Posting your rating...
Don Papa Small Batch rum

Don Papa Small Batch

Philippines | Aged

Don Papa Small Batch Rum is produced by the Bleeding Heart Rum Company on the southern island of Negros in the Philippines. The rum is distilled from molasses, then aged for over 7 years in American oak barrels, and lastly charcoal filtered.

The name Don Papa rum was inspired by Papa Isio, a leader of the Philippine revolution against the Spanish who led his island to independence before joining the main revolutionary movement.

5.6/10
769 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
42
37
52
69
93
170
159
86
40
21

Rate Don Papa Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

769 Don Papa Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Dit moet de slechtste rum zijn die ik ooit heb gedronken. Ik hou deze in mijn collectie om net aan te tonen hoe het niet moet.
Maar we moeten in alles het positieve zoeken en ja ik moet zeggen dat hun marketing blijkt te werken. Deze fles werd mijn echtgenote aangeprezen in een gerenommeerde wijnhandel. Het moet gezegd het etiket en de fles zelf oogt mooi en zal vaak als cadeau gegeven worden.
Maar het eerstvolgende zintuig wordt onmiddellijk uitgeschakeld bij het openen. Een verfgeur die verdoezelt wordt door kunstmatig geproduceerde aroma's van vanille en appelsien. Nog voor het effectief proeven vragen je hersencellen zich af of we wel met een natuurlijk product te maken hebben.
Al onze sensoren in onze mond slaan alarm wanneer we het eerste zwelgje nemen. Onze tong en gehemelte ervaren geen enkele sensatie en moeten zich afvragen wat hiervan de bedoeling is. Alvorens het in te slikken probeer ik het nog eens te laten walsen, maar al mijn smaakpapillen maken mij duidelijk dit zo snel mogelijk te vergeten.
Een sterke ethanolsmaak en een walm van kunstmatige sinaasaroma's blijven in mijn keel achter terwijl ik de rum werkelijk richting maag voel lopen.
We eindigen hier echt waarmee we begonnen zijn. Ik heb niet alleen de verf geroken, maar nu proef ik hem ook werkelijk!

Het is zeker niet mijn bedoeling een product af te breken (lees mijn andere reviews), maar dit is echt niet de naam rum waardig. Dit ruikt en proeft chemisch alsof het gecreëerd en geproduceerd is in een laboratorium. Jammer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Stephane from France with 53 ratings

La package, la bouteille, et même le prix rappellent étrangement le Diplomatico Reserva. Mais le ramage ne se rapporte pas au plumage, la comparaison s'arrête là. Celui-ci est TRES sucré, chargé en aromes artificiels, agrumes, fruits confits, girofle. Le tout avec excès, sans harmonie. Cette cacophonie gustative rappelle davantage le sirop pour la toux que le spiritueux. Ecœurant et sans intérêt gustatif.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

Peu de longueur en bouche, mais quels aromes!!!
Du coup ce n'est pas un rhum d'exception, mais un rhum festif, qu'il faut prendre en tant que tel.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

...like is shown in ratings :)
Surprising combination of very strong vanilla´s aroma and taste with spicy strong impacts. Inspiring unconventional and much better (not)rum than e.g.Pyrat XO

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by KnLauwers from Belgium with 6 ratings

Not like the better aged rums: rather sweet, smooth and with a taste of orange. Not a strong finish, fades away pretty quickly. Easy consumable

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by laurent from France with 14 ratings

un rhum bien trop sucré pour ma part
Ses notes d'orange bonbon sont bien trop présentes voire écœurantes

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mikey from Germany with 6 ratings

Very smooth rum that lights up your tastes. Quiet excellent

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Fred from France with 13 ratings

Rhum très aromatique, vraiment plaisant au palais, mais presque agressif. Au nez c'est une explosion, presque comme si on respirait un pot pourri destiné à parfumer une pièce. En bouche c'est vraiment atypique, la vanille et surtout les agrumes sont très présents; par contre la longueur est presque inexistante, ce qui est surprenant vu la palette aromatique développée. Il se boit très facilement, il est très agréable, sirupeux, mais on n'en boira pas plus de deux verres, l'écoeurement arrivant assez vite à cause de cette puissance aromatique.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by FCKBL from Denmark with 22 ratings

Denne burde alle kunde lige. Den har en lækker sødme, som ikke bliver for klam. God eftersmag.. Denne skal virkelig smages.!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Heist from Switzerland with 9 ratings

a kind of sweet rum from philipina. Melasse isnt very thick, but it tasted great

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

Une superbe couleur.
Une bouteille au look très sympa, ya pas à dire...
Un nez sympa sans plus.
Une bouche agréable : très (trop?) vanillé, caramélisé. Une texture liquoreuse qui me fait dire qu il ne faut pas en boire des litres.
Peu de longueur en bouche...
En fait il est tellement sucré ce rhum que ça en devient presque ecoeurant. La magie de la chimie...on ne peut que supposer que les fûts de vieillissement ont été "travaillé" (vanille, caramel, miel...)
Au prix où il est vendu, on peux trouver beaucoup mieux même si ce Don Papa reste tout de même un produit très agréable à déguster...en petit quantité!