Posting your rating...
Arcane Extraroma 12-Year rum

Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Mauritius | Aged

Arcane Extraroma is a 12-year old solera rum from Mauritius made from pure cane sugar and aged in French oak barrels.

7.0/10
154 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
5
8
26
50
36
17
8

Rate Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

154 Arcane Extraroma 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Over een ervaring gesproken... Er zullen vast liefhebbers zijn, maar ik ben er nog niet uit.
Zeker niet proeven in een degustatie met meerdere rums, tenzij als laatste.
In de neus ervaar je uitgesproken banaan, maar dan komt een kunstmatig geurtje aanzetten.
In de mond proeft deze Mauritaniër licht houterig, overdreven naar banaan met heftige toetsen van vanille. De smaak geeft mij het gevoel dat deze 'pure cane rum' wat hulp van een laboratorium heeft gekregen. (Velen krijgen die hulp, maar hier proef je het!)
Onder het mom 'je moet alles eens proberen' was dit een leuke ervaring, maar 'not my glass of rum'.

Small black

Posted over 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Sympaticky úsporné balení v temně zelené, téměř neprůsvitné láhvi s korkovou zátkou a dřevěným víčkem. Jde už od popisu (new vision of rum) o čistě marketingový produkt, ale navzdory bombastickému "extraroma" neobyčejně zdařilý.
Popravdě dlouho mě od něj odrazovala Hunterova recenze s Bari mandlemi, které si na rozdíl od něj pamatuji zcela přesně i z dospělosti a neměl jsem je rád, i když ve srovnání s jinými bolševickými hnusy (typu Slavia furé) byly ještě relativně přijatelné - a mimochodem nebyly obalené v kakau, ale v nějakém světlém pudru s maličkou příměsí kakaa a mandlové tresti; zbytek byla nespíš nějaká mouka.
Každopádně s Bari mandlemi nemá Arcane 12 naštěstí společného ani prd.
Jde o vskutku podivný destilát, chuťově připomínající spíše nějaký likér. Je asi dobře, že si nikdy nedozvíme, co všechno do toho potměšilí žabožrouti z Odevie přidávají. Výsledek je každopádně nejen originální (což není zas až tak velký problém) ale i velmi dobře poživatelný.
Ve vůni (obzvlášť to vyvstane u dopité skleničky) je dost výrazné maggi koření, jinak je mimo jiné poměrně ostrá a chemická, což je asi to, co jiným spolu s trochou ananasu asociuje bonbóny.
Chuť naštěstí nic syntetického neobsahuje - obával jsem se trochu, že půjde o banánovou verzi Pyratu. Problém pro mě zjevně je agricole rum - co mi vadilo na Barbancourtu, mi lehce vadí i tady, ale je to natolik převrstvené těmi extra aromaty, že to dá práci rozpoznat.
Ačkoli chuť je zde všemi označována za čistě sladkou, jsou v ní i výrazně hořké, až medicinální tóny. Jinak je v ní prakticky cokoli; zejména kombinace s Arcane Delicatissime z chuti výrazně vytáhne kokos. Pro jednopanákové "degustátory" mám ovšem smutné sdělení: každý panák v průběhu konzumace láhve chutnal úplně odlišně. Což byl pro mě zásadní důvod, proč ihned pořídit další flašku. A co víc - i u ni to pokračovalo. Všechny chutě, které si jen dovedete představit (krom Bari mandlí, ale třeba v páté či šesté butýlce najdu i ty).
Je to velmi vlezlé a návykové (mnohem víc než bych očekával), ale zatím pořád skvělé.
Po dopití druhé láhve jsem objednal rovnou celý karton. Cítím to ve všem a začínám se nebezpečně těšit na večer.
Obávám se, že jsem našel své arkanum...

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Laurent Folichon from Belgium with 37 ratings

Chouette rhum bien parfumé ! Les puristes du rhum agricole doivent s'abstenir car on vite penser que l'on a un peu forcé sur les arômes ... Mais bon, cela reste très agréable 😊

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by steve from Australia with 1 rating

Too much vanilla tones on the palate for me, not as great as what it was raved up to be. This is only after my first taste neat but a good rum does not need to grow on you it should be instant love for it. I will use it as a mixer rum and for the money we pay for a bottle in Aus $100 I would drink the Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva over this any day. It probably didnt help that I had high expectations for this but it didnt live up to more than a 7 for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I had an idea of what might discover while tasting the rum but it's a good surprise. It is clear that the banana is very present and coconut flavors but the balance is correct. I even suprised to drink another glass ;-)
To be reserved for special occasion or can be used with dessert assiocation.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

Smell is not so great, banana, pastry cream... but the taste is unexpected. Advised!

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Thegouj from France with 10 ratings

Un Rhum sucré et fruité.Au nez effectivement on retrouve comme cela a été déjà dit la célèbre banane Haribo. On y retrouve également des notes de miel tirant même je trouve sur la cire d'abeille. En début de bouche on retrouve la banane, en milieu de bouche le miel se fait plus présent et accompagné de légères touches épicées.

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by Jojorhum from Canada with 10 ratings

J’ai acheté une bouteille de ce rhum par curiosité. Je l’ai ouvert à l’occasion d’un superbe week-end dans un chalet en famille. Il n’y a pas de mots pour décrire ma déception.
Le goût horrible d’antibiotiques que dégage ce rhum m’a mis à terre ! Avec tout le respect que j’ai pour ses producteurs, c’est vraiment le pire rhum que j’ai bu dans ma vie ... L’ odeur de médicaments émanant de mon verre n’est simplement pas acceptable. J’ai même changé de verre. J’ai essayé de l’aérer. J’ai également essayé avec un glaçon, pas buvable...
Que vais-je faire de cette bouteille presque remplie ?
Chaque rhum est une aventure, certes ! Je m’en serais bien passé de celle-là... 🙂

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 1 month ago by Neman3 from Canada with 103 ratings

Extra aroma spreads over the house since you pour the glass ;o). Suspicious aroma. But the taste is good surprise, full of coconut plus bunch of some exotic fruits. Absolutely smooth, no alcohol burn. It is likely naturally sweet.
Definitely, not our regular every day drink, still something I would recommend to try.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by spagr from Czech Republic with 43 ratings

mild and unique taste. You almost do not recognize you drink rum

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Massime from France with 2 ratings

Balance ok but still very fruity. Pouet pouet pouet