Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-year rum is the premium version of the Matusalem company's rum, aged an average of 23 years and distilled from molasses using the traditional solera process.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


153 Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Ron Matusalem 23y, 10y and 7y back-to-back. The 23y has a very nice looking bottle, a bit tacky label, but still nice. Color is semi dark, smell is a tad strong but also very much artificial butterscotch. Not bad taste, but far from great. Struggles to earn a 6.

Posted 8 months ago by Uuukey from Japan with 15 ratings

1872年にキューバで誕生した『マツサレムラム』は、紛れもない豊かな味わいと、国で人気のラムとしての地位を確立し、1930年からの20年間に世界中に広まりました。しかしカストロ革命後、キューバラムの生産は中止され、製造を継続できるドミニカ共和国にその拠点を移しました。以後139年の歴史と共に、滑らかで美味しい秘伝の味を守り続けています。
優しい甘みと、後味をキリッとさせるドライ感が同居した極上の味わい。是非一度お試し下さい!

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

It is not tasting bad - but it does taste a bit fake. Not much oak for all that age. Probably not even close to 23 years....More like 10.

Posted 9 months ago by cjames from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Nice rum but to be honest zacapa 23 is better and about the same price. They are both blended rums between 16 and 23 years. Matusalem 23 has a nice smooth taste with a slight aroma of coffee I find, and a bit of vanilla at the end worth a try but like I say there is better.

Posted 9 months ago by Birkved from Denmark with 6 ratings

Nice and easy, clear view and color. Notes of vanilla, caramel, tobacco an a little orange. Not special, but didn't expect it either, this is a blend but still enjoyable.

Posted 11 months ago by Alex from Canada with 23 ratings

Cette bouteille aux charmes ambrée a su delecter mon palais dans un desert de rum de qualité qu’est la Lettonie. Légèrement sucré sans être grossier, son arôme se disperse avec douceur.

Posted about 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

Gentle in nose, smooth in mouth but very dry for me. I had it with no ice... maybe with ice it tastes better?

Posted about 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Very well balanced, bit more alcoholic flavor, dark after taste

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

I think this is good rum.
However, it get too smooth and gets bored.
I like Matusalem 15year more than this.

Posted about 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Tried this at the famous Rum Bar in the beautiful Whitsundays in North Queensland. Lighter than I imagined so not much caramel colouring.. strong alcohol smell at first but settled down after 10 minutes. Dryish , tastes of vanilla , almond or marzipan , brown sugar and a bit of citrus.. not much wood and a shortish ending. Better than the 15 but still a bit dull although worth a try !

Posted over 1 year ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sweet and fruity nice and smooth. A lot nicer than the 15. A really well rounded solera

Posted over 1 year ago by Jacob Rasmussen from Denmark with 6 ratings

A bit more sweet than the zacapa but in a company with friends that does'nt usually drink rum, this would be the choice

Posted over 1 year ago by John Poulsen from Denmark with 15 ratings

Den er rimelig til prisen men super begejstret er jeg nu ikke for den er lidt før sprittet.

Posted over 1 year ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

Possibly some orange and vanilla in the scent. Light vanilla, cinnamon and maybe a little tobacco in flavor.

Posted over 1 year ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

I found this rum boring, lack of taste and smell, would never buy this rum my self.

Posted over 1 year ago by Berger from France with 28 ratings

Très bon rhum, plus sec que sucré, puissant, très agréable à boire

Posted almost 2 years ago by Melvin from Netherlands with 5 ratings

This one is ok. Not to sweet. Bit dry. Also good with cola ;)

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Sweet tropical fruit on the nose, otherwise fairly standard dry aged rum with wooden barrel notes.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Pulák from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Za ty penize si umim koupit daleko lepsi. Neurazi ale nadseni ve me nevyvolal.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alex from Italy with 32 ratings

Ein solider Kandidat
Nichts überwältigendes aber gutes Mittelmaß

Posted almost 2 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 117 ratings

Nice ron,interesting taste of little cherry and cask. Good for drink with guys.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Patrick from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Just emptied my bottle. need absolutely A new one!

Posted about 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Au Nez il est complexe avec des notes de bois. En bouche on perçois aussi des notes boisées accompagnées de noisette et d’amandes grillées. La finale est longue, ce rhum est superbe. Semblable au zacapa 23 ans mais le zacapa est mieux. Tres bon, je le conseille.

Posted about 2 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Strong flavor yet subtle complexity. Dominican but originally from Cuba I think. Blend of old and new vintages.

Posted about 2 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Dry but not too much. Weak body and short aftertaste but still much better than Matusalem 15y