Posting your rating...
Arcane Extraroma 12-Year rum

Arcane Extraroma is a 12-year old solera rum from Mauritius made from pure cane sugar and aged in French oak barrels.

Rate Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


142 Arcane Extraroma 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Elanita from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Good colour, smooth taste. Little bit of coconut taste.

Posted about 1 year ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Surprised me. 12 years goodie. Vanilla bit, toffee. Would taste again. Nice.

Posted over 1 year ago by Sylvain Lussier from Canada with 44 ratings

Le nez offre des arômes de fruits tropicaux ,de cannes fraîches et d'épicés.
Au goût, un ensemble très harmonieux de notes de coco, banane, de tonalités vanillées et une note finale boisée et délicatement épicée

Posted over 1 year ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 131 ratings

The bottle is surprisingly compact, with a dripping neck.
In aroma: barrel, alcohol, ripe banana, flowers.
Rich and long taste. Some difficulty swallowing.
Pleasantly relaxing. It is drunk easy and a lot, with loss of coordination and body heaviness, clear consciousness, good mood and without consequences in the morning.

Posted over 1 year ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

Thin a gricole, cane juice! In the nose: candy sugar, pancakes at my mum's, banana, orange, pisang.... dried fruit... but they add fruit to the barrel and take it out again before adding the rum.... bit bizarre, yet it works.....

Posted over 1 year ago by Kolibrik from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Let it sit.
The first sip straight from the box was an artificial banana so badly, I couldn´t believe anyone rated it above a 4. As it starts to work the banana eases off and you find vanilla and marzipan with a hint of other fruit. The aroma stays strong for hours (GF left hers unfinished and I found it the next day still with a pleasant aroma). The taste is slightly overpowered by the aroma but still pleasant as a sipper.

Posted over 1 year ago by Freedom of feet from Belgium with 20 ratings

Lots of aroma. Vanilla, coconut, dark, more syrupy, creamy, long and strong after taste, lots of spice. Not the average type of rum. Exotic and good sipper if u want some thing different for a change.

Posted over 1 year ago by dragon from Slovenia with 16 ratings

I give 10 bottles for this one, because of my subjective taste. I really like it and enjoy drinking this one.
So much of taste after 12 years laying in wooden casks, it makes it more like some old French cognac.
Excellent, surely very good and glass full of pleasure.

Posted over 1 year ago by drobz from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Trochu zklamání. Možná jsou měl zbytečně vysoké očekávání.
Vůně mi připadá trochu umělá.

Posted over 1 year ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Vyvazena ovocna vune plna sladkosti a pri tom svezi a originalni. Chut ovocna, velmi prijemna. Perfektni volba, ktera me mile prekvapila.

Posted over 1 year ago by martin05 from Romania with 1 rating

Is something that you can't forget. Super colour, super aroma, super bottle. I hope is everything natural, but I think is to nice to be true...

Posted over 1 year ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

In my opinion strange bottle...not typical, not my type. When you will open - great aroma. I was suprised that is so fantastic. Colour is good. First taste...veeery smooooth...One of the best in that I ever try. Very balanced...but...not my type. You can feel that is good rum...but I'm missing something there.

Posted over 1 year ago by eisbar from France with 9 ratings

Well, i bought this one this summer and it's really something surprising. I didn't liked it that much, neither my brother or my cousins that were with me, but my father liked it, it's very strong in flavours.
You should try it if you're looking for something unusual.

Posted over 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

Un ron de la isla Mauricio. Le encontré notas de banana, pimienta pero sobretodo menta y eucalipto. Personalmente no me gustó pero probablemente a otros les agrade, a mi no me gusta ni la menta ni eucalipto.

Posted over 1 year ago by skocan from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Its rly full of different tastes and smells. I had only one glass, have to say was great but i cant imagine drinking it all night. As a one glass i would rate it 9.

Posted over 1 year ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 20 ratings

Tasty, smooth, banana and vanilla nose and more.. really well balanced. No need to drink it with soft drinks. Great aftertaste! The more time it takes after the sip the better.

