Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-year rum is the premium version of the Matusalem company's rum, aged an average of 23 years and distilled from molasses using the traditional solera process.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


153 Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Boris from Slovenia with 40 ratings

Very gentle vanilla nose and also gentle smooth vanilla body. Not very sweet and complex body, but decent gentle taste. I would prefer Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva to this one... Some caramel and smoke scents as well. Nice aftertaste where the vanilla body is slowly fading out with some sweetness. Not too aggressive abv.

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

First of all, the "23" is misleading. Years? I doubt it. For a rum that's supposedly been baking in wood in the tropics for a couple of decades, this rum lacks oakiness. Actually, it's not very complex at all. Nothing offensive, but nothing memorable, either. I can't imagine ever needing to buy another bottle of this, when there are so many really compelling rums out there already.

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Given my "so so" expirence with the 15 year old little brother, I was very positively surprised with this one. The nose is round with toffee, vanilla, orange, fudge and cherry's. The palette is sweet with butterscotch, vanilla, a bit of chocolate, marcipan, orange peel and some nuttiness. Though it's sweet, I don't find it cloying as the lengthy finish is slightly earthy and tingling, upholding the order. (8,5)

Posted 3 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

Solid havy bottle, gives me impression the content will last forever ).
Nice deep amber color.
Right from the bottle bites with alcohol on nose, but became not bad and attractive after standing for a while.
Thick and smooth, without hint of alcohol on palate.
WoW effect at the first sip. Hint of sweetness, something authentic.
Long lasting after taste.
Highly recommended (specially during quarantine period) )

Posted over 2 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

I had high expectations for this rum due to the good reviews. There is too much alcohol smell/burn than I expected for a rum in this price class. Even the taste failed, no long aftertaste and standard taste. Even after a half hour of breathing the alcohol taste was not gone. In 1 word: disappointed!

Posted about 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

I was a little bit disapointed by this Matusalem 23. It is not complex and no so different from its youger brother.
If I look at the price, I'll go for the 15 year for sure.

Posted over 3 years ago by Stefan Fischer Echers from Denmark with 3 ratings

Can you drink it without coke? Yes. Is it a GOOD rum? No. Not the best I've tasted, not the worst. Would l buy it again? Properly not.

Posted over 3 years ago by FilipT from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Není špatný, ale za tu cenu jsou chuťově lepší rumy.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Nu este un rom fin pentru categoria de pret din care face parte. Poate din 2 rele ai putea merge pe acesta. Alcoolul se simte prea tare iar aromele sunt subtile.

Posted about 4 years ago by Octavian from Romania with 14 ratings

It is an OK rum but for my taste... My aspects ware high about the quality about this rum!

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Gus desavarsit, se simte vechimea dar nu impresioneaza cu aromele. Trebuie lasat sa se linisteasca. Se simte prea tare alcoolul din el. Are nuante suave de caramel, lemn si citrice. Din punctul meu de vedere este prea dur si prea scump.

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I expected a lot of this 23 years but I am very disappointed. The nose is round with caramel , brown sugar, vanilla, and for 23 years the oak is not very present. The palate is strong without complexity and does not have much length. Snif !

Posted over 4 years ago by Danny from Belgium with 18 ratings

Plus doux que prévu mais un régal ... Bcp d'épices.

Posted over 4 years ago by Martino from Belgium with 61 ratings

Bon... mais meilleur avec de la glace !

Posted about 1 month ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Barva je bohatá zlatá až jantarová s vanilkovým, karamelovým, švestkovým aroma. Chuť bych popsal jako sametově hladkou, komplexní, vanilka, karamel, melasa, dubové dřevo, bez příznaku surového alkoholu a závěr suchý, dlouhotrvající, charakteristické chutě setrvávají na středu jazyka.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Quel beau rhum de dégustation pour un 23 ans. Très bon rapport qualité/prix.

Posted 3 months ago by Miguel from Germany with 11 ratings

Now this was an enjoyable bottle of rum. A bit pricey but hey, you only live once.

Posted 4 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 24 ratings

A great balanced nose that is pleasant and a little sweet. A great taste that is neutral between sweet and alcohol. Very smooth with a great taste. A little tangy and not much heat, but a very long lasting aftertaste that reflects the initial taste. I had this neat and is a great sipper.

Posted 4 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

žádná vůně, chuť zpočátku sladkost, ovoce, nastupuje pikantní koření, konec takový divný, závěr koření

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Posted 5 months ago by tondak80 from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

krásná lahev, hezky voní, nasládlá jemná chuť, ale možná až příliš jemná a nevýrazná

Posted 5 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 5 GPL. It's says that it's a 23 year old rum but it tasted like a 13 year old rum. I didn't find much difference between this and the 15 year old version. If it's a solera rum there isn't much from the 23 barrel. I would pass on this and buy the much cheaper 15 year version.

Posted 6 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

prisen er høy, og jeg har kun smakt denne en gang. Men åpenbart at jeg kunne drukket denne oftere.

Posted 7 months ago by Haz (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 20 ratings

Matusalem 23 Solera was my first rum that I tried and it was WOW. I forgot about cognac and whiskey. For me, Matusalem 23 solera is better than Zacapa 23 solera but not as good as El Dorado 15, so my score is 9 points. I definitely advise you to try this wonderful rum.

Posted 8 months ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Tohle není levný rum, láhev vzhledově naprosto luxusní. Když jsem přivoněl, nebylo cítit téměř nic. První co mě napadlo když jsem měl rum na jazyku bylo olej, chutná to jako olej a je to podobně nevýrazné. Nemám rád přeslazené patoky, ale Matusalem je na můj vkus příliš jemný, nevýrazný, bez osobnosti. Pokud dáte další skleničku, začnete cítit ty jemné chutě a vůně, ale pro mě je to asi příliš náročné. EDIT: dal jsem si Matusalema po slaném jídle a hodně to pomohlo chuti. Takže na srkání bez ničeho nedoporučuji, ale ke kvalitnímu kusu masa nebo dobrém sýru super.