Posting your rating...
Don Papa Small Batch rum

Don Papa Small Batch

Philippines | Aged

Don Papa Small Batch Rum is produced by the Bleeding Heart Rum Company on the southern island of Negros in the Philippines. The rum is distilled from molasses, then aged for over 7 years in American oak barrels, and lastly charcoal filtered.

The name Don Papa rum was inspired by Papa Isio, a leader of the Philippine revolution against the Spanish who led his island to independence before joining the main revolutionary movement.

5.7/10 (698 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
37
34
46
68
81
149
146
80
37
20

Rate Don Papa Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


698 Don Papa Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 306 ratings

Weak body, not many layers of taste - only sweet and candied fruit. No burning. Can be the choice for women.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Robhendriks from Belgium with 11 ratings

Nice wrapping. But not the greatest rum, in thé price segment. Sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

This was another one of those ones I bought on a whim from a supermarket without knowing anything about it. I've had it for a couple of months now and the only reason I have a glass of it in front of me now, is so I can write this. It is not a bottle I reach for unless there is no other rum available.

I regard it as very much in the same vein as Pyrat XO.
It's just about drinkable, but there isn't much to say about it as a rum.
As with most licquers, it you make it sweet enough someone will drink it, and this has sweetness in spades.
Beyond that, it has citrus, oak and boiled sweets. Not the good kind like Werthers Originals (I often suck a Werthers when I'm drinking rum and let them play around in my mouth) but more like the cheap barley sugars you buy at petrol stations before a long journey, only to have a couple and decide they taste horrible and they stay in your glovebox until you sell the car.
There's something artificial about almost every aspect of this rum. The burn is harsh and long-lasting. The overall flavour is like the sauce from a plate of duck a l'orange. There is a little spice and a touch of pepper right at the very end, but it's more a kind of heat than a flavour.

This is yet another rum priced at a touch over £30.
If you want to spend a similar amount on a sweet rum, buy a Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. It is undisputably better. A bold statement, but I stand by it.

If I was to ever buy another bottle of this, it would be because
a It's cost has fallen to below £12 per bottle
b I could not get any other rum, and I had none in stock at home ... as if
It's not horrible, but there are other bottles in the house I would rather be drinking.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Roy from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Nice sweet smoothness with a little after burn. Not a bad rum for the price

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Wanzl from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Not really a rum. More like a coffeeliquor.
Too sweet for my taste. Nice bottle though.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jura from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Smell very sweet. Taste like a gummy bear. Not for me, do not order again!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Matija from Slovenia with 16 ratings

Very fruty even with a small sip. Body is nice but not so strong. But the finish is long and with a lot of fruits... desesrts love this drink!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Razia from Netherlands with 12 ratings

I love sweetness and vanilla flavours so this is perfect for me. Perhabs not the best rum quality wise but taste wise it's a keeper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Kapten66 from Sweden with 2 ratings

Light. Much flavors like vanilla. Don't mattor if it's artificiall it taste good anyway.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

I will be honest with you. This isnt really anything speacial. This rum is pretty artificial and for money it usually costs you can get much better one. But, if you want to support Mr. Dutertes economy, go for it. It is not that bad when you drink it on rocks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

It is popular rum, and I don't get it why, maybe becouse it is "so easy" to sip, its like syrop. Label is beautiful, but for me it is the only positive. Rest what I can say its too sweet, I think so sweet that is blocking taste receptors. I like sweet rums, but with some depth like Diplomatico, that one annihilates Don Papa in every way possible..

.Final verdict: I will not buy it again