Posting your rating...
Arcane Extraroma 12-Year rum

Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Mauritius | Aged

Arcane Extraroma is a 12-year old solera rum from Mauritius made from pure cane sugar and aged in French oak barrels.

7.0/10
155 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
5
8
27
50
36
17
8

Rate Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

155 Arcane Extraroma 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Over een ervaring gesproken... Er zullen vast liefhebbers zijn, maar ik ben er nog niet uit.
Zeker niet proeven in een degustatie met meerdere rums, tenzij als laatste.
In de neus ervaar je uitgesproken banaan, maar dan komt een kunstmatig geurtje aanzetten.
In de mond proeft deze Mauritaniër licht houterig, overdreven naar banaan met heftige toetsen van vanille. De smaak geeft mij het gevoel dat deze 'pure cane rum' wat hulp van een laboratorium heeft gekregen. (Velen krijgen die hulp, maar hier proef je het!)
Onder het mom 'je moet alles eens proberen' was dit een leuke ervaring, maar 'not my glass of rum'.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Olivier from France with 2 ratings

absolutely out of our rum planet! Ok, aromas are obvious, but I would say they hit you and bring you down to an easy home made drink or open your mind to the craziest bartending or gastronomy experience!
cheers

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Very interesting rhum to taste. Maritius, if I remember well, used to be French colony before being taken by UK. And it is notable in this rhum as well. Very nice bottle and presentation, but I still cant get rid off feeling that there is added sugar which isnt confirmed by producer. It is made from sugar can, not from molasses, so it is close to rhum agricole

Smell: Rich. Rich and unusual. Cococnuts, banana, almonds, marzipan, and some fruit that I am not able to recoognize. Sugarcane as well.

Taste: Tastes from half like typical agricole rhums, half like sweet elixir. You can taste the cane itself, but it is very very sweet. Marzipan and banana in taste, also some more fruit. Very good to drink on rocks. Nice combination and very original creation. But I definitely wouldnt recomend this to everyone, because even when this is unusual rhum, I think you can get better rhums in this price category. But you can give it a try in a bar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

When I first tried it, it was a bit of a WTF moment. Really not like most rums and I wasn't sure whether I actually liked it. I certainly didn't dislike it, but now the more I drink it, the more I love it, and this really is up there with my favourites. The notes of cane shine through, and I agree with the tasting note on the back about coco, vanilla and tropical scents. However I would add banana to that. I give it to (discerning friends) and some just sit there sniffing it. Definitely different, and so much the better for it.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Notes de coco, banane, tonalités vanillées et une note finale boisée et épicée.
Je le sers plutôt en apéritif et son nez de banana Haribo fait toujours son petit effet :)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by gloamingdan from Hungary with 8 ratings

I might have got a wrong batch or something - but to my liking this rum is terrible. It has a nice colour to it, but the smell already give away that this is something I have never tried before. I gave this a chance because of some great reviews I have read, but it's way under the expectations. The taste has strong vanilla and coconut hints, also a touch of banana and chocolate.
You can also taste the barrel and this might be the problem. The one I got has this really penetrating moldy cellar-taste, which is really like the smell that you encounter in really old vine-cellars. The after-taste is lasting and it's really this moldy greasy aroma that sticks. I like to enjoy rum neat, but even after having it mixed with some juice it was horrible and this flavour persists. As I said, it might be a wrong batch and I might taste it somewhere else as well to compare, but based on the bottle that I have this was a huge waste of money. At least I'll have something to shock my rum loving friends with. I gave it a 3 because it's obvious that it was originally made with fine ingredients, but it's as good as it gets.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MielMoustache from France with 12 ratings

I felt sick by this one. It tasted " chemical " for me because of the numerous aromas.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Eloi from Canada with 9 ratings

Mmmmm, hard to say how I feel about this rum. The smell isn't so good, I feel like I smell chocolate and cofee, although I think I'm the only one. Then the taste is not that bad, to sip neat, but again, pretty different from other rums I tasted. I think it's good for rum lovers but probably not for everybody.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Vantu from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

První dojem po otevření byl:"No ty voe, to je snad banánový likér." Ten první náraz banánů přímo do nosu si zapamatujete a pak tento rum bezpečně poznáte mezi ostatníma. Po chvíli jsme si zvyknul. Rum není úplně sladký jak by se mohlo zdát. Dá se příjemně usrkávat a hledat v něm nové chutě. Určitě je zajímavý, ale není to parťák na celý večer. Stačí jedna dvě skleničky a přejít na jinou značku. Jak plynul čas a blížil jsem se ke konci lahve, tak mi ty banány už ani nepřišly tak banánové :-) Musím si ho ještě někdy koupit, zajímá mě, jak bude chutnat když už vím do čeho jdu.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Libor from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Jde o trochu odlišný rum než znám. Barva je tmavší. Vůně je hořká a trochu pálivá. Chuť je zprvu sladká, ale následně zhořkne. V dozvuku pak chutná po hořké čokoládě, mandlích a snad i pražená káva. Spíše připomíná likéry. Není to zrovna můj šálek kávy, ale jsem rád, že jsem jej ochutnal.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Arcane Extraroma from the Island of Mauritius on a rather rainy afternoon. Arcane Extraroma comes in a fancy black toned box with a nice blacked out bottle design and a pretty nice mint colored label. Color of the rum is semi dark. To me this rum reminds me of the very first sweet Rhum Agricole in the world. Unique for sure. Banana and marzipan are the strongest flavors to the nose and palate. Vanilla is secondary flavor and still quite strong.