Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-year rum is the premium version of the Matusalem company's rum, aged an average of 23 years and distilled from molasses using the traditional solera process.

7.2/10(172 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
10
36
57
44
22
2

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

172 Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Esperaba más de este ron, no es malo sin embargo la relación de precio y sabor no es la mejor.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

First of all, the "23" is misleading. Years? I doubt it. For a rum that's supposedly been baking in wood in the tropics for a couple of decades, this rum lacks oakiness. Actually, it's not very complex at all. Nothing offensive, but nothing memorable, either. I can't imagine ever needing to buy another bottle of this, when there are so many really compelling rums out there already.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 246 ratings

Given my "so so" expirence with the 15 year old little brother, I was surprised with this one. The nose is round with toffee, vanilla, orange, fudge and cherry's. The palette is sweet with butterscotch, vanilla, a bit of chocolate, marcipan, orange peel and some nuttiness. Though it's sweet, I don't find it too cloying as the lengthy finish is slightly earthy and tingling, upholding some order.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 17 ratings

It's fine as a mixer, although overpriced for that purpose. Not the best for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by cogliatem from Italy with 10 ratings

Tasted alone is better. I tasted it with a top ruhm so I was influenced.
Many of us very satisfied by the room
Personally I give a 7

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 12 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 96 ratings

Solid havy bottle, gives me impression the content will last forever ).
Nice deep amber color.
Right from the bottle bites with alcohol on nose, but became not bad and attractive after standing for a while.
Thick and smooth, without hint of alcohol on palate.
WoW effect at the first sip. Hint of sweetness, something authentic.
Long lasting after taste.
Highly recommended (specially during quarantine period) )

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 191 ratings

Au Nez il est complexe avec des notes de bois. En bouche on perçois aussi des notes boisées accompagnées de noisette et d’amandes grillées. La finale est longue, ce rhum est superbe. Semblable au zacapa 23 ans mais le zacapa est mieux. Tres bon, je le conseille.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

I had high expectations for this rum due to the good reviews. There is too much alcohol smell/burn than I expected for a rum in this price class. Even the taste failed, no long aftertaste and standard taste. Even after a half hour of breathing the alcohol taste was not gone. In 1 word: disappointed!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

I was a little bit disapointed by this Matusalem 23. It is not complex and no so different from its youger brother.
If I look at the price, I'll go for the 15 year for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Stefan Fischer Echers from Denmark with 3 ratings

Can you drink it without coke? Yes. Is it a GOOD rum? No. Not the best I've tasted, not the worst. Would l buy it again? Properly not.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by FilipT from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Není špatný, ale za tu cenu jsou chuťově lepší rumy.