Posting your rating...
Real McCoy 5-Year rum

Real McCoy 5-Year

Barbados | Gold

The Real McCoy is a blend of rum produced from the distillation of blackstrap molasses, using a combination of both column and pot stills. The rum is aged for 5 years in Kentucky bourbon barrels, then blended with Bajan spring water.

The Real McCoy rum's heritage is based on the story of Bill McCoy, the pioneer rum runner of the prohibition era. McCoy fueled the Roaring Twenties by delivering over 2 million bottles by sea to New York speakeasies. He became well known for always delivering undiluted alcohol, unlike other rum runners who cut the liquor with prune juice, wood alcohol, or even turpentine, That is why he and his product became known as "The Real McCoy."

6.6/10 (37 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
12
9
2

Rate Real McCoy 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


37 Real McCoy 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 426 ratings

This review maybe influenced by the fact that the Vegas selection of rum is appalling ... Even in the mirage at a place called the rhumabar it's pretty standard selection
.. however back to the rum .. decent no's e on it of a dry rum that has hints of smokiness but not too overpowering ..

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

.....this is an expensive rum, and to me, not better. I prefer the soft oaky balance of the Doorly's to this one, which has a harsher spirit edge and a dryness that is a little too much for me. There's also a hint of biterness on the finish, that isn't there with the Doorly's. Don't get me wrong, it really isn't a bad rum at all, and it probably does have a touch more sophistication to the Doorly's, but it's just that the Doorly's is so easy to drink.

Also, I never like marketing exercises which this effectively is. The Real McCoy 5yo retails for £30 while the Doorly's 5yo retails for £23. Why would you buy the more expensive Real McCoy when you can get the real McCoy (as labelled and sold by Richard Seale) for less?

EDIT - it is still expensive...same sort of price as the Doorly's 8yo or if a decent place, the 12yo. Now that the bottle has been opened for a while, it is displaying a softer edge from the oak. It is softer than the Doorly's 5yo, and re-evaluating, it is a better rum but I cannot reconcile the price.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I had this after finishing off a bottle of the 12 yr, so this was harsh in comparison. It still had some
Bourbon/brown sugar flavor but not nearly as much as the 12 yr and with a younger harsher bitterness and burn that isn't there with the 12. I won't be getting this one again.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

On the dry side with some burn. The flavors marry well together. Oak, spice and brown sugar with a hint of vanilla and caramel.
This is a nice sipper for the price. This also gets into the price where you probably shouldn't be mixing this good rum.
Looking forward to the 12 year.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Evgenii from Russian Federation with 19 ratings

Typical rum sustained in a barrel of bourbon, with its sweetness in the aftertaste. Dainty, a bit prickly, but already round enough, sweet

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Surprisingly smooth for a 5-year. Naturally sweet (no additives). Beautifully distilled, blended, and aged rum from Foursquare. The price is high in its category, but fair. Tasting the exceptional (and much more expensive) 12-year McCoy side-by-side with this one, there was very little difference. Grab this bottle if you find it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

When this one is sipped it has a strong whiskey-like initial bite. it has flavor but is a bit harsh. It does open up a bit after a "few".

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Let me talk about this rum, It is interesting but is very very not interesting, is a usual rum and nothing.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Joel from United States with 1 rating

What a great rum! having been retell introduced to rums that are not full of sugar and vanilla, I must say this is by far one of the best that I have tasted. Smooth with oaky overtones that sips like the finest bourbons that I have tried. Definitely will be enjoyed by whisky drinkers and rum drinkers alike.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Starts with oak and spice, finishes with burnt sugar. Very smooth. Really tasty straight up, especially after you let it breathe in the glass for a minute. Probably an excellent mixer, but it's delicious as is. Ice? No thanks.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 67 ratings

Nothing overly spectacular. Just a very solid, aged blend. Great price point. Great for mixing, okay for sipping.