Posting your rating...
Don Papa Small Batch rum

Don Papa Small Batch

Philippines | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Don Papa Small Batch Rum is produced by the Bleeding Heart Rum Company on the southern island of Negros in the Philippines. The rum is distilled from molasses, then aged for over 7 years in American oak barrels, and lastly charcoal filtered.

The name Don Papa rum was inspired by Papa Isio, a leader of the Philippine revolution against the Spanish who led his island to independence before joining the main revolutionary movement.

5.6/10
800 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
42
39
53
74
98
173
167
91
42
21

Rate Don Papa Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

800 Don Papa Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Pedro from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Agree with all reviews, it ain't rum for me. I gave it a 3 because of the marketing and branding, that DP does well. But its a bit of a scam. Though the regular malibu or red bull consumer may find DP the best rum there is and that's unfortunate - i believe - to the spirit of rum.

Small 10zpkh

Posted 8 months ago by Limsn from Poland with 23 ratings

Tried it both neat and on the rocks. First sip got me positively surprised, I definitely enjoyed it - however before the glass in front of me was empty, I was already sure I will not be able to swallow another one. Its sweetness becomes overwhelming and it does not taste like aged rum at all. To summarize this spirit: if you fancy a single, pleasant drink on the rocks to end a long day - Don Papa Small Batch may meet your requirements, if sweetness is your thing. On the other hand, if you'd like to feel the taste of rum on your tongue, choose something else from the cabinet.
-----------------------------------
Update: Rating drops from 5/10 to 3/10 - some time passed and I cannot push myself to sip it again solo. I tried mixing Don Papa into daiquiri and it was a mistake I don't want to repeat in the future.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by attalal9 from Sweden with 17 ratings

This is at best something to make cocktails out of. Undrinkable as a sipping rum. Very close to toothpaste in smell and taste.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 100 ratings

Smells like maple syrup with some citrus. Tastes like IronBru. Really sweet and interesting flavour. If you just enjoy it for what it is instead of being a pretentious twat, then it is excellent.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Mirjamvdbg from Netherlands with 24 ratings

De derde deze avond en het meest zoete van deze avond

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Erik from Germany with 4 ratings

By far the worst Spirit that I have ever tried. I am glad that I purchased a small tasting bottle and didn't waste money on a big one. This stuff is not drinkable. It is overly sweet and has a very strong taste of artificial vanilla. There is more vanilla in this then in Vanilla Coke. This is not rum!

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 82 ratings

Velice chutný, sladký rum. Takový co chutná asi každému.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Heretkau from France with 2 ratings

Déçu par la dégustation. Rhum artificiel. On se demande s'il n'est pas rempli d'arômes artificiels. Sinon goût d'écorce d'orange trop prononcé. Un sirop quoi.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Johnny from Belgium with 10 ratings

This shouldn't be allowed on the market. By far the worst I ever tasted. Serves my right to buy without tasting nor consulting this app.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted over 1 year ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 159 ratings

taste - 7/10
sweetness - 8.5/10
price/value rating - 5.5/10

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 227 ratings

Tasted it in a hotel bar with a very limited range of rum. Would never have tried it under normal circumstances and hadn’t any higher expectations which were fulfilled. It’s a sugerbomb filled with taste of vanilla and citrus. Can’t recommend it.