Posting your rating...
English Harbour 1981 25-Year rum

English Harbour 1981 rum was produced in Antigua in 2006 after maturing 25 years in used whisky and bourbon barrels.

In 1932 a handful of rum shop owners came together to form a distillery called 'The Antigua Distillery' which produces English Horbour 1981 rum. The distillery produces rum using it's own proprietary high quality molasses called muscovado molasses.

Rate English Harbour 1981 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


33 English Harbour 1981 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by LHS from Canada with 11 ratings

Like a good scotch, adding very little pure water opens it right up. Then it continues to open as it sits in the glass. A tasting of this rum just gets better and better until the rum is gone and I find myself licking the inside of the glass. A very special experience.

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

This is the best rum tasted so far, and is a part of my top five list together with Appleton Joy, El dorado 25, Zafra 30 and my Agricole favourite, Clement Cuvée Speciale.
I buy every bottle that I can if the price is reasonable. As I read somewhere, “if you got the chance to buy a bottle, don’t miss it”.
Pictures: My collection of EH1981 & My ADL shelf together with some Jamaican and Bajan rums.

Posted about 5 years ago by Prter Dreier from Denmark with 18 ratings

Tried this rum at a tasting session last night. Great nose and palette.
This rum should enjoyed over long time.
Rum alone could be a 9, but the prize is just to large to be overlooked.

Posted about 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

If you buy and love rum add this to your wish list to add to your collection.

I am still in awe. This is awesome, it's so smooth, this is something that you have for a special occasion such as a graduation or arrival of a new born, drink this only with your closest family or friends as this is truly awesome. Unless you want to treat yourself.

It's so smooth, it's unbelievable, no afterburn on the way down either.

The packaging is awesome too. My bottle what's left is 2269 I'm going to get another one for sure. This to date is my favourite.

Posted about 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

En rom der virkelig oser af klasse, man kan virkelig smage de 25 år på fad, dejlig kompleks, dog ikke så meget sødme, men i dette tilfælde er det heller ikke det der stræbes efter her. En luxus nyder rom, der er forholdsvis dyr, derfor kun:
Et genkøb hvis pengepungen siger ok.

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I first had this in Antigua after we toured the distillery. My wife just bought me a bottle for Christmas. It's my favorite sipping rum of all.

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

- vůně velmi příjemná, ovoce, vanilka a čokoláda
- chuť nasládlá, citrusové plody, pomeranč, zakončení dlouhé s příchutí rybízu
další vynikající, jen ta cena...

Posted 7 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Happy Halloween starts with English Harbour 1981 25y rum while there is a snow blizzard in Chicago. Pretty nice and unique bottle and label design, but not drastically different from the traditional English Harbour rums. Bright golden color. Plenty of dry oak mixed with a lot of caramel, butterscotch, vanilla and burnt sugar to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Nose tells you there is some alcohol, but the taste buds are overwhelmed with the sweetness. Solid 9, but not enough special to earn a ten in my books.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Overpriced. For the sweetened mix it is. If only they would have allowed it to show some greatness, now it is masked by a sweet layer that takes away flavours. Crap - for this price, really?!! Sherried, fruity - and unfortunately suffering from an overpowering sweetness.

Posted 10 months ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Das ist ein absoluter Spitzen Rum. Genau meine Wellenlänge!

Posted about 1 year ago by Siegert from Trinidad and Tobago with 2 ratings

It has a great opening and a fantastic finish. Must have.

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

smell is similar to cask 1623, with pears and apples etc. on the nose, very pleasant. The taste is absolutely amazing, very smooth. Definitely one of the top rums I've ever had my life! 98+

Posted almost 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

One of the deepest noses I've come across. Subtle vanilla, caramel, whiskey tones come through softly.
The tongue carries a uniqueness in that, to me at least, it's an aggressive smoothness. Starts with the flavours from the nose, carries to a deep brown sugar mid flavour accented with deep oak and smoke tones. Carries out to a spice finish on the tip of the tongue. This rum is the first I've come across that it's tasting experience is likened to an art show. Like a cresting wave that crashes on the palate. Incredibly tasty. An absolute must try at the very least for any rum fanatic.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cameron from Australia with 19 ratings

Must have for serious collectors, though is getting harder to find. My bottle is number 1922 out of 5712 produced.Serious aromas, let it sit for a while and it will open up. Sweet, Very Complex, yet so smooth. Rum Perfection!

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 15 gpl. The flavours in this rum are so well balanced that none of the vanilla, butterscotch, almond, wood, and baking spices stand out. Extremely smooth with no burn at all. This rum seems to disappear on your palate leaving you with a pleasant warmth. It’s so easy drinking that the rum seems to disappear and that’s a shame given the price and rarity of this rum. I tasted this in a flight that included El Dorado 25 and for that reason I give this a 9 out of 10.

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

For three years, this rum was on my list as a rum to taste among the best of those I had been advised to try.
With a beautiful light gold color, the nose is very pastry with butter, almonds, and vanilla. It's very complex. On the palate, we find this pastry side with always butter, honey, it is an extreme sweetness. A true delight ! The final is super long and soft on floral notes that remind me of wisteria with a light woody side. It is a wonder. Glad to have one of these bottles in my bar.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

A very interesting rum, impressive taste, good finish, a lot of wood.

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Had this in the Cayman Islands and was very impressed. Warm and sweet, with hints of molasses and the woodsy flavor of the casks.

Posted over 5 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

I'm a fan of the EH5 and got to try this at the Boutique Rumfest. It reminded me of why I love Rum. Layers of complexity and depth underpinned by smoke, fruit and brown sugar. One of the best Rums that I've tried.

Posted 17 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

First off I hate that I can’t buy this anymore. I found a bottle 4 hours away and actually went and bought it as I love this rum. So far this is the only rum I have put down as a ten

Posted 7 months ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 19 ratings

I was given a taste of this superb rum. Wow. One of the best I have ever had. A definite 10.

Posted over 2 years ago by Louis M from United States with 16 ratings

I tried this Rum in an Annapolis rum bar and it was fantastic. I was blown away by its balance. It was nearly perfect . It has all the elements of a great and memorable spirit. Up to that point I enjoyed Bourbon until I drank this neat with a drop of water and the results were life changing as I abandoned the Bourbon ship and entered the rum world. I do not own a bottle but wish I did . This is up to this point the best I’ve ever tasted and has led me to many other Guyana Rums. If you love rum you must try this and I emphasize the word must.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom Buckley from United States with 1 rating

Great rum but between the price and the difficulty to find I’m torn on another bottle.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Peter from United States with 25 ratings

Birthday present from the wife, we were married in Antigua and 1981 was her Birthday so she splashed out the $400 for a bottle. Very nice, but like others have stated, not THAT much better than a $150 bottle of El-dorado or similar