Posting your rating...
Pirate's Grog Golden rum

Pirate’s Grog rum is produced in Honduras on the island of Roatan by blending various rums from around the Caribbean that have been aged up to 5 years in American oak casks.

The name ""Pirate's Grog"" heralds to the mixture of 90 proof rum and water known as grog, which was first rationed by Admiral Sir Edward Vernon to his ship's crew in the early 1700's.

Rate Pirate's Grog Golden

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


37 Pirate's Grog Golden ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Steve from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

This is a clean clinical rum that ticks all the right boxes. For the price only a few can match it. Has enough flavour n aroma to impress for the age. Reminds me of Atlantico private cask. Nice bottle to.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

For a rum that is only 5 years old this really surprised me with its delicate flavours and complexity. Most importantly, it tastes delicious too!

Posted over 5 years ago by Phil Stockton from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

This rum is light yet full of flavour. Vanilla and raisin notes are apparent and the Jamaican pot still rum provides a warming finish. We love this rum neat as it goes down easier than anything else on the market!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 123 ratings

Really surprised how good this is. Not sure i know a better one for a rum and coke.

Posted about 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

When you see the word grog, you imagine what the navy used to drink in a sloshed rum flagon... So it's a surprise when you get a rum that's delicious and lovely blend of flavours ... You can tell this is a blended rum but it is serious competition for more expensive rums

Posted 3 months ago by Mike from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Got this in a miniature, so drank at home. Smooth but nothing interesting, easy drinking. But after got a slight TCP tang to it! 28 April 2017

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

Somebady, diluted with water on my bottle ?
Too light taste, too dry.

Posted almost 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

Pirates grog
takový typický rum, bych řekl
Pálení alkoholu na chuti i vůni.
Nijak extra zajímavý
napsal bych ideálně taková klasika

Posted about 2 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

I don't love this but I found once I'd opened the bottle I kept on reaching for it. Not sure why. Mixes well, bit of a kick on it's own. Love the bottle and the branding.

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Nice gold rum good mixer all round. Too young to sip but goes well with cola, ginger ale or juice

Posted about 2 years ago by Tamara from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Wow, complex rum, sharp in the beginning, good burn, becomes more sweeter in the mouth.
I taste a lot of raisins :))

Posted over 2 years ago by GavH from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

A surprisingly pleasant rum. Great neat or with cola. Would definitely recommend.

Posted over 2 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Yet another average rum with similar set of spices to big commercial brands. Oak casks are doing their job pretty well as oak is the most significant flavour in the rum. This would be definitelly better in mix with some soda.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

This is a must buy for me personally.
I recently received a bottle for Christmas and it's lovely. Smooth to drink and great on the nose, very very moreish.

Posted over 2 years ago by Darrel Shingles from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

I really liked this drop. Served as it is with a few ice cubes. Not to be spoilt by mixing.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kim from Australia with 53 ratings

Touch of oak vanilla with a little bit of molasses & toffee. Its good but not great and makes an excellent mixer

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Pirate's Grog Gold is a gimmick tourist rum. Bottle looks attractive enough to be purchased. Color is semi dark golden. Alcohol smell reveals a rather young rum although the bottle says 37.5% alcohol. Taste is not that bad as the smell test, surprisingly mellow flavor profile and some burn at the end.

Posted over 2 years ago by Starcero from Belgium with 16 ratings

Really nice flavours and goes well with Fritz Cola.

Posted over 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 96 ratings

Tested on the basis of this assessment. Very good mild taste and aroma, amazing price/performance ratio!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Minty, pleasant aroma of orange peel, smells of raw sugar cane plant and lightly spiced.
Light and dry in flavor with ashy notes. Taste similar to light Cuban rum with couple drops of water in it.
Short finishing, minty after taste, follow with hint of ashy flavor.

Posted about 3 years ago by jurator from Czech Republic with 37 ratings

I like this rum for its strong taste and nice aroma. Also like oldschool bottle design.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Got this one recommended by a friend. What a surprise that rum for such a ridiculous price can taste so good.

Yarrr!

Posted about 3 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 8 ratings

Tento rum bol pre mna velke sklamanie, ked som si ho po vsetkych dobrych hodnoteniach objednal. Nevyzrety a prilis korenisty.

Posted about 3 years ago by Spyros L. from Greece with 3 ratings

10/10 would drink again! Very nice mild taste with strong aromas!