Posting your rating...
Real McCoy 5-Year rum

The Real McCoy is a blend of rum produced from the distillation of blackstrap molasses, using a combination of both column and pot stills. The rum is aged for 5 years in Kentucky bourbon barrels, then blended with Bajan spring water.

The Real McCoy rum's heritage is based on the story of Bill McCoy, the pioneer rum runner of the prohibition era. McCoy fueled the Roaring Twenties by delivering over 2 million bottles by sea to New York speakeasies. He became well known for always delivering undiluted alcohol, unlike other rum runners who cut the liquor with prune juice, wood alcohol, or even turpentine, That is why he and his product became known as "The Real McCoy."

Rate Real McCoy 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


36 Real McCoy 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

This is light on the nose and goes down easy. I poured it neat, and it had a light but intoxicating aroma with hints of the molasses and barrel aging and a very subtle sweetness like banana. You have to be careful to not inhale too deeply to try to find more, as you'll just get more of the vapor and burn your nose. Step away, and come back to enjoy the light bouquet.

The first sip is smooth, and leaves you wanting more. It has a subtle oakiness that fills your mouth with flavor, but doesn't hit you over the head with it. It leaves behind a subtle sweetness that could make for a good crossover rum for enthusiasts who enjoy sweeter rums (like Diplomatico), but want to be able to enjoy something without the additives. It's not nearly as sweet as a Diplomatico or a Zaya, but that hint is nice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

.....this is an expensive rum, and to me, not better. I prefer the soft oaky balance of the Doorly's to this one, which has a harsher spirit edge and a dryness that is a little too much for me. There's also a hint of biterness on the finish, that isn't there with the Doorly's. Don't get me wrong, it really isn't a bad rum at all, and it probably does have a touch more sophistication to the Doorly's, but it's just that the Doorly's is so easy to drink.

Also, I never like marketing exercises which this effectively is. The Real McCoy 5yo retails for £30 while the Doorly's 5yo retails for £23. Why would you buy the more expensive Real McCoy when you can get the real McCoy (as labelled and sold by Richard Seale) for less?

EDIT - it is still expensive...same sort of price as the Doorly's 8yo or if a decent place, the 12yo. Now that the bottle has been opened for a while, it is displaying a softer edge from the oak. It is softer than the Doorly's 5yo, and re-evaluating, it is a better rum but I cannot reconcile the price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I had this after finishing off a bottle of the 12 yr, so this was harsh in comparison. It still had some
Bourbon/brown sugar flavor but not nearly as much as the 12 yr and with a younger harsher bitterness and burn that isn't there with the 12. I won't be getting this one again.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

On the dry side with some burn. The flavors marry well together. Oak, spice and brown sugar with a hint of vanilla and caramel.
This is a nice sipper for the price. This also gets into the price where you probably shouldn't be mixing this good rum.
Looking forward to the 12 year.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Evgenii from Russian Federation with 19 ratings

Typical rum sustained in a barrel of bourbon, with its sweetness in the aftertaste. Dainty, a bit prickly, but already round enough, sweet

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Surprisingly smooth for a 5-year. Naturally sweet (no additives). Beautifully distilled, blended, and aged rum from Foursquare. The price is high in its category, but fair. Tasting the exceptional (and much more expensive) 12-year McCoy side-by-side with this one, there was very little difference. Grab this bottle if you find it.

Posted over 3 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

When this one is sipped it has a strong whiskey-like initial bite. it has flavor but is a bit harsh. It does open up a bit after a "few".

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Let me talk about this rum, It is interesting but is very very not interesting, is a usual rum and nothing.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joel from United States with 1 rating

What a great rum! having been retell introduced to rums that are not full of sugar and vanilla, I must say this is by far one of the best that I have tasted. Smooth with oaky overtones that sips like the finest bourbons that I have tried. Definitely will be enjoyed by whisky drinkers and rum drinkers alike.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Starts with oak and spice, finishes with burnt sugar. Very smooth. Really tasty straight up, especially after you let it breathe in the glass for a minute. Probably an excellent mixer, but it's delicious as is. Ice? No thanks.

Posted 9 days ago by chuck from United States with 15 ratings

Very smooth and easy to drink. Great in all drinks and straight.

Posted 2 months ago by Brt1982 from United States with 10 ratings

The nose tasty and pretty smoth but finishes hard with a real oak burn.

