Posting your rating...
Arcane Extraroma 12-Year rum

Arcane Extraroma is a 12-year old solera rum from Mauritius made from pure cane sugar and aged in French oak barrels.

Rate Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


142 Arcane Extraroma 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Elanita from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Good colour, smooth taste. Little bit of coconut taste.

Posted over 2 years ago by Vince Veba from Germany with 28 ratings

After some alcohol disappears it have this unbelievable aroma of Banana and Marzipan. Fruity, round, super gentle. I‘m a fan!

Posted over 2 years ago by Jannik Schwarzbart from Denmark with 49 ratings

Nose: Brown sugar and barrel.
Mouth: sweetness, soft, fine taste. Low on sugar (But not too low)

Posted over 2 years ago by Thierry from France with 63 ratings

Sucré mais plutôt comme du sirop de canne, parfumé comme un magasin Sephora mais je l'aime comme j'aime mangé quelquefois des bonbons en soirée, je sais que ce n'est pas ce qu'il y a de meilleur au monde ni de plus raffiné mais quand je trempe mes lèvres dedans il me ravie toujours ainsi que mes invités, et c'est surement le principal.

Posted over 2 years ago by Fable from Belgium with 3 ratings

Arôme banane présent au nez et en fin de bouche. Épicé sur la note d'attaque

Posted over 2 years ago by Fred from France with 13 ratings

J'avais lu pas mal de très bonnes critiques sur ce rhum mais j'ai été déçu.
Je l'ai pourtant testé dans de très bonnes conditions, dans un bar en bord de mer par une agréable soirée d'été.
Par rapport à mon rhum de référence (Millonario XO), c'est vraiment un cran en dessous. Et pour le meme prix, autant acheter le Diplomatico !

Posted over 2 years ago by Dimigof from Belgium with 6 ratings

A real fruity rum. Tons of vanilla and banana. Short but very pleasant finish.
Missing some depth but hey, for that price you can't complain 😊

Posted almost 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Sympaticky úsporné balení v temně zelené, téměř neprůsvitné láhvi s korkovou zátkou a dřevěným víčkem. Jde už od popisu (new vision of rum) o čistě marketingový produkt, ale navzdory bombastickému "extraroma" neobyčejně zdařilý.
Popravdě dlouho mě od něj odrazovala Hunterova recenze s Bari mandlemi, které si na rozdíl od něj pamatuji zcela přesně i z dospělosti a neměl jsem je rád, i když ve srovnání s jinými bolševickými hnusy (typu Slavia furé) byly ještě relativně přijatelné - a mimochodem nebyly obalené v kakau, ale v nějakém světlém pudru s maličkou příměsí kakaa a mandlové tresti; zbytek byla nespíš nějaká mouka.
Každopádně s Bari mandlemi nemá Arcane 12 naštěstí společného ani prd.
Jde o vskutku podivný destilát, chuťově připomínající spíše nějaký likér. Je asi dobře, že si nikdy nedozvíme, co všechno do toho potměšilí žabožrouti z Odevie přidávají. Výsledek je každopádně nejen originální (což není zas až tak velký problém) ale i velmi dobře poživatelný.
Ve vůni (obzvlášť to vyvstane u dopité skleničky) je dost výrazné maggi koření, jinak je mimo jiné poměrně ostrá a chemická, což je asi to, co jiným spolu s trochou ananasu asociuje bonbóny.
Chuť naštěstí nic syntetického neobsahuje - obával jsem se trochu, že půjde o banánovou verzi Pyratu. Problém pro mě zjevně je agricole rum - co mi vadilo na Barbancourtu, mi lehce vadí i tady, ale je to natolik převrstvené těmi extra aromaty, že to dá práci rozpoznat.
Ačkoli chuť je zde všemi označována za čistě sladkou, jsou v ní i výrazně hořké, až medicinální tóny. Jinak je v ní prakticky cokoli; zejména kombinace s Arcane Delicatissime z chuti výrazně vytáhne kokos. Pro jednopanákové "degustátory" mám ovšem smutné sdělení: každý panák v průběhu konzumace láhve chutnal úplně odlišně. Což byl pro mě zásadní důvod, proč ihned pořídit další flašku. A co víc - i u ni to pokračovalo. Všechny chutě, které si jen dovedete představit (krom Bari mandlí, ale třeba v páté či šesté butýlce najdu i ty).
Je to velmi vlezlé a návykové (mnohem víc než bych očekával), ale zatím pořád skvělé.
Po dopití druhé láhve jsem objednal rovnou celý karton. Cítím to ve všem a začínám se nebezpečně těšit na večer.
Obávám se, že jsem našel své arkanum...

PS: Z těch 65 rumů, co jsem tu hodnotil, vyhlašuji tenhle za nejlepší.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 104 ratings

I had this some time ago, but remember it had very strong banana and chocolate aroma and taste. It was sweet. Nice, but very different from other sweet rums. But you should try it and make your own decision.

