Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-year rum is the premium version of the Matusalem company's rum, aged an average of 23 years and distilled from molasses using the traditional solera process.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


153 Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Ron Matusalem 23y, 10y and 7y back-to-back. The 23y has a very nice looking bottle, a bit tacky label, but still nice. Color is semi dark, smell is a tad strong but also very much artificial butterscotch. Not bad taste, but far from great. Struggles to earn a 6.

Posted about 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

A very harmonious rum with much sweet and short finish.

Posted about 3 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Of the Matusalem rums I've tried this is the best, but it doesn't really stand out against other rums...

Posted about 3 years ago by Boris from Slovenia with 40 ratings

Very gentle vanilla nose and also gentle smooth vanilla body. Not very sweet and complex body, but decent gentle taste. I would prefer Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva to this one... Some caramel and smoke scents as well. Nice aftertaste where the vanilla body is slowly fading out with some sweetness. Not too aggressive abv.

Posted about 3 years ago by Verner Sørensen from Denmark with 13 ratings

Den står i skabet og det skal den blive ved med, den smager stadig godt

Posted about 3 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Pretty good rum, but for the price there are in my opinion better choices.

Posted about 3 years ago by Mike from Sweden with 5 ratings

One of the best from Matusalem. Nice taste! And semi soft flavour

Posted about 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .

Posted about 3 years ago by Mik from France with 9 ratings

Bonne dégustation n'a pas la longueur ni la suptilite d un guada ou martiniquais mais vaut carement le détour un bon vieux rhum

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Sehr angenehmer Ron.
In der Nase feine Holznoten, Karamell und Kakau.
im Gaumen etwas scharf, nicht so süss wie der 15-year, Karamell, Vanille.
Schöner langanhaltender Abgang mit nachklingender süsse.
Ein Ron für jeden Tag.

Very pleasant Ron.
In the nose fine wood notes, caramel and kakau.
Slightly spicy in the palate, not as sweet as the 15-year, caramel, vanilla.
Beautiful long-lasting finish with a sweetish aftertaste.
A Ron for every day.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dumas from France with 4 ratings

Un regal de douceur et d'épices. Un nez fabuleux. Reste dans le verre plus d'un jour après la dégustation.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 104 ratings

Nothing bad in this rum, but it is quite simple and plain.

Posted over 3 years ago by Richard from Slovakia with 17 ratings

For something supposedly 23 years old the taste was surprisingly bland. I was kind of disappointed

Posted over 3 years ago by Anders Skjødt Hansen from Denmark with 65 ratings

Dufter meget af sprit. Det er ikke en man kan sniffe en hel masse til. Jeg fornemmer dog lidt sødme.

Smager af sprit. Den er en smule olieret og tam i munden. Slet ikke så sød som forventet. kraftig alkohol.

Dette er ikke en rom jeg vil investere i igen.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jan Loop from Denmark with 13 ratings

as i recall my allmost empty bottle, it was a not the huge succes
it think a "23" years old rum, should bee more round, and with a nice buquette, but it failed for me

a the price is in the high end

Posted over 3 years ago by Zoran Mihajlovic from Sweden with 10 ratings

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-year rum is the premium version of the Matusalem company's rum, aged an average of 23 years and distilled from molasses using the traditional solera process.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jon from Denmark with 16 ratings

I didn't like this rum very much. Pretty boring taste actually,

Posted over 3 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 114 ratings

Længe siden jeg har smagt denne rom, men husker den som at den mangler noget sødme.

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans Erik from Denmark with 56 ratings

En rigtig god Rom til prisen. Dejlig duft og sødme

Posted over 3 years ago by Dennis from Denmark with 11 ratings

This has the potential for doing well as a replacement for Havana Club 7 años in a coke.
It means well and comes along good some of the way, but it is just not balanced at all. Way too sharp on the alcohol to justify the price point where I live. As a sipper, it can be adjusted with preferably a light, but even a dark agave syrup for balance between alcohol and sweetness. At more than 30% higher price than a Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva this rum lacks loads of refinement to justify it's price - but I didn't want to pour it in coke because of the price, so I modified it with syrup to be able to drink it neat. It took around 150 ml. of agave syrup to get it to where I could truly appreciate it. The taste notes are great then. IT should have been condensed more in my honest opinion. 23 years is a waste of time to get to where this rum ends up. I'm very sorry to say so, but it is my brutally honest assesment, though I hate to depreciate the many years of work going into the end product.

Posted over 3 years ago by Carl from United States with 9 ratings

As I get farther into the "great" rums, I find myself coming back to this one to use as a base line. Good taste, straight or mixed.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pavelitti from Switzerland with 42 ratings

Molto morbido leggermente dolce. Sensori sul caramello ma non lo trovo interessante e il prezzo è esagerato, preferisco il 15.

Posted over 3 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Riecht nur sehr schwach. Schmeckt anfangs sehr leicht, dann kräftigerer Eindruck. Schokolade, Orange, etwas Schärfe. Hat aber irgendwie trotzdem kein Profil, keinen eigenen Charakter. Den werde ich vergessen, da sind zum Teil wesentlich billigere Rums besser.

Posted over 3 years ago by Gilles from Luxembourg with 31 ratings

Yep, for me, it taste a bit of the 2000 diplomatico. If u like solera rum you will like this one.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Esperaba más de este ron, no es malo sin embargo la relación de precio y sabor no es la mejor.