Posting your rating...
Don Papa Small Batch rum

Don Papa Small Batch

Philippines | Aged

Don Papa Small Batch Rum is produced by the Bleeding Heart Rum Company on the southern island of Negros in the Philippines. The rum is distilled from molasses, then aged for over 7 years in American oak barrels, and lastly charcoal filtered.

The name Don Papa rum was inspired by Papa Isio, a leader of the Philippine revolution against the Spanish who led his island to independence before joining the main revolutionary movement.

5.6/10
769 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
42
37
52
69
93
170
159
86
40
21

Rate Don Papa Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

769 Don Papa Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Dit moet de slechtste rum zijn die ik ooit heb gedronken. Ik hou deze in mijn collectie om net aan te tonen hoe het niet moet.
Maar we moeten in alles het positieve zoeken en ja ik moet zeggen dat hun marketing blijkt te werken. Deze fles werd mijn echtgenote aangeprezen in een gerenommeerde wijnhandel. Het moet gezegd het etiket en de fles zelf oogt mooi en zal vaak als cadeau gegeven worden.
Maar het eerstvolgende zintuig wordt onmiddellijk uitgeschakeld bij het openen. Een verfgeur die verdoezelt wordt door kunstmatig geproduceerde aroma's van vanille en appelsien. Nog voor het effectief proeven vragen je hersencellen zich af of we wel met een natuurlijk product te maken hebben.
Al onze sensoren in onze mond slaan alarm wanneer we het eerste zwelgje nemen. Onze tong en gehemelte ervaren geen enkele sensatie en moeten zich afvragen wat hiervan de bedoeling is. Alvorens het in te slikken probeer ik het nog eens te laten walsen, maar al mijn smaakpapillen maken mij duidelijk dit zo snel mogelijk te vergeten.
Een sterke ethanolsmaak en een walm van kunstmatige sinaasaroma's blijven in mijn keel achter terwijl ik de rum werkelijk richting maag voel lopen.
We eindigen hier echt waarmee we begonnen zijn. Ik heb niet alleen de verf geroken, maar nu proef ik hem ook werkelijk!

Het is zeker niet mijn bedoeling een product af te breken (lees mijn andere reviews), maar dit is echt niet de naam rum waardig. Dit ruikt en proeft chemisch alsof het gecreëerd en geproduceerd is in een laboratorium. Jammer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jim Anderson from United States with 5 ratings

A friend brought a bottle to a party so I gave it a try. It is not the type of rum I like. It is super sweet and has flavors not normally found in rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by DOMINO from Switzerland with 19 ratings

Strictly not a pleasure to drinke. Smells like something else than rum. Sweet & harsh. I gave it a 2nd chance but it's still at the last place in my cabinet. Awful

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

this rum is not a rum, i think. it is a heavy sweetend spirit, like bubble gum flavour. there is much vanilla sugar in it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by JU04 from France with 45 ratings

Taste of vanilla and citrus notes.
Not bad to drink but not a real rum : an artifical rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Knaky from France with 45 ratings

Certes y'a du goût ! C'est très étonnant la première fois, tellement étonnant qu'on dirait du "spiced rum"... Autrement dit un rhum festif et débridé. Très doux, très parfumé, fruité, super facile à boire. Si vous me le permettez je dirais : un rhum pour les demoiselles en vogue ! Pas de complexité, pas de longueur qu'on attend sur un rhum vieux.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by maxime from France with 1 rating

All things but not rum, for me, it's the "redbull" of rum family.
Interesting to taste to understand what's a commercial product.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 48 ratings

Too much sugar and artificial stuff in this. Perhaps it´ll work in a drink mix.

Small img 20210101 wa0019

Posted 3 months ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 74 ratings

Someone got me this for my birthday. Not knowing the brand I was blown away by the packaging and artwork. Upon opening the bottle you realise something strange is going on. Doesn't smell or taste like any other rum I have ever tried and that's not a compliment. Nearly-full bottle hangs around in the drinks cabinet because of it's artwork.

Small 10zpkh

Posted 4 months ago by Limsn from Poland with 18 ratings

Tried it both neat and on the rocks. First sip got me positively surprised, I definitely enjoyed it - however before the glass in front of me was empty, I was already sure I will not be able to swallow another one. Its sweetness becomes overwhelming and it does not taste like aged rum at all. To summarize this spirit: if you fancy a single, pleasant drink on the rocks to end a long day - Don Papa Small Batch may meet your requirements, if sweetness is your thing. On the other hand, if you'd like to feel the taste of rum on your tongue, choose something else from the cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by attalal9 from Sweden with 17 ratings

This is at best something to make cocktails out of. Undrinkable as a sipping rum. Very close to toothpaste in smell and taste.