Posted 4 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

For me, nothing really to write home about. When sipped neat, the flavours have little depth, but are pleasant, with nothing offensive going on, a pleasant burn and more dry than un-natuarlly sweet, so that is good. Definitely not a bad Rum, but not very exciting either.

Posted 4 months ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

Smooth aroma, softly sweet, a mixture of molasses, brown sugar, spices (cinnamon, and ????) and warming alcohol.
The aroma transfers into the flavor but not quite as smooth. Softly sweet molasses, hints of vanilla and oak. Quite a bit of char from the barrels makes it a bit course and bitter. The bitter and numbing character carries on through for a long bitter finish and subdues any other soft nuances that may be there.
The body is a bit lighter than I expected.
Overall a competent rum. Not in a league with the 12 year Real McCoy which is much more refined, complex, smoother and a far superior rum.
At $27 not priced badly but in this class there are other rums that fill the bill with better value.
Mixed in a simple Barbados rum punch the rum does shine and comes forward better than say a Mount Gay Eclipse ($18) but is on par with the Black Barrel which costs the same and may be a bit smoother.
Worth trying but probably not something I'd keep on hand.

Posted 6 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

Pretty great rum for what it is. Pure rum with no sweeteners, it’s slughtly too oaky but not enough to hinder it

Posted 11 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Refreshing Taste, Sweet Carmel, bitter cocoa after taste.

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

There is a reason it's often a well, it's rum, it has some flavor, but nothing to woo you.

Posted about 1 year ago by stonytokes from United States with 12 ratings

My first Foursquare: I picked this up since it was on clearance for $21.50/750mL at the liquor store and I've been wanting to try it for a while. I tend to prefer Barbados-style rum. Served neat in a rocks glass, I found it to be quite sweet and smooth for an unadulterated rum. I'd be interested to try the 12-year, but considering many reviewers consider it to be unworthy of the extra expense perhaps I'll wait until I can find some at a bar. 7.5

Posted over 1 year ago by Mickcollins1916 from United States with 14 ratings

The bourbon aging really imparts some serious whiskey undertones and a dry boozy bite that I don’t usually seek in my rum.
The complex spiced flavor is overshadowed by the bourbon bite when used as a sipper.
As a mixer in simply cocktails where the rum is well highlighted, it does pretty well. The bite is balanced out nicely and the complexity of the flavors presses through. As a mixer, this is pretty good.

But, as this price point, I expect some smoothness and sipability. This rum has a youthful rawness that makes it less desirable. This rum isn’t bad per se, but there are some better rums for the price.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

I recently purchased two bottles of “The Real McCoy” 5 yr Rum as the 12 yr wasn’t available and WOW, this is a great sipping rum. Should never have doubted it coming from Foursquare Distillery. Richard Seale, whose recipe for the “St-Nicholas Abbey 12 yr Rum got me “hooked” on Rum produces top of the line Rums without adding any sugar or additives, the way Rum was supposed to be. This definitely rivals other Rums that I have rated “9” and deserves a high mark. Can’t wait to taste the 10 and 12 yr versions. Well done Mr. Seale 👍

Posted over 1 year ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

This review maybe influenced by the fact that the Vegas selection of rum is appalling ... Even in the mirage at a place called the rhumabar it's pretty standard selection
.. however back to the rum .. decent no's e on it of a dry rum that has hints of smokiness but not too overpowering ..

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. The Real McCoy 5y rum bottle and label design is very lame and boring. Light golden color. Industrial strength drain cleaner to the nose and palate. Awful burn at the end. Mix it with Coke and down it goes.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Attended a tasting seminar for The Real McCoy at Cardiff Rum Festival on the weekend. Was incredibly well presented telling us of the provenance of the name being of Bill McCoy and rum running schooners.

This is smoky oaky rum that is a perfect pairing partner for cocktails of all types I wouldn't personally drink this as a sipper but it's a decent rum there are better sippers out there for the price

Posted almost 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I wasn't impressed with this. I has it as part of a tasting with many other rums and found this about the worst of the batch. I don't mind dry rums, but this was quite bitter and the oakiness couldn't save it from that. Doorly's is much better.

Posted about 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Ce rhum ne dégage pas beaucoup de goût et de complexité. Il est très doux et pour moi fini avec en rhum and coke. Il n est pas mauvais mais pas wow.