Posting your rating...
Don Papa Small Batch rum

Don Papa Small Batch

Philippines | Aged

Don Papa Small Batch Rum is produced by the Bleeding Heart Rum Company on the southern island of Negros in the Philippines. The rum is distilled from molasses, then aged for over 7 years in American oak barrels, and lastly charcoal filtered.

The name Don Papa rum was inspired by Papa Isio, a leader of the Philippine revolution against the Spanish who led his island to independence before joining the main revolutionary movement.

5.6/10 (713 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
37
35
47
68
83
151
151
83
38
20

Rate Don Papa Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


713 Don Papa Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 40 ratings

Noob rum review here! Aside from Bacardi or Captain Morgan, I had no rum experience until I tried a glass of Don Papa on a whim at dinner.

I was astounded with the aroma and flavor! I love sweet drinks and vanilla, so this did not disappoint. I realize now this is a highly polarizing rum, but it’s good as a sipping drink and good in cocktails too.

Since this I have tried a series of other brands, some of which I really like (Pyrat, Mount Gay XO), others I don’t like so much(Rhum JM, Abuelo 12).

If you like vanilla and a sweeter drink, you’ll like Don Papa. If you prefer drier drinks, pass on this and try something else.

EDIT
After experiencing quite a few more types of rum, I reduced my rating to a 5. The reason for this is that now the flavors which were so rich and inviting now seem chemical and like additives as opposed to natural. Frankly they’re a little glaring and unpleasant in comparison to higher end rums like Ron Zacapa XO or Diplomatico Ambassador. Also, more pure rums like RL Seales have a natural flavor to them that I now find more appealing.

This is a great mixing rum, however, on account of its aromas of caramel and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

I've been able to taste this rum at the Paris RumFest in 2014. This rum has clearly been designed to reach the general public, not aged rum fans: It is syrupy, in appearance as in taste and reminds me some cough syrup that I had to drink when I was younger. Not really desagradable, but clearly not neither what I expect from an aged rum!
It could be compared to the Arcane Extraroma from Mauritius for its very fruitful taste and it probably shares with the Arcane the addition of cane syrup, even probably flavored cane syrup (artificially flavored or naturally, this is what remains to be determined in my opinion).
But the difference between these 2 rums stands in the fact that this addition has been reasonably well mastered in Mauritius when it has been completely missed in the Philippines. We're not so far from a Malibu rum, in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Beautiful packaging. New country on the rum map but clearly not up to the rest of world rum production. Sweet caramel texture but I doubt it was really aged knowing well Philippines strategies to cheat and make immediate profit. Looks like a spiced rum rather than aged rum with lot of glycerine in it :(

Quite terrible ! Nice rum to discover but not for rum lovers. Keep the empty bottle though ...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

this rum is not a rum, i think. it is a heavy sweetend spirit, i think. it is aritficial, i think. there is much vanilla sugar in it, i think. i cant drink that, i know. and there is glycerol in it, to make it soft, i think. you can drink it, if you want. but dont tell me therafter, i havent warned you! all this is my personal perception.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dunderful from United States with 5 ratings

This rum is a cynical cash grab concocted by corporate marketers and ad men attempting to appeal to the discerning drinker. And by "discerning" I mean: has money and knows diddly squat about spirits, especially rum.

If rum had the rules and regulations of Scotch or Bourbon this stuff wouldn't even be allowed to market itself as rum. Small batch?!? LOL! Next time you're in the Philippines I dare you to visit this charming boutique distillery... Perhaps spend an evening sampling their rum and experiencing the terroir of the region. I'm sure a day at the distillery, which absolutely isn't some industrial beverage facility, would be very beautiful and romantic...

Look, the truth is that this is industrially produced cane sugar/molasses-based (I'm being generous here) ethanol which has been gussied up with all manner of sweeteners, artificial flavours, colours and god knows what else (glycerol and vanillan at least, according to lab tests) to make it palatable -- and it isn't! Bad enough that they call it rum, but it commits an even greater sin than playing fast and loose with the truth -- it tastes bad!

Oh, and aged 7 years? Hilarious. I doubt it's even been aged seven days! After all, we all know what age statements mean on rum (hint: it rhymes with truck ball). It's a good thing rum drinkers don't seem to care about things like age statements and hidden additives, otherwise they might start getting what they're paying pay for, which is quality.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Niekto tento rum hodnotí ako umelý rum, ako nerum, dosladený, dofarbený, neviem, čo všetko ešte. Ja hodnotím to, čo mám pred sebou v pohári. Možno mohol master blender urobiť rum tradičnejší, ale podľa mňa výsledné dielo nie je vôbec najhoršie. Veľmi pekná mohutná fľaša s prepracovanou etiketou, kde vyzerá rum ozaj tmavšie ako v pohári. Po naliatí tmavozlatá farba, rum podľa vône napovedá, že by mohol byť sladký, cítiť prezreté citusy, sladkú vanilku. Po ochutnaní sa rozvinie sladkosť s podtónom vyzretých citrusov, hrozienok a vanilky. Podľa mňa pekný, aj keď trošku prikrášlený nekaribský rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marsellus1 from Canada with 3 ratings

I just came back from a trip to Negros Oriental, Philippines where Don Papa rum is made. Like the lush,sweet and beautiful island of Negros, Don Papa will put you in a state of sweet vanilla heaven being one of the smoothest rums I've ever had. Goes very well with Ginger Ale. Salamat Don Papa!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Koen Van Gool from Belgium with 1 rating

I tasted this Rum in a nice pub in Ostend. I really liked the sweet taste. I liked the smell and i was surprised that the rum tasted differently than the smell. From now on I am going to explore more rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ash B from Netherlands with 11 ratings

When you have your first zip, you can't really place the taste. When the ice is melted, the taste is much better.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Whysoserious from Switzerland with 16 ratings

Dont buy this liquid. If you have guests and you want them to go home serve this drink. Its a nice bottle but thats it. You cant even use it for mixing it with cola. Dont touch it!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Tried the Don Papa Small Batch at the Cuba Casa de Mojito in Ho Chi Minh City and the place was for sure not lacking the ambiance, but the Don Papa was a big letdown. Such a sugary overload, completely missing the depth of flavors the typical aged dark rums have and actually the taste was closer to children's couch syrup instead of proper rum.

The top 10 worst rums I have ever tried:
1. Barbancourt 4y / 8y / 15y
2. Bounty Dark Rum from Fiji
3. Stroh 40 / 80
4. Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy
5. Villa Rica 23y
6. Mocambo 15y / 20y
7. Captain Morgan different variations
8. Don Papa 10y / 15y
9. Bacardi flavored "rums", all of them
10. Kraken rums