ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

I would have never thought, that I would have been able to taste this one. I have heard so much about it, but I was never able to find a bottle on the Danish rum market, so when the chance to taste the unique rum came, I was quick to say yes.

Nose: Wood, pepper, baking spices, intense caramel and a slight fruity acidity
Taste: Vanilla, cinnamon, caramel, honey, dried bananas and wood with a long and complex aftertaste that lingers for a very long time
Overall: It is really hard to describe how fantastic this rum is. It will please the biggest lover of agricole, but at the same time also please people who swear off agricole. It packs so much flavor even though it is only 40abv. If they ever release a cask strength edition of this it might be the first one to truly deserve a 11/10. Fantastic rum.

Posted about 2 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 218 ratings

- vůně velmi sladká, mléčné karamelky, vanilka, ovoce
- chuť sladká, přechází v jemnou hořkost, konec opět nasládlý, travnatý




#