Posting your rating...
Don Papa Small Batch rum

Don Papa Small Batch

Philippines | Aged

Don Papa Small Batch Rum is produced by the Bleeding Heart Rum Company on the southern island of Negros in the Philippines. The rum is distilled from molasses, then aged for over 7 years in American oak barrels, and lastly charcoal filtered.

The name Don Papa rum was inspired by Papa Isio, a leader of the Philippine revolution against the Spanish who led his island to independence before joining the main revolutionary movement.

5.6/10
769 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
42
37
52
69
93
170
159
86
40
21

Rate Don Papa Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

769 Don Papa Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Dit moet de slechtste rum zijn die ik ooit heb gedronken. Ik hou deze in mijn collectie om net aan te tonen hoe het niet moet.
Maar we moeten in alles het positieve zoeken en ja ik moet zeggen dat hun marketing blijkt te werken. Deze fles werd mijn echtgenote aangeprezen in een gerenommeerde wijnhandel. Het moet gezegd het etiket en de fles zelf oogt mooi en zal vaak als cadeau gegeven worden.
Maar het eerstvolgende zintuig wordt onmiddellijk uitgeschakeld bij het openen. Een verfgeur die verdoezelt wordt door kunstmatig geproduceerde aroma's van vanille en appelsien. Nog voor het effectief proeven vragen je hersencellen zich af of we wel met een natuurlijk product te maken hebben.
Al onze sensoren in onze mond slaan alarm wanneer we het eerste zwelgje nemen. Onze tong en gehemelte ervaren geen enkele sensatie en moeten zich afvragen wat hiervan de bedoeling is. Alvorens het in te slikken probeer ik het nog eens te laten walsen, maar al mijn smaakpapillen maken mij duidelijk dit zo snel mogelijk te vergeten.
Een sterke ethanolsmaak en een walm van kunstmatige sinaasaroma's blijven in mijn keel achter terwijl ik de rum werkelijk richting maag voel lopen.
We eindigen hier echt waarmee we begonnen zijn. Ik heb niet alleen de verf geroken, maar nu proef ik hem ook werkelijk!

Het is zeker niet mijn bedoeling een product af te breken (lees mijn andere reviews), maar dit is echt niet de naam rum waardig. Dit ruikt en proeft chemisch alsof het gecreëerd en geproduceerd is in een laboratorium. Jammer.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

I must say that I love the bottle. This rum is so sweet, with a high caramel aftertaste. This is a kind of rum for people who like sweet drinks. Because of his sweetness, it loses his rum flavor.
I bought also the 10 years edition, which has a more complex flavor. But still very sweet....
Nice to have in my collection, my friends will love this bootle. But not a rum for a more experienced rum taster.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Linus from Switzerland with 13 ratings

I can't say much about it. For me it's just undrinkable. Maybe it's because I expected rum when I tasted it.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

If you like your candy at 40% alcohol, this might be for you. To me it is way too sweet. It is truly unique. Just not in a good way.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

Trist super sød rom, uden fylde og krydderi.Ikke noget genkøb.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Kareemg from Canada with 1 rating

This rum is great! one of the best i have ever tried. Sweet and good spices. might be sweet for some people, but the mix is fantastic.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Tomazet from France with 17 ratings

Déjà presque tout le monde est d'accord : beau packaging, belle bouteille et belle étiquette. Mais est ce suffisant ? Clairement non. Il se boit assez facilement, il n'est pas mauvais, mais faut pas en abuser sinon ilnpeit paraître ecoeurant tant son goût est sucré et fruité.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Anders Lundwall from Sweden with 17 ratings

Now this is something very specific, that you either love or hate. It has a distinct taste of vanilla, with a clear hint of children's toothpaste/cough syrup and caramel. It is quite weird, but has found a place in my heart. I only wish the aftertaste could.. yeah, at all be there. Hopefully the newly released 10 year old big brother will deliver on this.

The label is among the best looking in the market today, with some intense details (look up all the animals!) from the same design company that did The Kraken bottle and label.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by bigandy from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

This isnt rum. This is a rum based vanilla drink. Crap on the rocks but i reckon a decent cocktail ingredient. Decent for a winter drink added to strong black coffee.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Braeckman from Belgium with 10 ratings

il vaut la peinr d 'etre gouté, pour le voyage, il vient de philippines . il goute le rhum, est agréable, festif, sucré mais les additifs trop présents. on a vraiment l impression qu il s agit d'un mix de rhum avec un peu de ceci et un peu de cela pour lui donner une identité. c 'est un bon achat mais pas un vrai rhum. (avis personnel)

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by thmsngrn from France with 6 ratings

Le packaging est sympa et rappelle le Diplomatico. Après, tout est déception. Le nez : vanille et caramel trop présent, presque artificiel. En bouche.. un sirop pour la toux... Aucune subtilité