Posted over 1 year ago by Alexey from United States with 25 ratings

unusual if compare to Caribbean rums, obvious it was created for French taste, one time to try is good

Posted over 1 year ago by Boris from Slovenia with 40 ratings

Fruity apricot banana nice nose... Sweet start into more bitter and tart body. Aroma is increasing expectations but I'm missing complexity... interesting taste... better second time... Body is floral with sugar cane, vanilla, banana... Abv not well hidden...

Posted almost 2 years ago by Vantu from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

První dojem po otevření byl:"No ty voe, to je snad banánový likér." Ten první náraz banánů přímo do nosu si zapamatujete a pak tento rum bezpečně poznáte mezi ostatníma. Po chvíli jsme si zvyknul. Rum není úplně sladký jak by se mohlo zdát. Dá se příjemně usrkávat a hledat v něm nové chutě. Určitě je zajímavý, ale není to parťák na celý večer. Stačí jedna dvě skleničky a přejít na jinou značku. Jak plynul čas a blížil jsem se ke konci lahve, tak mi ty banány už ani nepřišly tak banánové :-) Musím si ho ještě někdy koupit, zajímá mě, jak bude chutnat když už vím do čeho jdu.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Libor from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Jde o trochu odlišný rum než znám. Barva je tmavší. Vůně je hořká a trochu pálivá. Chuť je zprvu sladká, ale následně zhořkne. V dozvuku pak chutná po hořké čokoládě, mandlích a snad i pražená káva. Spíše připomíná likéry. Není to zrovna můj šálek kávy, ale jsem rád, že jsem jej ochutnal.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mathias from Norway with 15 ratings

This one is not so balanced. The tropical notes are to me a bit over the top, but it helps make it feel fresh at least. I recommend it if you like tropical flavor rums.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Gout aromatisé de coconut avec fruit exotic. Boire avec glace ou pour drink

Posted over 2 years ago by Quin from Germany with 25 ratings

Ganz OK für 40%. Gefühlt eine sehr dicke Konsistenz. Aromatisch auch sehr voluminös nach Kokosnuss. Mir ist er etwas zu blumig und wirkt auch etwas parfümiert. Ansonsten sehr exotisch fruchtig. Macht irgendwie Spaß, aber auf eine andere Weise. Für teilweise 27€ kann man das mal machen. Aber kein Muss. Ein süßer Schmeichler ohne jegliche Würze oder sonstige "Kanten".

Posted over 2 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 47 ratings

"The Arcane is an agricole-style rhum that goes about things a little differently. Besides opting for the more recognizable "rum" spelling, the fresh cane juice distillate is first processed close to the source on Mauritius, then brought to Cognac for another go in small alembic stills. This rum is aged a minimum of 12 years in a solera method using French oak"

Nose:
Very strong banana, coconut and tropical fruit cake, vanilla.

Taste:
Coconut comes first strongly, then follows HEAVY amount of tropical fruits,marzipan and banana and lastly a hint of vanilla. It is extremely sweet i have to say

Finish:
Smooth because the added sugar, not much oak

Verdict: Another dessert rum, it is heavily sugared but it also has very unique taste profile, all the lovely heavy tropical and marzipan aromas make me wonder how altered this rum really is.
Some suggest this is elixir (rum liquer)
I suggest cane syrup and loads of different flavouring agents are used, natural or artificial? I dont know. But straight rum this is not for sure.
But as a dessert rum, interesting, offers truly something different but too sweet and lack transparency regarding the production and ingredients.

Posted over 2 years ago by K4IZ3R from France with 6 ratings

Certains diront que cet assemblage n'a rien à voir avec un rhum mais tient plus de la chimie. Mais bon dieu, qu'est ce que c'est bon! C'est subtile et d'une longueur en bouche interminable!!! Jus de canne et bananas. Un rhum gourmand (d)étonnant !!