Posted almost 3 years ago by dany from France with 30 ratings

nez fruité caramel/sirop d érable ,banane ,boiser fait penser à certain whisky
bouche,très vite le goût du whisky ou alcool fort reviens
grosse longueur sans évolution particulière autre que le boiser

Posted almost 3 years ago by puml from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Příjemná vůně banánů, skořice, vanilka? Chuť sladká přecházející do dřevitého finiše. Na patře zůstává ovocitá chuť, snad mango? možná ty banány a nějaké koření. Velmi dobrý zástupce afrického rumu.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 117 ratings

Mauricius ron is good.nice taste of fruits and smell of beaches.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michel from Belgium with 79 ratings

Un rhum qui m'a vraiment impressionné! Il est très gourmand, très riche en saveurs. On y goûte de l'orange et les épices de pâtisserie! Un rhum que je qualifierais de "patissier". Si vous aimez le rhum, vous devez le découvrir!

Posted about 3 years ago by Pavel Neumann from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Well that was completlely unexpected experience. It's not a typical rum, it hold a lot of great aroma and flovour. Im not so much into floavoured drinks but this completely blew my mind. You should taste Arcane for sure.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Ein ganz spezieller Rum mit eigenem Charakter.
Ein solchen Solera hatte ich noch nie im Glas, elegant, weich und doch mit Ecken und Kanten, nicht so "weichgespült" wie manch anderer Solera.
In der Nase schon ziemlich komplex, tropische Früchte, Mandeln, Banane, Zitrusfrüchte, Kräuter, etwas Medizinartiges (im positiven Sinn), Vanille....
Im Gaumen explodieren die Aromen völlig, ein Früchtekorb voll mit tropischen Früchten, Vanillepudding mit Banane (nicht so extrem Banane wie der Bumbu Rum), Marzipan, ich kann gar nicht alle aufzählen.
Im Abgang klingt die fruchtige Süsse nach.
Ein Rum für alle die das etwas Andere mögen.
Eine Bereicherung für die Rum-Landschaft. Nicht unbedingt für Einsteiger.

A very special rum with its own character.
Such a Solera I had never had in the glass, elegant, soft and yet with corners and edges,
not so "soft swept" as many other Solera.
In the nose quite complex, tropical fruits, almonds, banana, citrus fruits, herbs, some medicine-like (in the positive sense), vanilla ....
In the palate, the aromas are totally exploding, a fruit basket filled with tropical fruits, vanilla pudding with banana (not as extreme banana as the Bumbu Rum), marzipan, I can not even enumerate all.
In the finish, the fruity sweetness subsides.
A rum for those who like something different.
An enrichment for the Rum landscape. Not necessarily for beginners.

Posted about 3 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Tento rum neni uplne muj salek kavy, kazdopadne je hodne zvlastni. Naprosty original. Az se mi nechce verit, ze neni dochucovany. Kafa, mango, cokolada, papaja,njavorovy sirup

Posted about 3 years ago by BIANCHI from France with 2 ratings

Fine taste of honey, delicately sweet with a touch of spices

Posted over 3 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Over een ervaring gesproken... Er zullen vast liefhebbers zijn, maar ik ben er nog niet uit.
Zeker niet proeven in een degustatie met meerdere rums, tenzij als laatste.
In de neus ervaar je uitgesproken banaan, maar dan komt een kunstmatig geurtje aanzetten.
In de mond proeft deze Mauritaniër licht houterig, overdreven naar banaan met heftige toetsen van vanille. De smaak geeft mij het gevoel dat deze 'pure cane rum' wat hulp van een laboratorium heeft gekregen. (Velen krijgen die hulp, maar hier proef je het!)
Onder het mom 'je moet alles eens proberen' was dit een leuke ervaring, maar 'not my glass of rum'.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

this rum is a bit odd, the taste is unlike anything i have envountered before, not flavory and rough on the palate, the alcohool is also very pungent. All things considered i was mostly dissapointed by it.

Posted over 3 years ago by MaoHp from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

I have to say that i agree with Charles M.
First moments are not really pleasant. I had been drinking this rum through the month and everytime I opened the bottle i liked the rum more and more. I am going to buy this one again for sure.

One tip:
1) Let it breath... 10 minutes reacting with air is enough to get nice vanilla taste and caramelized banana smell.

Posted over 3 years ago by Finch from Germany with 16 ratings

This is special. Banana, chocolate and all kinds of fruits this one got it all. But it is a bit too much of everything. It goes down with a bit spice and all kinds of tastes but goes away fast and some sort does not fit. But if you like it special and are open to experience new stuff this one can get you. Made directly out of the cane this is all kind of different.

Posted over 3 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Opět výrazné ovocné tóny vůně - vážně si myslím, že to je pro Mauricijské rumy typické. Tentokrát trošku těžší vůně, trochu vanilky a něčeho k tomu. Chuť Vás ale překvapí, je relativně ostrá. Celkově to asi není příliš, ale tím, jak to nečekáte, působí silněji. Teprve po odeznění je patrnější ovocná dochuť, která je na patře překvapivě docela dlouhá (10-15 minut) na to, že jde o docela řízný kousek.
Celkově je to zajímavá skladba chutí a vůní, které v první moment vypadají téměř v protikladu, ale nakonec k sobě docela ladí. Ostřejší sice moc nemusím, ale tenhle mě bavil.

Posted over 3 years ago by Henrik Hansen from Denmark with 56 ratings

Sød rom med smag i den frugtagtige afdeling. Lang, sød og krydret bananagtig eftersmag.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joe from Hungary with 6 ratings

Scent and smell of tropical fruits, differs from the others. Sweet, I mean really sweet, like the honey.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dumas from France with 4 ratings

Banane haribo, bonbons et vanille ressortent de ce rhum