Posting your rating...
Arcane Extraroma 12-Year rum

Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Mauritius | Aged

Arcane Extraroma is a 12-year old solera rum from Mauritius made from pure cane sugar and aged in French oak barrels.

7.0/10(153 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
8
26
50
36
17
8

Rate Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

153 Arcane Extraroma 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small img 1653

Posted over 4 years ago by sulohanuri from Finland with 28 ratings

This one have totaaly difference taste than any carribbean rum. Taste of spice and banana. And I mean really srong banana taste. Bottle full of africa.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Olivier from France with 2 ratings

absolutely out of our rum planet! Ok, aromas are obvious, but I would say they hit you and bring you down to an easy home made drink or open your mind to the craziest bartending or gastronomy experience!
cheers

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Very interesting rhum to taste. Maritius, if I remember well, used to be French colony before being taken by UK. And it is notable in this rhum as well. Very nice bottle and presentation, but I still cant get rid off feeling that there is added sugar which isnt confirmed by producer. It is made from sugar can, not from molasses, so it is close to rhum agricole

Smell: Rich. Rich and unusual. Cococnuts, banana, almonds, marzipan, and some fruit that I am not able to recoognize. Sugarcane as well.

Taste: Tastes from half like typical agricole rhums, half like sweet elixir. You can taste the cane itself, but it is very very sweet. Marzipan and banana in taste, also some more fruit. Very good to drink on rocks. Nice combination and very original creation. But I definitely wouldnt recomend this to everyone, because even when this is unusual rhum, I think you can get better rhums in this price category. But you can give it a try in a bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

When I first tried it, it was a bit of a WTF moment. Really not like most rums and I wasn't sure whether I actually liked it. I certainly didn't dislike it, but now the more I drink it, the more I love it, and this really is up there with my favourites. The notes of cane shine through, and I agree with the tasting note on the back about coco, vanilla and tropical scents. However I would add banana to that. I give it to (discerning friends) and some just sit there sniffing it. Definitely different, and so much the better for it.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Notes de coco, banane, tonalités vanillées et une note finale boisée et épicée.
Je le sers plutôt en apéritif et son nez de banana Haribo fait toujours son petit effet :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Eloi from Canada with 9 ratings

Mmmmm, hard to say how I feel about this rum. The smell isn't so good, I feel like I smell chocolate and cofee, although I think I'm the only one. Then the taste is not that bad, to sip neat, but again, pretty different from other rums I tasted. I think it's good for rum lovers but probably not for everybody.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Vantu from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

První dojem po otevření byl:"No ty voe, to je snad banánový likér." Ten první náraz banánů přímo do nosu si zapamatujete a pak tento rum bezpečně poznáte mezi ostatníma. Po chvíli jsme si zvyknul. Rum není úplně sladký jak by se mohlo zdát. Dá se příjemně usrkávat a hledat v něm nové chutě. Určitě je zajímavý, ale není to parťák na celý večer. Stačí jedna dvě skleničky a přejít na jinou značku. Jak plynul čas a blížil jsem se ke konci lahve, tak mi ty banány už ani nepřišly tak banánové :-) Musím si ho ještě někdy koupit, zajímá mě, jak bude chutnat když už vím do čeho jdu.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Libor from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Jde o trochu odlišný rum než znám. Barva je tmavší. Vůně je hořká a trochu pálivá. Chuť je zprvu sladká, ale následně zhořkne. V dozvuku pak chutná po hořké čokoládě, mandlích a snad i pražená káva. Spíše připomíná likéry. Není to zrovna můj šálek kávy, ale jsem rád, že jsem jej ochutnal.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2698 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Arcane Extraroma from the Island of Mauritius on a rather rainy afternoon. Arcane Extraroma comes in a fancy black toned box with a nice blacked out bottle design and a pretty nice mint colored label. Color of the rum is semi dark. To me this rum reminds me of the very first sweet Rhum Agricole in the world. Unique for sure. Banana and marzipan are the strongest flavors to the nose and palate. Vanilla is secondary flavor and still quite strong.

Small black

Posted over 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Sympaticky úsporné balení v temně zelené, téměř neprůsvitné láhvi s korkovou zátkou a dřevěným víčkem. Jde už od popisu (new vision of rum) o čistě marketingový produkt, ale navzdory bombastickému "extraroma" neobyčejně zdařilý.
Popravdě dlouho mě od něj odrazovala Hunterova recenze s Bari mandlemi, které si na rozdíl od něj pamatuji zcela přesně i z dospělosti a neměl jsem je rád, i když ve srovnání s jinými bolševickými hnusy (typu Slavia furé) byly ještě relativně přijatelné - a mimochodem nebyly obalené v kakau, ale v nějakém světlém pudru s maličkou příměsí kakaa a mandlové tresti; zbytek byla nespíš nějaká mouka.
Každopádně s Bari mandlemi nemá Arcane 12 naštěstí společného ani prd.
Jde o vskutku podivný destilát, chuťově připomínající spíše nějaký likér. Je asi dobře, že si nikdy nedozvíme, co všechno do toho potměšilí žabožrouti z Odevie přidávají. Výsledek je každopádně nejen originální (což není zas až tak velký problém) ale i velmi dobře poživatelný.
Ve vůni (obzvlášť to vyvstane u dopité skleničky) je dost výrazné maggi koření, jinak je mimo jiné poměrně ostrá a chemická, což je asi to, co jiným spolu s trochou ananasu asociuje bonbóny.
Chuť naštěstí nic syntetického neobsahuje - obával jsem se trochu, že půjde o banánovou verzi Pyratu. Problém pro mě zjevně je agricole rum - co mi vadilo na Barbancourtu, mi lehce vadí i tady, ale je to natolik převrstvené těmi extra aromaty, že to dá práci rozpoznat.
Ačkoli chuť je zde všemi označována za čistě sladkou, jsou v ní i výrazně hořké, až medicinální tóny. Jinak je v ní prakticky cokoli; zejména kombinace s Arcane Delicatissime z chuti výrazně vytáhne kokos. Pro jednopanákové "degustátory" mám ovšem smutné sdělení: každý panák v průběhu konzumace láhve chutnal úplně odlišně. Což byl pro mě zásadní důvod, proč ihned pořídit další flašku. A co víc - i u ni to pokračovalo. Všechny chutě, které si jen dovedete představit (krom Bari mandlí, ale třeba v páté či šesté butýlce najdu i ty).
Je to velmi vlezlé a návykové (mnohem víc než bych očekával), ale zatím pořád skvělé.
Po dopití druhé láhve jsem objednal rovnou celý karton. Cítím to ve všem a začínám se nebezpečně těšit na večer.
Obávám se, že jsem našel své arkanum...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Laurent Folichon from Belgium with 37 ratings

Chouette rhum bien parfumé ! Les puristes du rhum agricole doivent s'abstenir car on vite penser que l'on a un peu forcé sur les arômes ... Mais bon, cela reste très agréable 😊