Posting your rating...
Calypso Spiced rum

Rate Calypso Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


9 Calypso Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I'm on a roll, trying all of the rum with a female pirate or sultry woman on the bottle. I put this one a bit above Blackheart, it's fairly smooth, the usual vanilla and a nice looking bottle for the shelf for my swashbuckling drinking friends. Maybe the best rum out of the island nation of Louisville KY. Like I said, baught it for the label, I'll finish it eventually but it won't be my go to mixer.

Posted over 3 years ago by chad from United States with 17 ratings

Say you only have ten dollars on hand and you want to get something to lift your spirits? Your in luck. Calypso is about to do just that. At a relatively cheap price, you can rarely do better. You normally expect a horrid spiced rum at such a low price yet you'll be rewarded with a fine but basic tasting rum. Its nothing special but its not bad either. When swirled it has some nice legs. Better as an ingredient/mixer of course.

Posted over 3 years ago by Patty from United States with 1 rating

We usually drink Admiral Nelson's Spiced Rum but our liquor store was out! Having tried all of the others and most tasted like cough medicine, went for something I hadn't seen before. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. It is very similar to Admiral, vanilla forward with a smooth finish. The flavor was a bit subdued but for the price, you can't go wrong.

Posted about 6 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

This is one of those times I tried to be adventurous and give a new rum a chance, in spite of my better judgement. I was surprised that it wasnt awful. The cheesy packaging worried me, but it wasnt awful. Just another average spiced rum that is a good value. Save it for the guy that everyone knows who can drink jet fuel and be happy.

Posted 10 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Sampled this rum after sampling Oakheart Spiced rum and found th3 flavours to b3 very similar. Not a bad rum but definitely a mixer.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Calypso Spiced Rum bottle and label design looks silly and cheap. Pure alcohol and nasty artificial flavors to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Mix it up for your own sanity.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Not very smooth, but a good bit of vanilla and sweetness to follow.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

It's not horrible, better than Bacardi Gold or Oakheart.

Posted over 2 years ago by Eric Dondero from United States with 3 ratings

Pretty good. I like it. I saw it on the shelf at Spec's. Thought I'd give it a try. I usually drink El Dorado 8 and Myer's Dark, the two rums I give a perfect 10 too. This is on par with Sailor Jerrys. Yes, a bit of vanilla taste. Mixes well with Schwepps Tonic. For the price, wow, you can't beat it. But for a couple extra bucks, El Dorado 8 or Myer's is the best.




#