Posting your rating...
Pirate's Grog Golden rum

Pirate's Grog Golden

Honduras | Gold

Pirate’s Grog rum is produced in Honduras on the island of Roatan by blending various rums from around the Caribbean that have been aged up to 5 years in American oak casks.

The name ""Pirate's Grog"" heralds to the mixture of 90 proof rum and water known as grog, which was first rationed by Admiral Sir Edward Vernon to his ship's crew in the early 1700's.

7.0/10 (42 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
5
10
10
7
4

Rate Pirate's Grog Golden

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

42 Pirate's Grog Golden ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Steve from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

This is a clean clinical rum that ticks all the right boxes. For the price only a few can match it. Has enough flavour n aroma to impress for the age. Reminds me of Atlantico private cask. Nice bottle to.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

For a rum that is only 5 years old this really surprised me with its delicate flavours and complexity. Most importantly, it tastes delicious too!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Phil Stockton from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

This rum is light yet full of flavour. Vanilla and raisin notes are apparent and the Jamaican pot still rum provides a warming finish. We love this rum neat as it goes down easier than anything else on the market!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Really surprised how good this is. Not sure i know a better one for a rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 456 ratings

When you see the word grog, you imagine what the navy used to drink in a sloshed rum flagon... So it's a surprise when you get a rum that's delicious and lovely blend of flavours ... You can tell this is a blended rum but it is serious competition for more expensive rums

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by bRUMbear from AF with 14 ratings

Jamaican pot still base can't be denied here and it's a good stuff too.
Quite direct rum - no fancy nonsense, straight to the point. Nice warming burn, but not too much.
Nice bottle and label, stylish.

Small 0

Posted 2 months ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 110 ratings

Fantastic nose full of butterscotch, quite fruity, taste is clean with not many notes standing out - some light vanilla , almost no burn or spice. Short nice finish. I could imagine it would make a fantastic high-end mixer, as it is easy sipper as well especially considering the limited aging.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 114 ratings

The rum is pretty straightforward, on the nose it is strong molasses and apples, the taste contains also toffee and tropical fruits. When sipped, the rum is smooth at the beginning of the taste profile and it gives an alcohol bite in the end, sort of Jamaica pot still style, the aftertaste is short. On the rocks it can be considered as a kind of an uncomplicated sipper, works nice with coke. Could not detect added sugar. Good and honest blend, worth its price.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by svarszegi from Hungary with 13 ratings

This was a cheaper one overachieving all my expextations. I loved the smell, and the taste made me feel like cruising on my pirate ship.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Absolutely love this rum you can really taste the raisins it’s beautiful