Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Straight from the Cask Special Edition rum

Rate Ron Zacapa Straight from the Cask Special Edition

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 Ron Zacapa Straight from the Cask Special Edition ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Peter from Greece with 1 rating

Ron zacapa 23 years is a magnificent rum , perhaps the best solera I know, but "straight from the cask".... oh man this is something else! The alcohol is more from the normal edition as I can see from the label. From the dottle you are suspicious about the content. I can see the signature of master blender, the bottle series number, also the trademark of zacapa straw bracelet is darker and has better quality from the ordinary. In the snifter glass I can see the darker color and the full body of the spirit, now my first impression that is something else from the ordinary is confirmed as I give some time to the spirit to bring all the aromas up. I can see in the nose melassa, walnut cream, dried fruits, I proceed in the mouth and I feel in my mouth the full body of the drink, honey, walnut cream,coffee, banana, cloves,in the end my tongue has vanilla ice cream. Even when I drink the sample my mouth had the taste about 12 seconds after! Enormous rum, I tried ron zacapa xo, 23 , nothing compares with this treasure! Worth every penny.

Posted over 4 years ago by Tumblebeat from Switzerland with 6 ratings

This is really something Special. Was proud owner of a bottle, now it's empty... time to organise the next one :-) one of the best rums i had - all time - no nonse great taste keeps your mouth busy for 5 minutes.

Posted about 3 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

I had great expectations, trying this SFTC expression from Zacapa. I found it however, to be like sirup, way to sweet for my taste, and with a bland taste, that led my thoughts 10 different rums in the same style. This rum is not indistinguishable enough from other sweet high-end rums, to be worth the high price.

Posted over 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

A piece of history, lots of power with a delicate sweetness and softness. This Rum has it all.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonas from Denmark with 10 ratings

This is the thing! Thank you thank you thank you! I love it

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

Toffee, spice, sugarcane, honey, sherry, and oak. A very nice rum; similar to the Zacapa 30, but just a tad sweeter and stronger.

Posted over 5 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

Well balanced with great taste and great balance. The best rum I've tasted so far.

Posted over 5 years ago by Jannick from Denmark with 7 ratings

This not like the 23 solera edition..!!
Perfect rum in my head, sweet, spicy and a great power and balance
Highly addictive.
Buy it if you find it, very rich in the nose, molasses, orange peel, vanilla, oak.
Mouth so complex and smooth, sweet yet very spicy and so much more than the 23 solera.
Aftertaste is long and so balanced and just keep on coming.

Posted 3 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Amazing rum tasting with Falcon91Wolvrn03 continued with a super rare Ron Zacapa Straight from the Cask. Beautiful old school bottle and label design. Reddish golden color. Super flavorful Zacapa and easily the best Zacapa I have ever tried. Better than 30y Blue Label and better than both 23y White and Black Labels, simply an amazing rum!

Posted over 2 years ago by BartVS from Netherlands with 3 ratings

I bought a bottle of this for too much money, but was too curious to taste it....Well I did. I like the flavours a lot:
Hitting the palate the syrup is a bit dominating. It does change quite a bit within the first few seconds.
After the initial sweetness, it evolves into a more complex and balanced experience.
Along with the syrup, I got ripe bananas, soft oaks and cloves, encased in a nice, rich, fruity wrapping, which I could only identify as canned pears.
Just to spice everything up, it treated me with a touch of menthol.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jethro from Netherlands with 16 ratings

This is an amazing run. The best I tasted so far. The taste is so good that you will keep tasting it.

Posted about 3 years ago by Lars Ivarius from Sweden with 7 ratings

This Rum is one of my favorites.
Must be experienced to know why This Rum is a favorit world wide!

Posted over 3 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Fassstärke aber wunderbar zu trinken,nur ein angenehmes leichtes Brennen,volle Aromenexplosion Zacapa typisch aber noch stärker,angenehme leichte Süsse(wäre interessant ob da wohl nachgezuckert wurde???,ich würde sagen ja )
Tolle Aufmachung ,einzeln nummeriert und persönlich von der Zacapa Masterblenderin Lorena Vásquez signiert.
Das wird mal eine Top Sammlerrum,obwohl er noch recht problemlos zu bekommen ist hat er schon Kultstatus in der Sammlerszene und ich bin sicher dass dieser Rum in einigen Jahren heute nicht vorstellbare Preise erzielen wird.
Für mich persönlich auch eine Geldanlage ,ich kaufe unterhalb 200 Euro was ich kriegen kann.
Vor 2 Jahren bei der Rum Company noch für 86 Euro zu haben,jetzt um die 200 Euro,da lach ich nur noch über die Bankrottbanken mit ihrem Finanzsondermüll.Das ist flüssiges Gold mit ordentlichen Prozenten,und wenn der Brüssler Sauhaufen mit seinem Schrotteuro verreckt mach ich hier gleich zwei Flaschen auf

Posted over 3 years ago by Mack from Canada with 26 ratings

Spectacular rum! This is a definite keeper. A bit sweet but has great flavor of oak, vanilla and spice with a great long, smooth finish. One I kept in the cabinet for sipping with special friends. Good value

Posted over 3 years ago by Tim Sheehan from United States with 14 ratings

Another one I tried while in the Navy. I could taste the molasses, vanilla, and orange peel. I can see this one being addicting.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonas I from Denmark with 6 ratings

Very nice easy approachable and yet complex rum. It is a rum that I often seem to choose when I am in need of a glass

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Got on of the last affordable bottles in the area...
Insane power, long-lasting aftertaste, sweet and powerful ! The balance is fragile but you hardly find better.
A true marvel in my opinion. I'll try not to drink it too often. Might never get the chance to buy a bottle.

Posted about 4 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

Zacapa has done it again just magic good for straight up or in the rocks

Posted about 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

look at the title. a sweet rum with the strength of alcohol. spicy, wooden, sweet. in other words: too sweet, too spicy, too much wood for the generic taste. the most imbalanced zacapa. for this thumb up. for my taste its a sweet overload.

Posted about 4 years ago by Morwin from United States with 14 ratings

Was lucky enough to come across this bottle by chance while I was in Jamaica years ago, the only one on the shelf and I have never been so happy with an impulse purchase. This was my first experience with zacapa, have had other since but I sincerely wish I could find another bottle of this.

Posted over 4 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Bottle: Upper-average, special looks
Nose: Not so distinctive, mild Zacapa like
Body: wooden,sweet, vanilla
Tail: this is the best on this one - very nice one, provocative

This one is more raw than common Zacapa 23yo, limited edition with punch of wooden barrel.

Posted about 5 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Super duft, super fed i konsisten. Smagen er fantastisk, sød, behagelig og mangfoldige. Man kan godt smage Zacapa familien.

Posted about 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

The nose is full and sweet with clear notes of figs, vanilla, marzipan and barrel. After it's been breathing a bit in the glass there's aloso cherry notes emerging. The palette offers a big, clear sweetness composed of cherry, marzipan and candied figs with a long, lightly spicy and sweet, fruity finish. I had high hopes for this rum as everyone rates it highly.
Though it's good and very special, I find it perhaps a bit to sweet and one glass is enough for me.

Posted about 5 years ago by Martin from Denmark with 12 ratings

This is one of my top 5 rum. Simply a Perfect rum.