Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-year rum is the premium version of the Matusalem company's rum, aged an average of 23 years and distilled from molasses using the traditional solera process.

7.2/10 (154 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
10
32
51
42
17
1

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


154 Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

5f4d180bd52f139b71de4185ef6a3fd2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Niels Kaas from Denmark with 43 ratings

Fin duft og dejlig lang eftersmag. Flot flaske. Kan anbefales

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

First of all, the "23" is misleading. Years? I doubt it. For a rum that's supposedly been baking in wood in the tropics for a couple of decades, this rum lacks oakiness. Actually, it's not very complex at all. Nothing offensive, but nothing memorable, either. I can't imagine ever needing to buy another bottle of this, when there are so many really compelling rums out there already.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

Given my "so so" expirence with the 15 year old little brother, I was surprised with this one. The nose is round with toffee, vanilla, orange, fudge and cherry's. The palette is sweet with butterscotch, vanilla, a bit of chocolate, marcipan, orange peel and some nuttiness. Though it's sweet, I don't find it too cloying as the lengthy finish is slightly earthy and tingling, upholding some order.

4697beef489e15a52d4dee48d857b753.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 60 ratings

Solid havy bottle, gives me impression the content will last forever ).
Nice deep amber color.
Right from the bottle bites with alcohol on nose, but became not bad and attractive after standing for a while.
Thick and smooth, without hint of alcohol on palate.
WoW effect at the first sip. Hint of sweetness, something authentic.
Long lasting after taste.
Highly recommended (specially during quarantine period) )

F1ea3ace305aed91216dd1f4f67dee9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

I had high expectations for this rum due to the good reviews. There is too much alcohol smell/burn than I expected for a rum in this price class. Even the taste failed, no long aftertaste and standard taste. Even after a half hour of breathing the alcohol taste was not gone. In 1 word: disappointed!

D2b49d7b477d2802b6e9b7c2b513cae4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

I was a little bit disapointed by this Matusalem 23. It is not complex and no so different from its youger brother.
If I look at the price, I'll go for the 15 year for sure.

5517f7a8e418734f8509a7cd6e31d282.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Stefan Fischer Echers from Denmark with 3 ratings

Can you drink it without coke? Yes. Is it a GOOD rum? No. Not the best I've tasted, not the worst. Would l buy it again? Properly not.

2ef6cef9e0c82914aa50d9d4824b88bc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by FilipT from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Není špatný, ale za tu cenu jsou chuťově lepší rumy.

34b2952841d2cc3da388326806e91a40.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 209 ratings

Nu este un rom fin pentru categoria de pret din care face parte. Poate din 2 rele ai putea merge pe acesta. Alcoolul se simte prea tare iar aromele sunt subtile.

1fd2fd8fcba294fda277fffff9a0d7b4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Octavian from Romania with 14 ratings

It is an OK rum but for my taste... My aspects ware high about the quality about this rum!

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 419 ratings

Gus desavarsit, se simte vechimea dar nu impresioneaza cu aromele. Trebuie lasat sa se linisteasca. Se simte prea tare alcoolul din el. Are nuante suave de caramel, lemn si citrice. Din punctul meu de vedere este prea dur si prea scump.